72 Reviews

I tried it and it didn't work out good it was very off. When it came out of the oven it look not very appetizing. It was for fathers day I should have made pecan pie I wish it would have worked out better. :(

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemisszoechef July 03, 2013

Made this with coconut pudding. My DH loved it. I gave it 4 stars because I really prefer a traditionally made apple pie (filling thickened with a bit of flour or tapioca). Making another today using instant vanilla pudding. Maybe I'll like a bit more neutral flavor. But this is easy and quick to make with ingredients I always have on hand (I keep a pkg of Marie Callender's frozen pie crusts at all times). don't always have time to make scratch crust. I really like this crunchy topping!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
banditsma February 21, 2013

I am only giving it 4 stars because for some reason I cannot get this pie to hold together. Every time I make it, it has more of an Apple cobbler texture. It completely falls apart. The taste is amazing though, and the pie was gone in no time, I added some cinnamon and some nutmeg, and it helped with color and flavor. If someone could please tell me how to keep my pie from falling apart that would be great. . . this is an awesome pie and I will continue to make it despite the falling apart aspect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wckyblnd13 December 09, 2012

This is not a pie for apple lovers. I made the pie with instant french vanilla pudding, the texture was good and creamy but the color was bright yellow. There was a artificial after-taste, which may not be there with a cook and serve? My husband loves pudding but he didn't like the pie. I won't make this again, this is not an apple pie recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
raerae99 October 26, 2012

Absolutely delicious! I made it for work and everyone loved it. I used the french vanilla but next time I am going to try the butterscotch. I'm hoping it will taste like a caramel apple. I have a large pyrex pie plate so I needed to use about 6 cups of apples but the one package of pudding mix was still enough to set the contents of the pie. Highly recommend this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bvduvall_12279427 October 22, 2012

I used only the topping for my own apple pie recipe, but I must say, the topping really made the pie. The topping would even be delicious if you rolled caramel apples in it. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nature_Inspired October 06, 2012

think this recipe a little incipid and bland would not waste ingredients on it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bonesytrev October 03, 2012

made it yesterday and it was "unbelievable" good.Gonna make it next time with pears.Think it would be very good with any kind of fruit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crysmac September 13, 2012

I was surprised at how good this pie came out with how easy it is to make. I only had butterscotch pudding on hand and while my son commented on the color (he thought I added pumpkin) he and everyone else agreed it is a make it again pie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JPsBarbie December 04, 2010

The only change I made was to use butterscotch pudding and ambrosia apples

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hill Family December 01, 2010
Unbelievable Apple Pie