27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Really good for a low fat fry! Crunchy too, which can be hard to achieve without oil. The egg white must be the magic ingredient! I'll be making these again, thanks.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dale! May 07, 2003

Kim, good "fries" great taste and low fat! I did make mine a little thicker so they did take about an hour and 15 minutes and then turned about every 10 minutes (pain), BUT they were well worth it! BF liked the spice! TY

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LAURIE April 21, 2003

I LOVE these fries, and I feel they are even BETTER than McDonald's. I used to large baking potatoes, didn't peel and cute with a fry slicer (didn't take them down to matchsticks) then soaked in cold water for about 1 hour, rinsed, dried and followed directions as listed. They turned out crispy on the outside and soft inside. Even my VERY picky DGD (2yrs) loved them and kept asking for more. So easy to make and not to bad for you either - we really enjoyed this and will be making it often. Thanks Kimke for sharing a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 November 19, 2009

Always on the hunt for new versions of baked fries, these were a terrific addition to a great weekend comfort meal. Having used egg whites in another recipe once before, I knew it was important to let the excess drip off before placing them on the baking sheet. Alas that also meant much of the spices added to the egg whites also dripped off. I think it would have worked better to sprinkle the spices on after placing the spuds on the baking sheet. Delicious nonetheless. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni March 22, 2008

Very good. The kid's loved it. I used about 3/4 of a cup of milk instead of egg whites and it worked great.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ltadler February 21, 2008

Perhaps I should have cut these thinner to achieve the 45 minutes cooking time? However, they were done, just not crisp like I expected. The egg seemed to help the seasoning stick to the fries, but also to help the fries stick to the baking pan! I also had a great deal of trouble turning the fries (even after I got them unstuck) - as they became more done, they crumbled each time I moved them and were quite fragile and "mealy." I simply did not get the results I was hoping for.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evewitch February 04, 2004

Beeing french it is with grate hesitation ,i did your recipe. However i must admit they turned out tasty-crispy and yet the inte- rior still moist.Thanks we will definitely recur.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mozarth622 October 30, 2003

I was really skeptical, at first. But, these turned out really tasty & crispy! We devoured them before the rest of the meal came out of the oven. They were a lot of work - but well worth it!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbb June 14, 2003

Crunchier and crispier than my usual oven-baked fries. I cut them smaller so they only took about 30 minutes to bake. Instead of cajun seasoning, I used chili powder and paprika. Thanks for a good recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cpenner May 31, 2003

I didn't put stars on because everyone else seems to love these, but they kind of didn't do it for me. I just used salt and maybe didn't put enough on. I cut them bigger than matchsticks...hmm...chalk-stick size? My husband, who liked them, suggested that maybe I should have baked them longer. Maybe I'll try them again. Reviewed for Healthy Choices ABC tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mliss29 June 01, 2010
Un-Fried French Fries