173 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Superb .. we relished the wings..the best part was the simplicity of the recipe and the fact that they weren't deep fried. They certainly tasted deep fried though. I will broil for less time when I next make these. Will also try coating other sauces although I doubt it would turn out half as good.. the hot sauce, butter and cider vinegar (as one of the reviewers suggested) was spot on!. I wonder if they would be good with tenders. I am sure those would not require the boil/broil method and would probably require a bit of breading... Whodat thanks for this excellent recipe. No idea why I am unable to give you the 5 stars I want to. I've tried everything -- FIVE STARS .. there!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cathy-O July 17, 2012

These were so good (advise you have a finger bowl and lots of napkins handy). Has we don't get Louisiana hot sauce here I made up a hot sauce of 3/4 cup of tomato sauce/ketchup, a dash of hot ground chilli and a good dash of tobasco sauce and I also coated the wings in the sauce and cooked in the oven at 175C for 30 minutes. I think it was a stroke of genius to simmer the wings in water with cayenne pepper, crushed red pepper flakes and salt. Thanks for a fantastic recipe WhoDat and to breezermom for the recommendation, made for I Recommend tag game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat May 30, 2012

With a chef name WhoDat why did I wait so long to try this recipe?! I should be slapped. This will be my go to recipe for wings. I found broiling on high at 15 minutes made my wings start to burn, so switched to low broil half way through. Otherwise followed the recipe. I did throw in some bleu cheese dressing, celery and carrot sticks, but otherwise left this recipe alone!! Perfection! My 2nd quarter wing recipe for Super Bowl 2012. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom February 05, 2012

These are the best wings I have ever had - thank you for sharing this recipe! I followed the recipe exactly except I used butter instead of margarine, and I doubled the amount of butter used. I used Frank's red hot sauce and it worked perfectly! Best wings ever at 1/3 of the price of delivery. Great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Phantom2010 November 08, 2011

WOW! Just as everyone else has said...DELISH! These are restaurant quality for alot less money. Since printing this recipe in Feb, I've made them HOT as recipe states. Then I've done them terriyaki with sauce & butter only. BBQ sauce with butter only. I've done them plain.Anyway you choose,they are good. Thanks for sharing. P.S. My husband even likes making them too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fjones1959_11783238 April 04, 2011

It's easy to make. They're crunchy and super delicious. Thanks so much for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuperWomanBehindTheWok March 19, 2011

These wings were GREAT! I made them last night for the super bowl celebration and they were wonderful. I actually baked them for 20 minutes on each side at 475, they came out crispy and wonderful. Also, I used Frank's hot sauce instead of Louisiana. Great recipe, and wonderful to safe on money and fat!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cakes2006 February 07, 2011

Wow! I was looking for an alternative to fried buffalo wings and never liked ordinary baked wings. This was incredible! They were crispy out of the oven and held their crispiness clear past half time. Thank you so much for this method of cooking wings! I am sure we will be making them over and over again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PetesNina February 06, 2011

Great recipe! I love Buffalo wings but always feel guilty eating them, due to the fat content. I felt much less guilty with these, though I was a bit unsure about boiling (boiling???) them. I went ahead with it, followed the directions exactly and was thrilled with the results. I served them with a killer blue cheese dressing and crisp celery sticks. Wonderful! Thanks WhoDat for this clever recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hey Jude January 25, 2011

I have not tried this but it is similar to my recipe!!!! Sometimes I grill it after parboiling!!! I also add the powdered italian seasoning packets to the hot sauce and margarine mix....yummers, I promise you!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommerella January 23, 2011
Unbelievable Baked Buffalo Wings