Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ultimate Pizza Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ultimate Pizza Sauce

    Average Rating:

    316 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 316

    Sort by:

    • on February 02, 2011

      i see alot of people substituting alot of ingredients in this recipe, which kinda defeats the purpose. ive been using it for years, this is a genuine sauce recipe from someone who knew better than us. for instance, the fennel is a key ingredient so dont skip it. once i didnt have any so i added a bit of vodka which to my suprise worked ok but not the same, dont be lazy go get the fennel. a can of puree tomatoe is the same as a sauce/patse mix or try diced tomatoe's ran through a good chopper for a chunkier juicer style sauce. other than that you can sub fresh parsley and a bit of celery salt for celery in a pinch. i always increase the sugar and black pepper for a nice contrast. and maybe even add some red pepper to taste for a spicier version but dont go nuts with it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2010

      Awesome recipe! I made with 1/2 tsp ground fennel so there would be no whole seeds. Very rich and flavorful sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2012

      This sauce does not need another 5 star review....but it's so good, I needed to talk about it. I have made a lot of sauces (thick thin, fresh tomatoes, canned,etc...) - some are good and some blah. But this sauce is not just GOOD, it's GREAT. Perfect pizza flavor. It reminds me of NY pizza sauce (which is saying something). Dont skimp on the butter and oil...it really lends a fabulous flavor. If you forget the fennel or dont have it - dont worry, it's still GREAT. But it does add something special - LOVE THIS RECIPE

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2011

      All I can say is "Easy and Delish!!" Don't skip the fennel...that's the secret! I've been searching for that "flavor memory" I've had since my childhood and I found it! Used this with Easy Peezy Pizza Dough Easy Peezy Pizza Dough (Bread Machine Pizza Dough) and I'm looking forward to see if three pizza's will fill my crew! I'll let you know! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2012

      I followed this recipe exactly, and I've got to say it was the best I've tried so far, and I have tried many claiming to be be the best. I have to agree with danboy357, if you aren't following it exactly then you are kinda defeating the purpose of the recipe as written. I wouldn't change a thing, this is "the one" when it comes to making your own sauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2012

      A genuine pizza sauce !! I will not play with this recipe. I've will added this to my recipe book "AS IS" THANK YOU!! I can do the happy food dance!! NOW !! THANK YOU!! 30 Stars!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2012

      This sauce is delicious! The only thing I left out was the celery. I used a quart of home-canned tomatoes rather than tomato sauce, so I left the lid off while simmering to let the extra liquid steam away. Really, the best pizza sauce I have ever had ... and I am darn picky about pizza sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2011

      Excellent! Will never use store bought again! This was an accident, we were making homemade pizza for our New Year's Eve traditional meal and I went to get the boxed sauce out of the cabinet and I was out! Found this recipe and boy are we glad we did! Thanks for sharing! Happy New Year!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2010

      wow, definitely beats any pizza sauce you can buy in a jar! its thick and full of a rich tomato flavor. i must confess i didn't have the bay leaf or the fennel seeds so i look forward in seeing the difference that will make next time. the only thing i think i will change is the celery. i really see no point to it being there so i plan on leaving it out next time to see the difference. thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2010

      This really is the best pizza sauce I have ever tasted! The longer it simmers the better. I didn't have celery on hand but it still turned out perfectly. Also I used fresh basil and pinch of fresh parsley. Yummers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2010

      Fantastic sauce - thick and full of unusual flavours that burst in the mouth. For a great pizza base try Jamie Purvance on the Weber Grilling website - he advocates grilling the base on one side for 3 mins (moving it around 1 or 2 times) then taking the base back to the table, flipping the base add the sauce and topping on the cocked side and back on the grill for 3 to 4 mins until it all turns gooey. A lovely thin pizza base which is cooked through and with this sauce its hard to stop eating the pizza.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2010

      This sauce was absolutely the best! We do not like a whole lot of sauce on our pizza so I was able to make two large pizzas with this sauce and it was the perfect amount. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2010

      I was making pizzas and decided to make my own sauce. This recipe is great! I didn't have any celery so I just added celery salt to the sauce. I did without the fennel seed, as well. I'll never buy sauce again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2010

      I made this sauce quite a while ago and am finally getting around to writing my review.....it's a great sauce!! I made extra and froze little packages so that it would be on hand for when we have those pizza cravings!! I'll never again buy the cans at the store.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2010

      Fantastic. Using dried minced garlic (1/4 t) and onion (2T) still made great sauce. Omitted celery and olive oil. I'm thinking of making up little bundles of the spices, Parmesan, and dried garlic/oregano to use as little Christmas gifts. (Add tomato sauce and olive oil/butter, and presto!) It is THAT good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2010

      After trying it once, I thought it was a little too salty, so I made it again, without the salt and it really is the best pizza sauce I have had and I have had...a bunch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2010

      Yum! This is really good. I changed it a little because I'm vegan and didn't have all the ingredients. Instead of cheese I used nutritional yeast flakes. I skipped the butter and used garlic seasoning since I didn't have any fresh garlic. I didn't add a bay leaf and I didn't let it simmer for long. GOOD STUFF! Thank you for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2012

      This sauce is wonderful! I did add about 1-1/2 cups water so it wouldn't burn. First time we used it was on margarita pizza. It is now my (our) sauce of choice!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2012

      This pizza sauce recipe was very tasty. I followed the recipe exactly and it came out perfect!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2012

      Love this! Simple, delicious and healthy. I add a can of diced tomatoes and use the no salt version of the tomato products.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 16

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ultimate Pizza Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (142 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 160.1
     
    Calories from Fat 97
    60%
    Total Fat 10.7 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 3.2 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 9.8 mg
    3%
    Sodium 999.0 mg
    41%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.7 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 9.1 g
    36%
    Protein 4.0 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites