Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Un-Boiled Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Un-Boiled Chicken

    Average Rating:

    78 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 78

    Sort by:

    • on June 25, 2008

      This was really easy and worked great I used boneless chicken breasts,which can really be dry if you boil them. They were moist , juicy and delicious I plan on using this method every time from now on.I kept the chicken in the fridge and used it to make several dinners this week which made the meals quick and easy to prepare

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2008

      This was super easy. I used boneless skinless chicken breasts though. I have to admit, the outside of the meat was a little tough to cut through, but it still worked well for my casserole, I shall be doing this again. I really liked the fact that I can start it, and walk away for an hour. next time I will do it with the bone in.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2008

      I never thought I would get my very picky texture-sensitive kiddo to eat chicken, but he did, tonight!! I tried this after reading the reviews for this. He actually ate his whole helping (which is smaller than most helpings, but still!!!) I wanted to try this for my Oh-So-Simple Chicken Pot Pie and YUM!!! Oh and I will note that though I planned to follow the directions, I kinda mixed up the directions here and there. I actually cooked it yesterday, left it untouched longer than an hour and stuck it in the fridge due to time restraints. Tonight while preparing dinner, I pulled it out, de-boned it and through the bones and skin in the crock pot for broth. Thank you, thank you, thank you! I will also be making this often! In fact there is another bird in the fridge waiting on me to finish this review so I may un-boil it too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2008

      I love this recipe! So easy and the chicken came out perfect. Thanks for something I will be using often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2008

      Great idea, i think it depends on size of bird as to how long you leave it as well......

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

    • on September 29, 2007

      After reading the comments, I'm guessing it doesn't work for those using a gas range, and works perfectly for those with electric. When you turn off the gas, it is almost immediately cooled, whereas with electric, the heat is retained longer on the element. Just my theory :) I have gas, so I, afraid to try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2007

      I made this for Asian Shredded Chicken Coleslaw. I will definitely be making this again. Great idea!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2007

      Very strange way to cook chicken, but the results were worth it, juicy actually tasty chicken! Thanks for the new method for cooking chicken!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2007

      I made the chicken this way to go in my Chicken Divan casserole tonight. It turned out perfect and was so easy to slice into cubes. I will definitely make this again for my chicken salads, casseroles, etc.... Thanks! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2007

      WOW! *boiled* chicken doesn't sound very good, but this was amazing! i used 2 chicken bone-in chicken breast and left them in for the full 1 hr. they shredded very easily after. i made a yummy chicken wrap and put the rest of the shredded chicken in a container in the fridge to use another day. next time chicken breast is on sale, i'll buy a whole lot of them and make it this way. the chicken is just so perfect! thanks sooo much TBG! :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2007

      I used one skinless chicken breast for our picnic sandwiches and added one chicken stock cube to the water and it turned out fantastic! Next time I am doing an asian chicken salad I will use garlic ginger lemongrass and a touch of soy in the water... I cant wait! Thanks ThatBobbieGirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2007

      Worked great! I bought some chicken breasts on sale and by the next day I hadn't any clue what I wanted to do with them. I already had a bunch of frozen raw chicken in the freezer so cooking it seemed like a good idea. This was perfect. I portioned it out in FoodSaver bags and tossed one in the fridge and the rest in the freezer for future use. I especially liked that there was no particular seasoning so the chicken can easily be added to any "flavor" recipe and fit right in. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2007

      I can't say how much I love love love this recipe!!! I just tried it today because I wanted to make bbq chicken sandwiches. I have tried ALL methods to cook chicken (boil, fry, slow-cook, bake) and I NEVER do it right... it's always under or over cooked. This is PERFECT!! I used a package of chicken breasts and cooked exactly 60 minutes. After cooling, I shredded it up and had to sample some :) Very moist and cooked just right!! I will be using this recipe AGAIN & AGAIN to freeze cooked chicken for quick meals. THANK YOU!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2007

      I use this to make all the chicken I need that I used to just pick up canned meat for. I love that it is so easy and I can just do other things while it "does its thing"! This seems like magic - and I love it! Thanks so much for sharing this technique.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2007

      Thank you "ThatBobbieGirl" for a unique way of preparing chicken. I tried it yesterday and it was superb. I like it better than my crockpot method. Since we eat a lot of chicken, I will be using this method often. Elaine Cape Cod

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2007

      Love this technique, so easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2007

      Forgot to comment the last time I made this, sorry, but made today to have for chicken pot pie. Cut up a 7 lb roasting chicken and followed you directions to a t. Then i put the skin and the bones back into the water along with celery, carrots and onion to make a stock that I can use for my pot pie. Chicken very moist and tender. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2006

      I've used this method several times now. For me this worked well for all types of chicken except for the whole chicken. The whole chicken didn't get completely cooked, so I won't be using this method again for a whole chicken. However, I am giving this 5 stars because it works so well for all other cuts, bone-in and boneless. When chicken is on sale, this is a great way to cook it all up and freeze for OAMC use.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2006

      Well, I tried it with a medium-sized whole chicken. I think I followed the directions exactly (do you turn the heat off after adding the chicken the first time or keep the heat on?). I also wrapped towels around it because my pot is not made of very thick metal, so it looses heat quickly. After two hours (I forgot and ran out for an errand), the chicken was still quite bloody inside. So I brought it back to a rolling boil, and let it stand for an hour, then I did the same thing again. Then it was cooked, but still moist and flavourful. Probably not the ideal, safety-wise, but I plan to use it in cooked foods, so it should be ok. I wonder if it's the amount of water? I was using a pot that the chicken just fit in, and I had just enough water to cover it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Un-Boiled Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (113 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 243.8
     
    Calories from Fat 153
    63%
    Total Fat 17.0 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 4.8 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 85.0 mg
    28%
    Sodium 79.3 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 21.0 g
    42%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites