Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ultra Low Fat Chicken-Fried Chicken With Cream Gravy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ultra Low Fat Chicken-Fried Chicken With Cream Gravy

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on September 10, 2012

      I'm definitely giving this recipe 5 stars. There are a few issues with your instructions though that should be corrected/edited as a new cook would not catch them and then this recipe would not turn out for them. You listed salt/pepper up with the chicken ingredients - but don't say where to add. You can add to the cornflake mixture but I really think it should wait until you make the gravy. This brings up another little issue - there is no "fat" from cooking the chicken so placing the gravy in the pan would not work as it needs a binder - which is where the butter/margarine comes in. After removing the chicken, I placed them in a baking dish and continued cooking/warming in the oven while I made the gravy. Then remove the pieces of cornflakes left in the pan (the pan will be dry) and add the butter/margarine to the pan and melt till bubbling. Now add the flour and stir until well mixed and bubbling a bit. Slowly pour in the other wet ingredients (chicken stock and milks) and continue whisking while pouring over a med-low heat. Once you see this starting to thicken turn the heat down lower and add the salt and pepper. Following this method provided a smooth/silky gravy which had awesome flavor! The chicken was so moist and the gravy took it over the top. Better than anything a restaurant could serve ! Made for the Naked Photo Event in the Photo Forum Sept 2012.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2010

      This was easy to make and tasted great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      Very good! I cheated a little and added some low fat Smart Balance to the flour. Did everything else the same but did pop the chicken in the oven to finish cooking while I made the gravy----yum! Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2009

    • on April 17, 2009

      My husband and I love this. I used whole wheat flour and used 1 1/2 cups of powdered milk ( made up) plus used Smart Balance, put some red pepper flakes in and he loved the gravy. All this helps with the calories. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      Delicious! I am on a weight-training regime but had a terrible craving for fried chicken. My husband is not a fan of chicken breast, but he loved this dish. The chicken came out so tender. I followed the advice of a poster and fried it on both sides for five minutes each, enough to get it light golden brown, then cooked 20 more minutes in preheated 350 oven, while gravy was thickening. The gravy was so good. I added half tablespoon of cornstarch to gravy, to make it a little thicker, but I think it would have been fine without if I had been more patient. Followed recipe, except used seasoning salt and Smart Balance as subtitutes in gravy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2008

      Not very good. Should of used bread or cracker crumbs and saved the corn flakes for breakfast

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2008

      with the gravy i added some mrs. dash....turned out beautifully!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      I have been searching for a low fat fried chicken recipe that still has a great taste, this recipe has that. Of course all cooks know we like to add our own twist. I used Cheeze It Hot crackers in place of Corn flakes on my second round...YUM! I did not try the gravy to save on the calories.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      While I thought the taste of the chicken was good I had SO many problems with this that I decide no stars would be better. It took my chicken 5x the amount of time listed here to cook. I had to turn repeatedly which meant that the coating all came off. And we thought the gravy was bad and tasted like just flour. Sorry, it just didn't work for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2007

      This is an awesome substitute for those on a low fat diet!! The chicken comes out fantastic and nice and crunchy. For those that aren't fans of the gravy (like my family), the chicken can definitely hold its own. I had problems getting the gravy to be smooth, but was surprised at how good it tasted. I also didn't use evaporated skim milk, just plain old skim milk. I even ended up using some of the gravy over my potatoes! Thank you for sharing this great low fat recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2007

      Added gravy master to the gravy and used milk only (no evaporated milk) Subbed bread crumbs for corn flakes

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2007

      Absolutely the best! I've been looking for a healthier version of this recipe and this one truly hit the spot. My family and I love this lighter version and it tastes great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2007

      Really Great. Hubby loved it. Great low fat alternative

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2007

    • on November 10, 2006

      This was such a good recipe! I made it without the gravy because no one in my family is a fan of it, and it came out wonderful. I panfried them for about 2 minutes a side then finished in a 350 oven while everything else was finishing up - they were perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ultra Low Fat Chicken-Fried Chicken With Cream Gravy

    Serving Size: 1 (310 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 282.0
     
    Calories from Fat 34
    12%
    Total Fat 3.8 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 78.0 mg
    26%
    Sodium 525.3 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.5 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 5.4 g
    21%
    Protein 34.6 g
    69%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Molly McButter

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites