Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Un-Boiled Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Un-Boiled Chicken

    Average Rating:

    78 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 78

    Sort by:

    • on March 18, 2004

      I am amazed this worked, but it did make the moistest, juiciest chicken I have ever tasted. I didnt want alot, incase I messed it up so I did one boneless skinless breast. I used the broth after it had finished to make cream soup substitute #14860 and used the chicken in KFC potpie, #58905. It all turned out delicious. I already received a request to prepare all of our pre-cooked chicken this way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2012

      I absolutely LOVE this recipe, I have used this countless of times and have forgotten to review it. I am always using recipes that call for cooked chicken and this a gem of a recipe. Last week I tried this for chicken that I had marinated for an asian salad-moist and flavorable. So far I have only used this for boneless chicken breasts, I can't wait for summer so I can use this for BBQ chicken on the grill that we usually avoid because the skin/sauce burns before the chicken is even cooked!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2010

      This really works. I used a whole chicken and it came out nice and juicy. It was nice to have the flavor left in the chicken instead of all boiling away. Thank you for introducing me to this method.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2009

      I make my chicken salad with white meat only, and sometimes it's dry and stringy. I tried your Un-boiled Chicken to make the breasts, and OMG...............I'll never make in any other way now. This is the simplest way to cook chicken and the end result is the most tender chicken I've ever had! There aren't enough stars to give you!! Thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2011

      I used 4 large bone in, back attached chicken breasts. Definitely a nice moist chicken from this but I found the chicken a bit bland in flavour. I will try it again and see. I threw the bones back in the water and ended up with a great chicken broth too :) Thanks for the recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2010

      I also had same problem as Sherri35 because I did not notice that the water ever stopped boiling. However, the 2nd time I tried your recipe, I waited for the broth to boil (using 1 qt plus 1 cup of broth made with chicken bouillon powder). I used 2 skin on and bone in chicken breasts. When the broth was boiling, I put in the breasts and flipped them around for about 15-20 seconds or so or until the outside of the chicken did not look raw and then took the chicken out. Then I watched the broth until it boiled again and put the breasts back in; covered and adjusted to the lowest setting on my gas stove. I let it simmer for 25-30 minutes. It worked very well and the result was moist and tasty chicken. Since I tried it again with great results, you deserve all 5 stars!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

      This is absolutely the best tip I've ever learned about cooking chicken! You nailed it! I'll never serve another dry chicken breast thanks to you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2009

      This intrigued me, so when I needed cooked chicken for enchiladas, I gave it a try and told my husband the method. Evidently, we've been watching wayyy too many Gordon Ramsey shows as DH's first thought was "you donkey, you'll kill someone cooking chicken that way!!!" It was such a pleasure making him eat his words! LOL The meat was perfectly cooked, more moist and flavorful than my usual poaching method. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2013

      Worked like a charm on my gas stove top. I recently moved to Az and realized that things cook a lot faster here than they did in Co... I put the chicken in the boiling water and it stopped boiling almost immediately. Took the chicken out until the water came to a boil again. I set my timer for 50 minutes and put the pot on the smallest burner on the low setting. Chicken turned out great, cooked thoroughly and fell off the bones. I used 4 large leg/thigh pieces. I will certainly use this recipe again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2013

      I had four frozen 8 ounce boneless chicken breasts that I needed for a recipe that I was making tonight. I followed the method as written and this worked great. The boneless breasts were done perfectly. I will use this method in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2013

      Excellent and oh so easy! I used a whole chicken and I did add a bay leaf and some peppercorns to the water. Moist and very good for so many different recipes. Like you said, saving up the skin and bones to make broth is an efficient and easy thing to do. Thanks for sharing, Bobbi! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2011

      I used this recipe on 2 large bone in, skin on chicken breast following directions exactly as written. The chicken was done but only the most center part of the breast was tender. The outside was rather tough. One thing I did notice that I liked is that the meat next to the bone didn't have that usual yucky dark color to it. I will do this recipe again. Thanks for posting ThatBobbieGirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2011

      This worked ok for me. I used 4 boneless skinless chcicken breast. I salted them before putting in the water. I filled my 8 quart stock pot up until it was about 2 inches from the top and followed the recipe to a T. When I put the chicken in the boiling water the first time it stopped boiling right away so I took it out right away. It was almost all white on the outside. I let it sit for an hour on the stove like the recipe stated but I do think that was too long for chicken breast so next time I will try 40 minutes. It was a little dry by itself but worked well in my enchiladas but I do wonder if the salt made it dry as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2010

      Wow. I have only used this once so far but I'm thinking that it's a fairly fool-proof technique. I say this because I used half frozen chicken tenders and it still came out perfect! I shredded the chicken and used it for enchiladas. The moist chicken was a nice relief from the usual tough, stringy chicken I get from boiling. Seriously... perfect. Thank you!
      **Update 12-13-2010 Two and half years later I am still using this method! It is just wonderful. I haven't actually ever done a whole chicken, usually just frozen chicken breasts or tenders. In a 3 qt saucepan I will add about two chicken breasts or 4 tenders and this only takes appox. 20 minutes. Sometimes I will take the chicken out just a little bit early when it's not quite done, shred/chop it, and add it to whatever I am cooking so it can cook the rest of the way in the dish and still be very tender. Thank you for this awesome technique!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2010

      So incredibly moist and tender. Will be cooking my chicken this way from now on. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2010

      This is amazing! I thought the chicken was very moist. Thanks so much for all thie tried and true tips of this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2009

      I tried this tonight 'cause all my kids were here after a day at the beach. I used the chicken in a cream of crap (mushroom) with garlic powder, worcestershire marinade(chicken) and copious amounts of dried tarragon. It was more than palateable and the chicken was perfect...not dry...perfect. Way to go Bobbie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2009

      I was really surprised at this! I did it with 4 boneless skinless chicken breasts and used a large stock pot. I've been using it on salads this week and it's good. Next time I'll try it with skin on and see the difference. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2009

      worked perfectly for me, needing chicken for chicken salad. Fantastic, thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2009

      Nope - didn't work. I followed the directions exactly. I used a 6 qt stock pot and 4 leg quarters, which I thought would be equivalent to what you said you usually do. The in and out stuff seemed silly, but I did it anyway. The chicken was simply not cooked. It is in the oven now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Un-Boiled Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (113 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 243.8
     
    Calories from Fat 153
    63%
    Total Fat 17.0 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 4.8 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 85.0 mg
    28%
    Sodium 79.3 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 21.0 g
    42%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes