Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Unbelievable Apple Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Unbelievable Apple Pie

    Average Rating:

    71 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 71

    Sort by:

    • on October 27, 2008

      Alright, As another review states the recipe didn't say whether you should use instant or cook and serve pudding, so my mother and I tried it both ways. I used an instant butterscotch and my mother used a cook and serve vanilla pudding. Both turned out just fine. The cook and server version did make the pie more solid, where the instant was a bit loose. I added a bit of oats to my topping mix, for some added texture. I also used the pudding mix in an apple crisp recipe with great results. The butterscotch gave the apples a caramel taste. All in all this recipe was great. Thanks for posting a keeper with endless possiblities. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2009

      This was fantastic! I used french vanilla pudding mix, and my co-worker used coconut cream. Both were delicious. My husband and I ate 3/4 of the pie in one sitting... oops :) BTW, the butter for the topping should be softened, not melted. Otherwise you end up with a goopy mess that you kind of have to smear on top. Although it still tastes delicious. Thanks for a great recipe we'll be making again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2009

      A friend gave me a large bag of apples. My daughter and I made about 6 of these pies. It was very easy to follow and very good. The coloring looks a little odd but the taste is great. I tried regular vanilla and french vanilla pudding and thought the french vanilla pudding tasted better. Great recipe for kids to follow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2004

      This is my 2nd review. Again, THIS IS GREAT! I've only made it like others with vanilla pudding. I've searched everywhere for the french vanilla & coconut cream. Could not find either. I finally called the 800 Jell-o #. I was told that the french vanilla pudding has been discontinued in their non instant products. The coconut cream is still being made but is seasonal. I've checked many a grocery store but have not found it yet. Again, a great pie using the regular vanilla! Just thought you'd all like to know!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2007

      I really liked this apple pie and normally I am not a fan. I used 3 apples ( granny smiths) and it filled my pillsbury crust nicely. I also went with the coconut pudding and the flavors went together so well and for the first time no running! I think the only thing I would change would be to prebake the crust for a few minutes first ( the bottom was a little white) and to only use half the topping. This really was easy and delicious! Thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2009

      Made this for Thanksgiving. There was some grumbling because this wasn't the traditional 2 crust pie. Once someone tried it though, the apple pies vanished - way ahead of the pumpkin! I used frozen apples from the backyard tree (of undetermined variety), oil-based crust, and French vanilla instant pudding.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • OMG I can't keep my fork out of this pie. I cannot believe something so easy can be so delish. Hubby said " This is the best apple pie i ever had" so long Mrs. Smith.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2008

      This was a tasty pie but reeeally sweet. Also, the recipe didn't state what kind of pudding mix, so I used instant. Turned out just fine. I made two pies - one with French vanilla and one with pistachio pudding. The pistachio was my favorite. But be careful: it turns out bright green and my husband thought I had made an avacado pie. LOL!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2008

      I'm not much of an apple pie girl, but it's DH's favorite so I occasionally make one for him. I thought I'd try this version based on reviews and its simplicity - so glad I did! DH loved it and requested that I use this recipe from now on. I used a box of French vanilla pudding mix, which did turn the color a strange nuclear-reactor yellow, but hey, it tasted great! My 4-year-old helped make it, so you know it's easy. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2008

      I really didn't know if I would like this apple pie, but I loved it! It really is unbelievable. It was hard for me not to add anything to the apple filling other than the vanilla instant pudding, but I resisted! I didn't have to be worried because the baked pie turned out wonderful. The topping is just perfect, too. I will use this recipe again when I don't want to take a lot of time. As I often do with one-crust pies, I used "My No Roll Pie Crust". Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2011

      OMG YUMMO! This was the best pie this freak has ever PIGGED OUT on! Oink Oink LOL. Me and my Hubyb Steve absolutely freaked when this came out of the oven hot and steamin'. We didn't even wait for it to cool down. One minute it was there and then the next it was in Stevie TUMMY TUM TUM! He made me make another one right away for his big work meeting the next day (he works in construction). Anyhow, Steve said the boys at work all loved it and there was practically a fistfight over the last piece! LOL Boys will be boys! And pie freaks will be pie freaks ;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2010

      I won't rate this, it was good but not to our taste, I guess we just prefer the classic apple pie. Not that we aren't eating it! But I do have one suggestion: throw in a tsp. or so of cinnamon with the apples and pudding mix (I didn't, might have liked it better if I had.) It helps with the color and the flavor. Also used more apples, had to fill the 9" pie plate, thus had to bake longer. Had to try it because of the unusual ingredients. Caroline, thanks for posting, it was well worth a try! . . . Janet

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2010

      I am hooked this is my most favorite apple pie ever!!! I just made my second one to take to dinner tonight at my brothers. I know they will all feel the same. I am taking copies of the recipe with me. That's how GOOD this pie is :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2010

      Fabulous! Made it last night for company and everyone loved it. I was told by my son-in-law it's the best apple pie he's ever eaten, and I agree. It was a big hit. I loved how easy it was. My only suggestions would be to make sure your apples are not too thick (1/2" or less)because of the shorter cook time and I think more butter is needed in the crumble topping. When I pulled mine out there was still dry mixture so I had to dot with more butter and put it back in the oven 5 mins. Oh yeah, I used the French Vanilla Pudding. This is the only apple pie recipe for me now! Thanks for posting!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2010

      Easy and delicious...what more do you want???

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2010

      Great apple pie!! definitely not the traditional apple pie but in a good way.
      I have a gas oven and next time i make this pie i will lower the temp and cook a little longer, my apples weren't completely done and if i would have left it in my topping would have burned.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2010

      Yummo! What a clever way to do a nice creamy apple pie! Loved how easy it was. I ran just a little short on my butter for the crumb topping so mines a bit dry but it's just delicious so don't think it's altered the flavor in the slightest. Made for my Sweet Caroline (PAC baby Spring 2010). Hugs, Mommy PAC

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2009

      very tasty and the easiest apple pie I have made. Just used pain vanilla mix and did not bother melting butter for the top -just mixed it up with flour.So quick to do-will make again-thankyou!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2009

      this was just ok for me. thought the pudding made it a little wierd, definitely nothing like a classic apple pie if that's what you're looking for.. probably won't make it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      My family and I liked the pie, but the texture is mushy and strange for an apple pie. It is less of a fruit pie and more of an “apple pudding� pie.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Unbelievable Apple Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (109 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 317.7
     
    Calories from Fat 132
    41%
    Total Fat 14.7 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 6.9 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 254.3 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.8 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 27.1 g
    108%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites