54 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The smell while cooking is enough to drive one batty! When it comes out of the oven, the top is browned so perfectly that it should have its picture taken and the FLAVOR, don't even get me started! I can say that my boyfriend actually said more than "this is okay". He actually said "this is pretty good". That in itself is a major accomplishment! This is a great recipe! Thanks

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Malriah November 03, 2002

Very good potatoes! I was looking for something to try and I had cream to use up so picked this one. Very simple! I added onions just 'cuz I think it's a must. Didn't have any swiss so I used sharp cheddar and the taste was great. To slice the potatoes, I used the food processor and the some slices were on the ticker side so next time I will probably cook the dish about 1/2 hour longer. I hate when potatoes aren't done. Thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DDW September 16, 2003

I don't know if this really counts as a review for this particular recipe. I'm on a diet right now where potatoes are forbidden. No spuds allowed at all! One of the best substitutes that I've been using for potatoes has been celery root, and that's what I used instead of the spuds in this recipe. Aside from that one MAJOR change, I followed the recipe exactly. Well, almost exactly, I gave each layer a little sprinkling of paprika. This was the perfect side dish to some poached salmon, and I had it again on it's own for breakfast the next morning! Yoop, this Somersizes beautifully, you've got a winner straight across the boards here!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mirj May 22, 2003

My Goodness!! These potatoes are absolutely fabulous! I prepared them Christmas Eve to serve with our Christmas meal tomorrow. I thought scalloped potatoes would be the perfect accompaniment to serve with our baked ham. This recipe is no more difficult than regular old scalloped potatoes, and will probably find their way to our dinner table many, many more times! Love the combination of flavors! Thanks, Mark!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev December 24, 2002

Pretty good dish. Made mine with chopped ham and onions added! Will make again. Thanks for posting

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mandy ny September 12, 2010

I have made this recipe often. It is my go to scalloped potato recipe and it is always a hit. I use swiss gruyere cheese and it it so yummy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spicytal January 27, 2010

This is a very flavorful potato dish. The instructions are easy to follow. The assembly is very simple. I used muenster and parmesan cheeses. The taste was divine! Thanks for sharing this recipe with us yooper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Junebug May 03, 2003

Mark these were beautiful! I've made them a couple of times now and have had great results each time. The first time I didn't have swiss cheese, but used a combination of mozerella and cheddar (very gooooooooood). Another time I didn't have the cream so used evaporated milk- not as rich, but still very tastey! Next time I think I might try adding some bread crumbs on top. This is a great recipe that is very forgiving of a limited pantry. THANKS!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BothFex December 03, 2002

Easy and tasty. My only "complaint" is that it took closer to 90 minutes to cook. Used cheddar and Parmesan cheeses, with a light sprinkle of blue cheese crumbles in the first layer to give them a kick. Went over EXTREMELY well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EthelP November 04, 2012

I also needed only 4 potatoes to fill my 8x8x2 dish. I added some thyme to the cream while it was heating and discarded it when I poured the cream over the dish. I covered it with foil and baked for 45 minutes, then uncovered and baked another 15 minutes. This was pre-prep for a meal the next day, so I refrigerated it, then the next day, I let it come up to room temp, then added a bit more Parmesan and baked it another 15 minutes at 350F. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DrGaellon September 16, 2012
Ultimate Scalloped Potatoes