16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I'm definitely giving this recipe 5 stars. There are a few issues with your instructions though that should be corrected/edited as a new cook would not catch them and then this recipe would not turn out for them. You listed salt/pepper up with the chicken ingredients - but don't say where to add. You can add to the cornflake mixture but I really think it should wait until you make the gravy. This brings up another little issue - there is no "fat" from cooking the chicken so placing the gravy in the pan would not work as it needs a binder - which is where the butter/margarine comes in. After removing the chicken, I placed them in a baking dish and continued cooking/warming in the oven while I made the gravy. Then remove the pieces of cornflakes left in the pan (the pan will be dry) and add the butter/margarine to the pan and melt till bubbling. Now add the flour and stir until well mixed and bubbling a bit. Slowly pour in the other wet ingredients (chicken stock and milks) and continue whisking while pouring over a med-low heat. Once you see this starting to thicken turn the heat down lower and add the salt and pepper. Following this method provided a smooth/silky gravy which had awesome flavor! The chicken was so moist and the gravy took it over the top. Better than anything a restaurant could serve ! Made for the Naked Photo Event in the Photo Forum Sept 2012.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom September 10, 2012

This was easy to make and tasted great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DORIAN_L_21 February 04, 2010

Very good! I cheated a little and added some low fat Smart Balance to the flour. Did everything else the same but did pop the chicken in the oven to finish cooking while I made the gravy----yum! Will make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
davejudy October 11, 2009

My husband and I love this. I used whole wheat flour and used 1 1/2 cups of powdered milk ( made up) plus used Smart Balance, put some red pepper flakes in and he loved the gravy. All this helps with the calories. Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
miss.ruth April 17, 2009

Delicious! I am on a weight-training regime but had a terrible craving for fried chicken. My husband is not a fan of chicken breast, but he loved this dish. The chicken came out so tender. I followed the advice of a poster and fried it on both sides for five minutes each, enough to get it light golden brown, then cooked 20 more minutes in preheated 350 oven, while gravy was thickening. The gravy was so good. I added half tablespoon of cornstarch to gravy, to make it a little thicker, but I think it would have been fine without if I had been more patient. Followed recipe, except used seasoning salt and Smart Balance as subtitutes in gravy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andrrrea October 28, 2008

Not very good. Should of used bread or cracker crumbs and saved the corn flakes for breakfast

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Damhungry October 25, 2008

with the gravy i added some mrs. dash....turned out beautifully!!!!!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anidifrancofan October 04, 2008

I have been searching for a low fat fried chicken recipe that still has a great taste, this recipe has that. Of course all cooks know we like to add our own twist. I used Cheeze It Hot crackers in place of Corn flakes on my second round...YUM! I did not try the gravy to save on the calories.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chinadol98 January 21, 2008

While I thought the taste of the chicken was good I had SO many problems with this that I decide no stars would be better. It took my chicken 5x the amount of time listed here to cook. I had to turn repeatedly which meant that the coating all came off. And we thought the gravy was bad and tasted like just flour. Sorry, it just didn't work for us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladypit January 14, 2008
Ultra Low Fat Chicken-Fried Chicken With Cream Gravy