Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Unbelievable Baked Buffalo Wings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Unbelievable Baked Buffalo Wings

    Average Rating:

    170 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 170

    Sort by:

    • on January 20, 2011

      I did not add all the cayenne and red pepper flakes to the water when boiling and should have cut down on the salt also. However, this is a fabulous method and produced wings that tasted char broiled. So so good! I mixed 4 tablespoons melted butter with 1 teaspoon of cider vinegar and 1/3 cup of hot sauce and brushed it on before broiling.(Perfect amount of sauce for 14 individual sections of wings.) Less than 10 minutes per side and they were perfect! My quest for a great wing recipe is over. Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2011

      These were excellent! I made 2 batches. One of the reviews suggested that you brush with oil. This batch did not come out crispy. My second batch came out excellent, but I put the wings on a rack coated with cooking spray so they did not soak up any drippings. Very crispy and very delicious! NOTE: You can boil up a large batch of wings, cook some and freeze the rest. Thaw and just broil!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2010

      Amazing, genius, unbelievable! I could go on and on! As far as I'm concerned, there is nothing worse than soggy wings. These were perfect- juicy meat on the inside and crispy skin on the outside. I used wingettes and Frank's hot sauce. Broiled them on the middle rack of the oven for 15 minutes on the first side and 12 minutes on the other side. Came out fantastic! Thanks for a great recipe. I will definitely be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2011

      I doubt many of the reviewers actually did the recipe. i followed it to the letter, and would have wound up with burnt cinders if i followed through. I think the problem is semantics: there is a difference between "broil" and "bake". I broiled about 4 inches from the top burner. They started to burn after 5 minutes,the recipe calls for 15/20 minutes! perhaps "baking' at 425/450 would be more appropriate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2010

      I wrote a very enthusiastic review and it was lost. Here is my second, less ecstatic review. Very simply, these wings are THE BEST I have ever had. I've only been around for 19 years but being born and raised in New Orleans [WHODAT!, WhoDat, haha] I started out with all spicy foods early. These wings are better than fried. My sister who is borderline vegetarian (poor soul) actually liked these. I served them with some homemade, no mayo ranch. All together, the wings, franks hot hot wing sauce, ranch.. all cost me around ten bucks (considering the amounts I used, etc..) which is great for a college student! I love wings, it used to be an expensive addiction and now I can enjoy it, at home! Thanks, WhoDat...great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2011

      I can't believe I haven't rated these yet! I've been making my hot wings this way for over 2 years now solely because of this recipe! It is great. I follow as written up through the broiling, however, I don't use this sauce but utilize a spicey honey mustard sauce by chef SoSueMe. This form of cooking I think actually makes a better wing than the deep fried ones. We found that broiling 13 minutes per side, then tossing with sauce, and popping back in oven for 5 minutes or so bakes the sauce on -- a less "wet" wing. Also, never set my broiler about 425 - just personal preference. If you try it, you will not be disappointed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2011

      I have always fried my wings, so I was a bit skeptical to bake them. OMG! Not like this recipe needs ANYMORE awesome reviews, but this recipe really kicks any other recipes in the butt!!! I did do a little change to the recipe. After boiling the wings, I coated them with some flour so the skin could be a little crispier and the sauce would coat evenly. Trust me, my fiance and I love wings and we always try to find the best wing place here in Houston. Well, we don't have to go out anymore cause we can make them at home!!! This whole recipe cost us about less than $12. Compare to chain restaurants (where you pay $12/person) this recipe is the way to go!!! Thanks so much for showing me the light!!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2010

      These are absolutely the best wings ever! I love the fact that they aren't fried, but they taste like it! I won't need to go to Buffalo Wild Wings anymore to get my "fix". I'm the only one in my family who likes hot wings so I made a small portion for myself for lunch. My wings were not that plump (bought the frozen bag at Dillons), so the broil time was about 10 minutes on each side. I used Frank's red hot sauce (my favorite) and butter instead of margarine. After the broiling time, I poured the sauce of the wings, turning to coat evenly and then broiled for 2 more minutes. This made the sauce stick on the wings better than just coating them without the baking. I have already shared this recipe with other wing lovers and it has been a huge hit! Thanks for sharing this fabulous recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2011

      5 star ranking is TOTALLY DESERVED! Husband called it a home run. Crispy, flavorful, a little spicy...do not be afraid of the cayenne and red pepper flakes, they just add a little spice. I did as Alton Brown does and let them sit in the fridge for 90 minutes on a paper towel lined baking sheet to dry out after boiling. Then broiled them, then tossed them in sauce. Next time I'll do this but cut the broiling time in half on each side and toss them in sauce and then throw them on the grill with the corn (they go great with corn on the cob). DELICIOUS! Thanks WhoDat...shoulda known with a name like 'WhoDat" (as in, Who Dat say they gonna beat dem Saints) that you'd come up with a delicious traditional spicy wings recipe....THANKS!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2011

      Made these for a Super Bowl party and they were amazing! I love how crispy they came out. I broiled them for 14 mins one side and 8 minutes on the other; put broiler on high, but left the oven rack in the lower baking position and they didn't burn. Will make again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2011

      Tried these last night and they were so good and very tender. I would have to say these were the best chicken wings I have ever made.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2011

      Truly delicious wings! I made these for a couple family gatherings over the holidays this year, served with homemade blue cheese dressing and celery, and they were devoured. I changed up the hot sauce recipe just because I used what I had on hand, (sriracha hot sauce, a little catsup, tiger sauce and a little butter) but the basic technique is great, and you can coat them in whatever makes you happy! I will definitely be doing a teriyaki version at some point.

      Also, I am not usually one to think that boiling chicken is a great idea unless you're making stock, but in this case it gives you such a great result that I would make it the exception to the rule! I made 4X the wings because they came in 4# bags, but more or less just doubled the sauce, and it was plenty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2010

      I do have to say "unbelievable" is perfect in the title for this recipe! I have made baked wings for years, recipe after recipe, until I finally gave up and decided frying was the only way to get a perfect buffalo wing. When I first saw this recipe, I noticed the method right away was different than all the others. Boiling them in water, then broiling them in the oven sounded unusual, but I thought what the heck lets try! I could not believe the end result! They came out plump and crispy on the outside. Everytime I would make baked wings, they always seemed to shribble up and never would crisp up very well on the outside. I tried several different methods and recipes and it always was the same. Not this recipe! I was so surprised that a baked wing recipe could compare so close to the fried ones. Absolutely the best, and I will always use this recipe from now on when I want to bake them. I am a wing fanatic, so when I say this recipe is great, I mean it! Cant wait to try this method with different sauces. Thanks for the great recipe and giving me my hope back on baked wings!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2011

      Not that this recipe needs more accolades, but I'm here to give it some...I couldn't believe the crunch imparted by the boiling....I DO NOT like frying wings, so I always have to talk DH into the ones from the oven. He wants the fried ones, nonetheless, and now I can give him some that have the same crispy taste as 'fried', with none of the hassle. I may follow some other reviewer's next time, by dunking in sauce and returning to the oven, but the were great, as written. Served w/blue cheese dressing, I'm putting these in my Best of 2011 cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2011

      Very similar to Alton Brown's wing recipe, except he steams the wings first instead of boiling. It's my 'go to' recipe for gatherings!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2010

      I loved the method for cooking these wings! The claims are true, meat fell off the bone and skin was super crispy!

      I kept all the ingredients the same for the boiling of the wings but when I made the sauce I went with the copy cat hooters sauce recipe. I learned a valuable lesson about how hot my broiler is and next time will cut the broiling time. That's what I get for putting things in my oven and then leaving the first floor, rookie mistake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2010

      Awesome! First time cooking wings at home and this was Perfect!! Hubby was nervous not using the grill, but WOW! We like crispy wings so we added time, went to 18min a side, which was too much. Had to stop at 15 on the second rotation so wings wouldn't burn. Also, we coated in cajun seasoning and then wing sauce before we broiled, which gave us a great crust. We will use this recipe over and over again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2010

      Neither dh nor I believed that these would be as good as restaurant wings when we first set out making this recipe..... BOY OH BOY were we wrong!! Now let me tell you, dh is a wing connoisseur, and not easy to please when it comes to his wings. We prepared the recipe exactly as it is written and wow! That's really all we can say. They were crispy (we baked them about 15 mins on one side, flipped em, 15 mins on that side, flipped em back and did about 3 more minutes), tasty, and just down right delicious! The first time we made them we used the sauce recipe and it was excellent. The second time we did them we used a prepared sauce just to see. Both ways were great! The hotness of the wings really depends on how you prepare the sauce, the wings alone aren't too spicy. This recipe has become a fast favorite and one we will make a lot!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2009

      I am rating this based on the method of boiling and broiling only. The directions do not indicate whether the broiler should be set to "high" or "low" so I chose high and broiled for about 5 minutes per side. This worked out very well and the wings were crisp. I drained the grease off part way through cooking as I had to turn the wings over anyways. We do not like spicy foods so I just boiled in salted water and then followed with Mild Buffalo Wing Sauce which is a mild wing sauce. Excellent wings!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2013

      A slight adjustment: After boiling them as directed I first tossed them into the sauce and let them marinate for a few hours before broiling them. Then just before serving, I tossed them again in the sauce. Yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 9

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Unbelievable Baked Buffalo Wings

    Serving Size: 1 (302 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 570.5
     
    Calories from Fat 383
    67%
    Total Fat 42.6 g
    65%
    Saturated Fat 11.4 g
    57%
    Cholesterol 174.7 mg
    58%
    Sodium 5212.2 mg
    217%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.8 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 42.3 g
    84%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites