78 Reviews

I'm giving this one 5 stars because it works. A bit messy with the all that dunking and dipping of the bird. I use this for my OAMC because once every month or so is all the patience I have for preparing a whole chicken. It does work well though so it's worth doing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SugaJ October 27, 2008

I was hesitant to try this after reading comments about the gas vs electric stoves and perhaps that accounts for the success of this recipe....Well I'm glad I tried it. It worked like a charm on my GAS stove - chicken was completely cooked - I had 3 breasts, 3 thighs and 3 drumsticks in the pot. I ran an errand so the chicken sat for an additional 30 mins but it was still very moist and flavorful. PS - I almost fell off my chair laughing about princessbride029's comments - I too HATE the smell of boiling chicken! Yet another reason to use this recipe. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tamaretta October 22, 2008

I can't get over how moist this makes the chicken! I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts, LOTS of water, and only left them in pot for about 40 minutes after turning off the stove. Cooked perfectly, this is my new go-to recipe for pre=cooked chicken! Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cylee October 19, 2008

Just realized I haven't rated this yet, but I've been using it ever since I first ran across it over a year ago! I love how easy it is to obtain such moist cooked chicken, but I especially love this recipe because for some reason I HATE the smell of boiling chicken! Lol... thanks for saving me from the smell.... :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
princessbride029 October 10, 2008

What a wonderful way to cook chicken. It was so easy and used very little energy to make. I was making a soup recipe that required cooked chicken and this turned out so moist. Top marks - I could easily use the chicken for a salad or sandwiches.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catherine Robson August 30, 2008

i used boneless skinless breasts for this, probably about 6-7lbs of it. the water stopped boiling after putting in the 1st 2 pieces so i just chucked them all in and turned off the burner after about 5 minutes. set my timer for 1hour and the chicken turned out a little dry. i'm sure that has to do w/ the cut of chicken i used so i'll likely try this method again. i ended up reducing the broth and i chopped up all the chicken and added a little of the leftover reduced broth and let it soak for a bit to moisten it up a little. so far i've used it for chicken salad and quesadillas and plan to make some calzones for my DDs lunch w/ the rest. it this method is very handy for cooking up large amounts of chicken for using in other dishes and i'll likely make it like this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MuddyMommaPottery August 25, 2008

I use this method at least once a week. (Chicken enchiladas, tortilla soup etc) I am so happy that I found this technique. Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gypsy Wife August 24, 2008

I used a whole bird and followed the recipe to a T. When I took the bird out, the juices were still very red, not clear like I think chicken should be. I returned it to the pot and brought it back to a boil, then simmered 30 more minutes. The chicken juices were then clear and the chicken was still moist and tasty. Next time I decide to make chicken this way, I will make sure to use boneless skinless pieces that aren't too thick to make sure they are safe to eat. Thanks for posting an unusual yet well resulting recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ColCadsMom August 17, 2008

This technique is great. It even makes our older chicken taste great & easy to chew. If you've ever had a chicken get too old when butchered, you know they can be tough birds! :) I love this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HillaryM August 05, 2008

I give you 5 stars for this great recipe ;it was cooked; but I let it simmer another 40 minutes. I prefer my chicken meat falling off the bone. Also I added chicken broth powder.a carrot and an onion, salt and pepper. With this I ended up with a wonderful chicken broth that I froze for my next chicken soup. My pictures are not great but I thought you might want them anyways. I made this for Healthy Choices;thanks for posting. Rita

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sage July 27, 2008
Un-Boiled Chicken