Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ultimate Scalloped Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ultimate Scalloped Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    54 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 54

    Sort by:

    • on November 03, 2002

      The smell while cooking is enough to drive one batty! When it comes out of the oven, the top is browned so perfectly that it should have its picture taken and the FLAVOR, don't even get me started! I can say that my boyfriend actually said more than "this is okay". He actually said "this is pretty good". That in itself is a major accomplishment! This is a great recipe! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2003

      Very good potatoes! I was looking for something to try and I had cream to use up so picked this one. Very simple! I added onions just 'cuz I think it's a must. Didn't have any swiss so I used sharp cheddar and the taste was great. To slice the potatoes, I used the food processor and the some slices were on the ticker side so next time I will probably cook the dish about 1/2 hour longer. I hate when potatoes aren't done. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2003

      I don't know if this really counts as a review for this particular recipe. I'm on a diet right now where potatoes are forbidden. No spuds allowed at all! One of the best substitutes that I've been using for potatoes has been celery root, and that's what I used instead of the spuds in this recipe. Aside from that one MAJOR change, I followed the recipe exactly. Well, almost exactly, I gave each layer a little sprinkling of paprika. This was the perfect side dish to some poached salmon, and I had it again on it's own for breakfast the next morning! Yoop, this Somersizes beautifully, you've got a winner straight across the boards here!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2002

      My Goodness!! These potatoes are absolutely fabulous! I prepared them Christmas Eve to serve with our Christmas meal tomorrow. I thought scalloped potatoes would be the perfect accompaniment to serve with our baked ham. This recipe is no more difficult than regular old scalloped potatoes, and will probably find their way to our dinner table many, many more times! Love the combination of flavors! Thanks, Mark!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2010

      Pretty good dish. Made mine with chopped ham and onions added! Will make again. Thanks for posting

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2010

      I have made this recipe often. It is my go to scalloped potato recipe and it is always a hit. I use swiss gruyere cheese and it it so yummy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2003

      This is a very flavorful potato dish. The instructions are easy to follow. The assembly is very simple. I used muenster and parmesan cheeses. The taste was divine! Thanks for sharing this recipe with us yooper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2002

      Mark these were beautiful! I've made them a couple of times now and have had great results each time. The first time I didn't have swiss cheese, but used a combination of mozerella and cheddar (very gooooooooood). Another time I didn't have the cream so used evaporated milk- not as rich, but still very tastey! Next time I think I might try adding some bread crumbs on top. This is a great recipe that is very forgiving of a limited pantry. THANKS!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2012

      Easy and tasty. My only "complaint" is that it took closer to 90 minutes to cook. Used cheddar and Parmesan cheeses, with a light sprinkle of blue cheese crumbles in the first layer to give them a kick. Went over EXTREMELY well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2012

      I also needed only 4 potatoes to fill my 8x8x2 dish. I added some thyme to the cream while it was heating and discarded it when I poured the cream over the dish. I covered it with foil and baked for 45 minutes, then uncovered and baked another 15 minutes. This was pre-prep for a meal the next day, so I refrigerated it, then the next day, I let it come up to room temp, then added a bit more Parmesan and baked it another 15 minutes at 350F. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2012

      These were delicious and easy to make. We had them with ham and the Garlic & Thyme Carrots #454720 for Easter dinner. Great flavors! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2011

      These are amazing! They smell and look wonderful, and the taste is spectacular. We've renamed them "crack" potatoes -- couldn't stop tasting them as we waited for dinner. Substituted cheddar for Swiss since spousal equivalent is not a fan. Yum-yum! These will be a regular dish. Thanks, yooper, for posting, and thanks, Glenda, for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2010

      I love scalloped potatoes but rarely have it because it usually takes so long to cook.But I'm glad I tried this recipe!In my convection oven this only took 50 minutes to cook,which is great because I couldn't wait to try it as it smelled so good.I used cheddar instead of swiss and it was delicious!Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2010

      I used mozzarella in swiss and used half-and-half for the milk/cream combo as that is what I had on hand. Very tasty and refreshing to see a scalloped potato recipe that doesn't rely on canned soups :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2010

      My whole family would give this more than five stars if we could!! It was so creamy and delicious. Can't wait to make it again! Thank you for sharing this great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      This recipe was included in TasteTester's book#246531. This is a definite 5-star! I gave it a try this weekend to see if I wanted to include it on my Easter dinner menu. Well, not only will I serve it on Easter, but this is the only scalloped potato recipe I'll use from now on. It is rich, creamy, just the right amount of seasoning. I cut the potatoes up very thin, and they came out with the perfect texture after 55 minutes. I sauteed a little onion and bacon and sprinkled some between the layers (it's already a calorie-rich dish, so I thought a little extra fat wouldn't be too bad). Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

      These potatoes are wonderful. I doubled the milk mixture and added a couple more potatoes. I did switch the cheese....used cheddar, goat and parmesan. The goat cheese gave the dish a lovely distinctive flavour. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      YUM!!!! LOVED this!! Thanks for sharing! :O)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2009

      I'm not going to give this a star review yet because I don't think they turned out as they were intended. The main problem was that 6 potatoes was WAY too many to fit in an 8x8" baking dish (1 1/2qrt). I couldn't fit them all in so I had to put it in a 13x9. Which would have been fine, but then there wasn't near enough sauce to cover the whole thing and I was in a hurry and didn't have enough ingredients to make more. SO... I cooked it as I had it. I turned out much too dry. So, I would either cut the potatoes down to 3-4 next time OR double the sauce. It still tasted ok though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2009

      These turned out very good. I followed the recipe exactly and my family gobbles it up. I served this with ham steaks and broccoli. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ultimate Scalloped Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (291 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 403.4
     
    Calories from Fat 199
    49%
    Total Fat 22.2 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 13.8 g
    69%
    Cholesterol 78.1 mg
    26%
    Sodium 526.1 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.5 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 4.7 g
    19%
    Sugars 1.9 g
    7%
    Protein 12.1 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites