78 Reviews

I am amazed this worked, but it did make the moistest, juiciest chicken I have ever tasted. I didnt want alot, incase I messed it up so I did one boneless skinless breast. I used the broth after it had finished to make cream soup substitute #14860 and used the chicken in KFC potpie, #58905. It all turned out delicious. I already received a request to prepare all of our pre-cooked chicken this way.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kngs_kid March 18, 2004

I absolutely LOVE this recipe, I have used this countless of times and have forgotten to review it. I am always using recipes that call for cooked chicken and this a gem of a recipe. Last week I tried this for chicken that I had marinated for an asian salad-moist and flavorable. So far I have only used this for boneless chicken breasts, I can't wait for summer so I can use this for BBQ chicken on the grill that we usually avoid because the skin/sauce burns before the chicken is even cooked!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lets.eat February 16, 2012

This really works. I used a whole chicken and it came out nice and juicy. It was nice to have the flavor left in the chicken instead of all boiling away. Thank you for introducing me to this method.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour June 24, 2010

I make my chicken salad with white meat only, and sometimes it's dry and stringy. I tried your Un-boiled Chicken to make the breasts, and OMG...............I'll never make in any other way now. This is the simplest way to cook chicken and the end result is the most tender chicken I've ever had! There aren't enough stars to give you!! Thank you!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookinAnneS November 22, 2009

I used 4 large bone in, back attached chicken breasts. Definitely a nice moist chicken from this but I found the chicken a bit bland in flavour. I will try it again and see. I threw the bones back in the water and ended up with a great chicken broth too :) Thanks for the recipe

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just_Ducky!! January 20, 2011

I also had same problem as Sherri35 because I did not notice that the water ever stopped boiling. However, the 2nd time I tried your recipe, I waited for the broth to boil (using 1 qt plus 1 cup of broth made with chicken bouillon powder). I used 2 skin on and bone in chicken breasts. When the broth was boiling, I put in the breasts and flipped them around for about 15-20 seconds or so or until the outside of the chicken did not look raw and then took the chicken out. Then I watched the broth until it boiled again and put the breasts back in; covered and adjusted to the lowest setting on my gas stove. I let it simmer for 25-30 minutes. It worked very well and the result was moist and tasty chicken. Since I tried it again with great results, you deserve all 5 stars!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TraderJada June 16, 2010

This is absolutely the best tip I've ever learned about cooking chicken! You nailed it! I'll never serve another dry chicken breast thanks to you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stoblogger March 28, 2010

This intrigued me, so when I needed cooked chicken for enchiladas, I gave it a try and told my husband the method. Evidently, we've been watching wayyy too many Gordon Ramsey shows as DH's first thought was "you donkey, you'll kill someone cooking chicken that way!!!" It was such a pleasure making him eat his words! LOL The meat was perfectly cooked, more moist and flavorful than my usual poaching method. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeniseMB March 06, 2009

Worked like a charm on my gas stove top. I recently moved to Az and realized that things cook a lot faster here than they did in Co... I put the chicken in the boiling water and it stopped boiling almost immediately. Took the chicken out until the water came to a boil again. I set my timer for 50 minutes and put the pot on the smallest burner on the low setting. Chicken turned out great, cooked thoroughly and fell off the bones. I used 4 large leg/thigh pieces. I will certainly use this recipe again! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TanyaM22 October 03, 2013

I had four frozen 8 ounce boneless chicken breasts that I needed for a recipe that I was making tonight. I followed the method as written and this worked great. The boneless breasts were done perfectly. I will use this method in the future.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol May 17, 2013
Un-Boiled Chicken