Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ultimate Tempura Batter Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ultimate Tempura Batter

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on August 27, 2014

      To schmoot: Tempura is meant to be eaten with a dipping sauce or with noodles and broth. There's your flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2013

      WHERE'S THE FLAVOR? I mean this is just flour and eggs and water, I could have done that without looking it up. Frankly it worked but it was bland, tasteless and lacking imagination. I'm severely disappointed

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2012

      This was a very good recipe, and for some reason I think mixing it up with a chopstick makes a difference. Maybe since you have to stir harder to get the egg yolk to combine then it gets more air into it. The batter was light and crisp and not at all greasy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2010

      This is a good recipe, but not great. The family ate and loved the food. However, if you are seeking a crispy, light tempura batter similar to that found in Japanese restaurants, this is NOT it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2009

      My five year old help to make the batter while I did the veggies which turned out well. Good recipe that the kids can help with...and nothing like tempura to have kids eating vegetables they normally don't like to eat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2009

      very easy!! great base batter...able to add whatever you want. I mixed in stand mixer and still turned out good. Next time will add some of our favorite seasonings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2008

      My first time making a tempura batter, this recipre was easy to make. I used the handle of my wooden spoon to mix the ingredients as we don't have chopsticks and that worked well. I also used a rice bran oil for frying. This was good as you can get it very hot. One thing I didn't think of was draining the oil off each piece. I piled them on top of each other which left those pieces at the bottom soggy. So next time I will be using a different method.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2008

      Great tempura batter. So easy to make. Very crisp.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2008

      soft coating -- not at all crisp as tempura should be...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2007

    • on September 25, 2007

      This was very good. Made some shrimp for lunch. reviewed for the cookbook game in the games forum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2007

      This was so easy and made a delicious light batter. It will become a family favourite I'm sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2006

      This is just a comment not a review. That said, I want to say this is the basic recipe I have used for tempura get togethers since the early '60s. I've used it for just about everything. My favorites are broccoli, cauliflower, chicken, snowpea pods(stick about 5-6 of them on a toothpick), small onions quartered(stick on toothpick, also), sweetpotatoes(yams), mushrooms(whole), pepper chunks, shrimp, and firm fleshed fish. We've even done dessert tempura with fruits and cake chunks, with chocolate dipping sauce and/or fruit sauces. Boy, did you bring back memories. This goes into my cookbook. Lee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2005

      Fantastic! I've tried several other tempura batter recipes, and this is by far the best! So simple!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ultimate Tempura Batter

    Serving Size: 1 (606 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 35.7
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    10%
    Total Fat 0.4 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 13.2 mg
    4%
    Sodium 1.1 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.7 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 1.1 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites