Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ultra-Rich Hot Chocolate Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ultra-Rich Hot Chocolate

    Average Rating:

    72 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 72

    Sort by:

    • on July 14, 2002

      Ultra-good is right! Delicious with whipped cream or marshmallows! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2012

      Just what I was looking for! I made an individual portion by quartering the recipe to: 1 cup milk (I used 1%), 1 Tbsp cocoa powder, 2 Tbsp sugar, and 1 oz chocolate. Put it all in a mug, microwaved for one minute, stirred with a fork, and microwaved for another minute. Easy and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2010

      I've been taste testing hot chocolates and this one is excellent! I used 2% milk and added 1tbsp cornstarch to give it thickness and 2tsp of vanilla extract to add even more chocolate richness. Just wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2008

      Very good. I used skim milk and it was still creamy. Use the best chocolate you have on hand. I've found that is what impacts the "graininess" factor most. Vallahorna 66% was fantastic. I am thinking of reducing the sugar... P.S. Halves and Quarters well

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2007

      This was like drinking a creamy, liquid brownie! I love chocolate, so used Hershey's Special Dark dutch processed cocoa and 85% Belgian extra dark chocolate. I topped it off with extra creamy Cool Whip and chocolate sprinkles. Oh my goodness is this rich and delicious! This is a very special treat that I will enjoy on special occassions or when I need a little extra pampering and a bubble bath. Thanks, Bev~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2004

      Very rich and full of chocolate flavor. Wish we had marshmallows or whipped cream for it. Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2013

      Very good! I really enjoyed this. Made it with Unsweetened Almond Milk and Splenda. Everything else was the same. This will be my go-to Chocolate Milk recipe this winter. So much better than anything that comes in a packet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2013

      This was the best hot chocolate I've ever had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2012

      This was the best tasting hot chocolate. My family really enjoyed this and I will continue to make this for years to come. Thanks Bev.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2012

      best hot chocolate ever. I added 1/2 teaspoon of pumpkin spice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2012

      This was my first time making hot chocolate from scratch, and it is wonderful! Definitely creamy enough, which is what I usually am concerned about with hot chocolate, I don't like it watery. I used Ghirardelli semi-sweet chocolate chips and I also added a little vanilla. I will definitely be making this again and sharing with friends! Also, don't forget to add milk when you reheat it, or it will get way too thick. Now only if I could figure out a way to get the yucky film off the top... any suggestions?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2012

      Oh yeah baby. This is beyond excellent and incredibly decadent, especially if you use whole milk. And heck, you're going to put chocolate chips in your drink (obviously, this isn't the type of drink you'd want when watching your calories), so go ahead and send it over the top with some rich milk... It was so rich and creamy that I didn't miss the marshmallow or whipped cream. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2011

      This was a delicious cup of hot cocoa! We like our cocoa more on the sweet side so I used a little extra splenda. We will certainly make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2011

    • on November 09, 2011

      Thank you so much for the recipe! It was AMAZING!! We are allergic to dairy so we had to make a few alterations - using Almond Milk for milk and dairy free dark chocolate for the bittersweet, but it was still absolutely delicious...I can only imagine what it would have been like with milk. A new family favorite, thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2010

      This is amazing!!! So rich but not overpowering. I served with whipped cream and a candy cane for stirring (and to add some peppermint flavor). This lasted about 30 seconds at my house, although I doubled the recipe. This one can't be beat. Thanks for sharing this fantastic recipe -- perfect for the holidays!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2010

      Perfectly delicious! Rich and creamy. Worth the extra effort.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2010

      Made it less rich by using water and skim milk powder with Splenda for the sweetener. Both my kids thought it was "yummy" and I loved it too. Quick and easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2010

      This hot chocolate is fabulous, no more powder mixes for us! I cut down just a tad on the sugar and also add a bit of vanilla at the end just to bring out the chocolate flavor a bit more. We looove this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      Amazing, simple and tasty hot chocolate recipe. I made as written using semisweet chocolate and we loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ultra-Rich Hot Chocolate

    Serving Size: 1 (304 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 265.1
     
    Calories from Fat 87
    32%
    Total Fat 9.6 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 5.9 g
    29%
    Cholesterol 34.1 mg
    11%
    Sodium 159.7 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.4 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    7%
    Sugars 25.0 g
    100%
    Protein 9.0 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites