Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Un-Fried French Fries Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Un-Fried French Fries

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on May 07, 2003

      Really good for a low fat fry! Crunchy too, which can be hard to achieve without oil. The egg white must be the magic ingredient! I'll be making these again, thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2003

      Kim, good "fries" great taste and low fat! I did make mine a little thicker so they did take about an hour and 15 minutes and then turned about every 10 minutes (pain), BUT they were well worth it! BF liked the spice! TY

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2009

      I LOVE these fries, and I feel they are even BETTER than McDonald's. I used to large baking potatoes, didn't peel and cute with a fry slicer (didn't take them down to matchsticks) then soaked in cold water for about 1 hour, rinsed, dried and followed directions as listed. They turned out crispy on the outside and soft inside. Even my VERY picky DGD (2yrs) loved them and kept asking for more. So easy to make and not to bad for you either - we really enjoyed this and will be making it often. Thanks Kimke for sharing a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2008

      Always on the hunt for new versions of baked fries, these were a terrific addition to a great weekend comfort meal. Having used egg whites in another recipe once before, I knew it was important to let the excess drip off before placing them on the baking sheet. Alas that also meant much of the spices added to the egg whites also dripped off. I think it would have worked better to sprinkle the spices on after placing the spuds on the baking sheet. Delicious nonetheless. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2008

      Very good. The kid's loved it. I used about 3/4 of a cup of milk instead of egg whites and it worked great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2004

      Perhaps I should have cut these thinner to achieve the 45 minutes cooking time? However, they were done, just not crisp like I expected. The egg seemed to help the seasoning stick to the fries, but also to help the fries stick to the baking pan! I also had a great deal of trouble turning the fries (even after I got them unstuck) - as they became more done, they crumbled each time I moved them and were quite fragile and "mealy." I simply did not get the results I was hoping for.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2003

      Beeing french it is with grate hesitation ,i did your recipe. However i must admit they turned out tasty-crispy and yet the inte- rior still moist.Thanks we will definitely recur.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2003

      I was really skeptical, at first. But, these turned out really tasty & crispy! We devoured them before the rest of the meal came out of the oven. They were a lot of work - but well worth it!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2003

      Crunchier and crispier than my usual oven-baked fries. I cut them smaller so they only took about 30 minutes to bake. Instead of cajun seasoning, I used chili powder and paprika. Thanks for a good recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      I didn't put stars on because everyone else seems to love these, but they kind of didn't do it for me. I just used salt and maybe didn't put enough on. I cut them bigger than matchsticks...hmm...chalk-stick size? My husband, who liked them, suggested that maybe I should have baked them longer. Maybe I'll try them again. Reviewed for Healthy Choices ABC tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      These were great! Crunchy and brown on the outside, soft on the inside. Best if eaten immediately.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2009

      These fries were great! They baked up to a woderful crunch. I won't be making my fries any other way from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2008

      Wonderful lowfat treat for a potato lover! Beware the egg whites sticking to your pan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2008

      My husband thought these were the best fries he had ever had!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

      We liked these a lot! We didn't have any cajun spices so my husband used a different spicy mix, he also cut the potatoes a little thicker than directed. Thanks, this is a great way to enjoy my fries without the guilt. Only 3 WW points per serving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2008

      For "fries" that are not fried these are really good. I used 1 egg white to 1 large baking potato for 2 servings. I sprayed a little circle of cooking spray on a large cookie sheet to hold parchment paper in place and then sprayed the paper also. I've made these a few times now and found that if you wait about 15 to 20 minutes to turn the fries they don't seem to fall apart so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2008

      I messed this up. I tried to use parchment paper (What was I thinking?!?). I quickly realized the error in my ways and slid them off the paper onto the tray. I will make these again and post a proper review then. My fiance (who is suspicious of anything healthy) loved these and asked that I make them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2007

      This was good, however the egg whites created a MESS on the pan. I too think next time I will use only one egg white. I think the excess egg white caused a few of the fries to burn also. Mine only took about 30 minutes to bake, but these are so good and WW Friendly! Will try again with modifications!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2007

      Only 3 WW points per serving!!! I have been making this for year's. They are the best. Quick and easy to throw together and they come out so crispy and tasty too! I'm so glad you posted this recipe Kimke.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2007

      These were pretty good. I think I had too much egg white, because there was a huge mess on the cookie sheets. I did like the spice, and I thought the fries were good as well. I will try these again with just one egg white and see what happens. Thanks for a neat idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Un-Fried French Fries

    Serving Size: 1 (203 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 171.2
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    15%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 34.8 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.7 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    6%
    Protein 5.3 g
    10%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cajun spices

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites