11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've made this a few times, but on the stove top. It's easy and delicious and never gets complaints!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grace-AK January 06, 2011

I made this the other night and it was wonderful! We all really liked it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blondeecmk August 22, 2012

Our family enjoyed this recipe. I made it exactly as suggested, using the diced tomato option. The only rice I had on hand was the Success 10 minute Boil-in-Bag variety so instead of adding it at the beginning and risking it getting mushy, I cooked it and added it 30 minutes before I served dinner. I also added some seasoned salt and dill since I usually put that in my regular stuffed peppers. It was great! My husband actually said that he liked this just as much as the real thing! Thank you for posting. I will definitely be making it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PSU Lioness May 23, 2011

Making this for our third time, and realized I had not reviewed it! SO easy, and so good. I'm a "lazy" cook, so here's how it will go: cooking the sausage today. Substituting crushed tomatoes for the chopped tomatoes, as my husband's preference. Using frozen chopped onions and green peppers, to save time. Throwing in a bag of chopped cole slaw mix as we love cabbage. Adding all to a crockpot cooking bag, tying it shut, and putting it in the fridge until Wednesday. I think this makes it even better, as the flavors meld. Then I'll toss the bag in the crockpot, turn it on and leave for work. Couldn't be simpler. Agree with another reviewer that it is important to cook this on low, rather than high. Leftovers are great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Viclynn May 15, 2011

I followed the recipe as written, it turned out ok. The rice was a little on the mushy side and it didn't have much flavor to it....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
laura_k September 08, 2010

This recipe is so good and is a wonderful likeness to stuffed peppers! I personally only used 2 diced green peppers and 1 pound of lean ground beef instead of 2 pounds of sausage, but left the recipe the same. It turned out perfect!!! My husband keeps asking me to make it again! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sawdust1971 November 06, 2009

This is a recipe that sounded so good to us, we love this type of casserole and love all of the ingredients. We were kind of dissapointed with the result, unless you get a mouthful of sausage...it's bland. With some spices I think it would be better. I would also cook it on the 3 hr setting rather than 6 hours, the rice came out super mushy on the 6 hour setting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristiina August 29, 2009

Nice & easy, and it tastes great! I used 2 red + 1 green peppers. I also added less rice since I didn't have enough tomato sauce. The recipe is very forgiving for little adjustments. I did forget to add the cheese, but a little sprinkled on top before serving was enough for my family.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Massachusetts Mom March 24, 2009

I know, I'm giving another recipe five starts. But I tend to choose recipes that I know I will love, and this was one. It was easy, flavorful, and sure tasted like stuffed peppers. I put it in the crockpot and left for a few hours. When I got home it smelled so wonderful. I served with salad and fresh-baked rolls. Thanks Scouter. 1 Nov 08 -- I had to update my rating, because I changed the prep method. I cooked this on the stove top in a large (chicken fryer). After I started it, I didn't realize that I was out of rice (??!!) so I brought the mixture to a boil and added 2 cups of small penne. I simmered covered until the penne was done, about 20 minutes. It was fab!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetSueAl November 02, 2008

Absolutely fantastic! Everyday ingredients, but really oustanding results. It was so easy to prepare. I made this just as written and I think it's perfect. Thanx for an easy alternative to stuffed peppers that tastes just as good if not better!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* October 28, 2008
Un-Stuffed Bell Pepper Casserole ( Crock Pot )