72 Reviews

Alright, As another review states the recipe didn't say whether you should use instant or cook and serve pudding, so my mother and I tried it both ways. I used an instant butterscotch and my mother used a cook and serve vanilla pudding. Both turned out just fine. The cook and server version did make the pie more solid, where the instant was a bit loose. I added a bit of oats to my topping mix, for some added texture. I also used the pudding mix in an apple crisp recipe with great results. The butterscotch gave the apples a caramel taste. All in all this recipe was great. Thanks for posting a keeper with endless possiblities. Thanks

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunshine October 27, 2008

This was fantastic! I used french vanilla pudding mix, and my co-worker used coconut cream. Both were delicious. My husband and I ate 3/4 of the pie in one sitting... oops :) BTW, the butter for the topping should be softened, not melted. Otherwise you end up with a goopy mess that you kind of have to smear on top. Although it still tastes delicious. Thanks for a great recipe we'll be making again and again!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LeighAnn March 25, 2009

A friend gave me a large bag of apples. My daughter and I made about 6 of these pies. It was very easy to follow and very good. The coloring looks a little odd but the taste is great. I tried regular vanilla and french vanilla pudding and thought the french vanilla pudding tasted better. Great recipe for kids to follow.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angelamarie5613 October 28, 2009

This is my 2nd review. Again, THIS IS GREAT! I've only made it like others with vanilla pudding. I've searched everywhere for the french vanilla & coconut cream. Could not find either. I finally called the 800 Jell-o #. I was told that the french vanilla pudding has been discontinued in their non instant products. The coconut cream is still being made but is seasonal. I've checked many a grocery store but have not found it yet. Again, a great pie using the regular vanilla! Just thought you'd all like to know!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sandydann November 15, 2004

I really liked this apple pie and normally I am not a fan. I used 3 apples ( granny smiths) and it filled my pillsbury crust nicely. I also went with the coconut pudding and the flavors went together so well and for the first time no running! I think the only thing I would change would be to prebake the crust for a few minutes first ( the bottom was a little white) and to only use half the topping. This really was easy and delicious! Thanks :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Raspberri_Skies October 28, 2007

Made this for Thanksgiving. There was some grumbling because this wasn't the traditional 2 crust pie. Once someone tried it though, the apple pies vanished - way ahead of the pumpkin! I used frozen apples from the backyard tree (of undetermined variety), oil-based crust, and French vanilla instant pudding.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheepdoc November 28, 2009

OMG I can't keep my fork out of this pie. I cannot believe something so easy can be so delish. Hubby said " This is the best apple pie i ever had" so long Mrs. Smith.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carrie g in south eastern north carolina November 13, 2009

This was a tasty pie but reeeally sweet. Also, the recipe didn't state what kind of pudding mix, so I used instant. Turned out just fine. I made two pies - one with French vanilla and one with pistachio pudding. The pistachio was my favorite. But be careful: it turns out bright green and my husband thought I had made an avacado pie. LOL!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CinnamonE October 21, 2008

I'm not much of an apple pie girl, but it's DH's favorite so I occasionally make one for him. I thought I'd try this version based on reviews and its simplicity - so glad I did! DH loved it and requested that I use this recipe from now on. I used a box of French vanilla pudding mix, which did turn the color a strange nuclear-reactor yellow, but hey, it tasted great! My 4-year-old helped make it, so you know it's easy. Thanks for the great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hepcat1 October 03, 2008

I really didn't know if I would like this apple pie, but I loved it! It really is unbelievable. It was hard for me not to add anything to the apple filling other than the vanilla instant pudding, but I resisted! I didn't have to be worried because the baked pie turned out wonderful. The topping is just perfect, too. I will use this recipe again when I don't want to take a lot of time. As I often do with one-crust pies, I used "My No Roll Pie Crust". Thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 October 01, 2008
Unbelievable Apple Pie