Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Unbelievable Apple Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Unbelievable Apple Pie

    Average Rating:

    71 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 71

    Sort by:

    • on October 26, 2010

      My pie is in the oven right now and I'm reading the reviews....most of them 5 star.
      I followed the recipe and should have used some commom sense and NOT melted the butter. The topping came out a gooey mess. Had to do it again. Only one reviewer mentioned that. Should have read the reviews before I made the pie. I'm anxious to try it... UPDATE:
      It came out delicious...I was a doubting tomas especially after the topping problem but after that was remedied somehow soon after it came out of the oven half of it mysteriously disappeared.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2008

      Had to try this, but I don't plan on making it again. For me, the texture was odd, sort of gummy. Apples were quite tart.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2008

      Wonderful Recipe, But not sure if you mix pudding as normal or use dry? I used dry and turned out ok but just wondering if I did it correct or do you mix pudding with milk on box? Or use dry over the apples not mixed up??? Very Confused> ?? Thanks, Nick

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2008

      This was tasty. Mine was a bit runny however, but that could be because I used gala apples instead of granny smiths. The crumb topping was really good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      What's not to like. It is easy to make and the variety of contents is unlimited. Gave one to our very dear neighbors and within an hour she was begging for the recipe. You are a talented Lady.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2008

      So usually I hate apple pie, but this was amazing! Seriously, fantastic! I used the vanilla pudding and butter pecan ice cream-SO GOOD! My darling man loved it too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2008

      Delicious! I used regular vanilla pudding mix, too, as they didn't have French vanilla or coconut cream, and it turned out great. I also only made half the topping and thought it was plenty for this pie. And I used a little more apples than called for (3-4 cups) because we like lots of apples. My husband said it may be his favorite apple dessert! Definitely a keeper. I'm thinking about experimenting with different pudding flavors and maybe other fruits, too (peaches? blueberries?) -- it seems like this could be easily adapted to other variations. Thanks, Caroline, for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2008

      Outstanding! What a genius idea for an apple pie and sooooo easy! Husband loves it and we passed recipe on to all of our family and friends. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2008

      I was disappointed in this pie - it was very dry. maybe a different apple

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2007

      I'm sorry to say that I was disappointed in this pie. First, the juices were quite runny, even though we didn't cut into the pie for hours after it had baked. Second the juices are an unsightly egg-yolk yellow color. I'm guessing that I got the ratio of apples to pudding mix wrong, but 2-3 cups of sliced apples don't even make a dent in filling up a 9" pie plate. (I checked and my pyrex pie plate does say 9" on the bottom.) I ended up adding about 7 cups of apples to achieve a nicely rounded pie. Since I had extra apples, I used the 4.6 oz size vanilla pudding mix, not instant. If I tried again, I would use two 3 .5 oz pkgs for this size pie. On the plus side, the topping was attractive and delicious. Thank you for the recipe Caroline.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2007

      Wonderful recipe. I think this is my favorite apple pie. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2007

      Very, very good pie. My DS-6 wanted to make an apple pie and I am not a baker. This recipe made it easy for a non-baker and a small fry to make a great dessert. I really like the crumbly topping. Seems like the apples + pudding would make great applesauce too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2007

      Delish...wonderful...what else can I say...A big winner in my house...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2007

      Made this for my mother birthday, the vanilla pudding mix really does the trick! Had to be one of the best apple pies I have made.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2007

      I must be luckier than other reviewers. Coconut Cream pudding is readily available here, and made an outstanding pie. I did cut the topping ingredients in half, which easily and entirely covers a 9 inch pie. It just seemed like a lot of topping. We loved it--thanks Caroline Cooks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2006

      I would give this "umteen stars!! :-) It is without a doubt the best apple pie ever. I usedit in one of my cooking classes. (Continuing Ed. for Senior at the university here)They all went wild over this pie. Now I cann't find any coconut creme pudding at the store, because they all ran out and cleaned out the shelves! LOL Thanks sooo much for such a great recipe! Ingrid/Koechin

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2006

      I'm having a tough time rating this one. To be honest, everyone who had a piece of this pie found it delicious, but I was concerned when I saw what it looked like when I took it out of the oven. It didn't look anything like the picture and the topping was all granular and un-pielike. After reading some of the other reviews I'm sure I must have screwed something up. I remember not preheating the oven very long and substituting regular sugar for brown sugar. Other than that I did exactly as directed. It didn't matter in the end because my guests loved it in spite of its appearance. I served it with an assortment of ice cream and though I do have leftovers I'm confident that their praise wasn't (only) out of politeness. I'll try this again and I hope to get it right next time! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2006

      This is a very good pie. So easy to make. Will be making it again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2006

      We loved this! Will definitely be making this again!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2005

      I'm changing my review to 5 stars. I made this again last night, but used different apples. The last apples used were from someone's tree and they weren't very good. This time I used granny smith and this pie turned out perfect! Again, I didn't use the topping, but put another pie crust on top. This is aces!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Unbelievable Apple Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (109 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 317.7
     
    Calories from Fat 132
    41%
    Total Fat 14.7 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 6.9 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 254.3 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.8 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 27.1 g
    108%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites