318 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

i see alot of people substituting alot of ingredients in this recipe, which kinda defeats the purpose. ive been using it for years, this is a genuine sauce recipe from someone who knew better than us. for instance, the fennel is a key ingredient so dont skip it. once i didnt have any so i added a bit of vodka which to my suprise worked ok but not the same, dont be lazy go get the fennel. a can of puree tomatoe is the same as a sauce/patse mix or try diced tomatoe's ran through a good chopper for a chunkier juicer style sauce. other than that you can sub fresh parsley and a bit of celery salt for celery in a pinch. i always increase the sugar and black pepper for a nice contrast. and maybe even add some red pepper to taste for a spicier version but dont go nuts with it.

28 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
danboy357 February 02, 2011

Awesome recipe! I made with 1/2 tsp ground fennel so there would be no whole seeds. Very rich and flavorful sauce.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shakahari June 26, 2010

This sauce does not need another 5 star review....but it's so good, I needed to talk about it. I have made a lot of sauces (thick thin, fresh tomatoes, canned,etc...) - some are good and some blah. But this sauce is not just GOOD, it's GREAT. Perfect pizza flavor. It reminds me of NY pizza sauce (which is saying something). Dont skimp on the butter and oil...it really lends a fabulous flavor. If you forget the fennel or dont have it - dont worry, it's still GREAT. But it does add something special - LOVE THIS RECIPE

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
born-to-cook February 02, 2012

All I can say is "Easy and Delish!!" Don't skip the fennel...that's the secret! I've been searching for that "flavor memory" I've had since my childhood and I found it! Used this with Easy Peezy Pizza Dough Easy Peezy Pizza Dough (Bread Machine Pizza Dough) and I'm looking forward to see if three pizza's will fill my crew! I'll let you know! Thanks!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heartspell March 01, 2011

I followed this recipe exactly, and I've got to say it was the best I've tried so far, and I have tried many claiming to be be the best. I have to agree with danboy357, if you aren't following it exactly then you are kinda defeating the purpose of the recipe as written. I wouldn't change a thing, this is "the one" when it comes to making your own sauce!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lil' Nutbrown Hare February 10, 2012

A genuine pizza sauce !! I will not play with this recipe. I've will added this to my recipe book "AS IS" THANK YOU!! I can do the happy food dance!! NOW !! THANK YOU!! 30 Stars!!!!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CHEF GRPA July 19, 2012

This sauce is delicious! The only thing I left out was the celery. I used a quart of home-canned tomatoes rather than tomato sauce, so I left the lid off while simmering to let the extra liquid steam away. Really, the best pizza sauce I have ever had ... and I am darn picky about pizza sauce.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Opal R. February 13, 2012

Excellent! Will never use store bought again! This was an accident, we were making homemade pizza for our New Year's Eve traditional meal and I went to get the boxed sauce out of the cabinet and I was out! Found this recipe and boy are we glad we did! Thanks for sharing! Happy New Year!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb_in_Indy December 31, 2011

wow, definitely beats any pizza sauce you can buy in a jar! its thick and full of a rich tomato flavor. i must confess i didn't have the bay leaf or the fennel seeds so i look forward in seeing the difference that will make next time. the only thing i think i will change is the celery. i really see no point to it being there so i plan on leaving it out next time to see the difference. thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gamer Gal July 12, 2010

This really is the best pizza sauce I have ever tasted! The longer it simmers the better. I didn't have celery on hand but it still turned out perfectly. Also I used fresh basil and pinch of fresh parsley. Yummers!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hnlh001 July 07, 2010
Ultimate Pizza Sauce