Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ultimate Time-Consuming Seafood Gumbo Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ultimate Time-Consuming Seafood Gumbo

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on March 08, 2004

      This title of this recipe is absolutely correct…this is the most time-consuming recipe I’ve ever made. I do think the prep and cook time is a little misleading because the time to chill the stock was not factored in the total time of 7 hours to prepare. It actually took me about 10 hours to prepare this recipe. By the time I finally got the gumbo finished, I was thinking to myself that it ought to be the most fantastic gumbo I’ve ever tasted. Well it was! This is without a doubt the best gumbo I’ve ever had the pleasure to eat. I followed the recipe exactly as written except I didn't have fresh parsley for the stock. I used 1 T dried parsley. I also omitted the crawfish tails because I couldn't find any. The blend of flavors was superb with just the right amount of kick. I had never made gumbo before using a stock and I believe this was the key to such a delicious taste. I’m throwing out all the other gumbo recipes that I have. This is the only recipe I ever care to use again. Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

      I have used this recipe for the last three years for Thanksgiving and Christmas. It is perfection.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      It takes me longer than this to make a gumbo. Of course, when you make stock, you should make a lot. It freezes well. I would not make a gumbo without a roux. I don't think anyone in Louisiana would consider it a gumbo without a roux. My other suggestion is to fry off the okra. Use butter or oil at low/medium heat until the okra is no longer ropey/slimey. I have eaten gumbo with okra that has not been fried off and it always seem slimey to me. For the roux, I would use a cast iron skillet, but not to fry off the okra.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      Very time consuming indeed, but oh, so worth it! I added the Trader Joe's frozen seafood mix (shrimp, scallops, calamari) in place of the crayfish, and it was perfect. Definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2006

      This was great OUTSTANDING!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2006

      This is a great gumbo! I especially liked the recipe for the stock with the roasted shrimp shells.I think this is what makes this gumbo so good! In addition to the seafood/meats listed here, I also added 26 oz. of oysters and their juice. Thanks for posting this, Grace Lynn- it's a winner in our books!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2005

      I have only had gumbo once before & it was tasty, but that broth was much lighter & clearer than this one. I'm not sure what gumbo is supposed to taste like so I can't say whether it is worth all the trouble. However, I like to be in the kitchen so I enjoyed the prep. The result was really delicious, but I need more sampling to determine a favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2004

      I was drawn to this recipe because as a transplanted cajun, I have sought to reproduce the best cajun food I can here in Indiana. I know from experience that good gumbo takes a long time. What is missing here is a Roux. For me, it's not Gumbo without a roux. The tips for making the stock seem good and I may try them. I usually only make Chicken and sausage Gumbo. I'll try this stock for seafood gumbo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ultimate Time-Consuming Seafood Gumbo

    Serving Size: 1 (1109 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 591.1
     
    Calories from Fat 344
    58%
    Total Fat 38.3 g
    58%
    Saturated Fat 8.5 g
    42%
    Cholesterol 212.4 mg
    70%
    Sodium 1884.7 mg
    78%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.3 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 7.6 g
    30%
    Sugars 10.6 g
    42%
    Protein 36.3 g
    72%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    file powder

    stock

    crabmeat

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites