23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Been making these for YEARS now! Got it from an old TOH issue crediting Lisa Byington of Port Crane, New York. My "ultimate" tweak: instead of bread crumbs, I use finely crushed tortilla chips from all the busted up, broken chips at the bottom of the bag... (especially flavored tortilla chips like chili lime or Doritos) and press them into the cheese. I don't fiddle with trying to coat the whole pepper like some of the reviewers have. Perfect every time and never fails to be a huge hit!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CheCheCherie October 26, 2011

These are the best!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bad kitty 1116 November 20, 2009

Yummy! Making these to take to a tailgate party tomorrow but had to make a few to sample today. Very good, I'll be holding on to this one! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cascole October 11, 2008

I have made a similar version of this for years using garden herb cream cheese and cheddar cheese without all the spices and bacon and thought I would give this a try at our labor day picnic. They got rave reviews, were simple to make and packed the heat! Yummo!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4_6 September 01, 2008

I've always loved fried jalapeno poppers, so to tell you the truth, I was a little leary about trying this baked version. Now I'm not sure I'll EVER go back to that mess of frying again! These were just fantastic! I have a ton of fresh jalapenos in my garden, so this is a great recipe to use - and I love that this can be a "do-ahead" recipe with successful results. {{Thanks Wildflour}}

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cream Puff August 29, 2008

I love these!!.The addition of the garlic and chilli powder,along with the bacon mixed into the cheese is delicious.I did flour,egg and breadcrumb mine to ensure that the the coating did adhere to the chillis,and it worked a treat.I chilled mine overnight,to help everything hold together before cooking.Mmm yummy!!! Thanks Wildflower x

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noo August 25, 2008

Marvelous! I needed a bit more breadcrumbs, pressed into the topping to keep it from boiling out. It refrigerated nicely a day in advance.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HopeJohnJP June 30, 2008

Had friends over and we decided to make some of these to munch on. They were GREAT!! I loved the cheese combination and so did everyone else! I now have a new appie to add to my collection! Thanks Wildflour! Kimberely

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Its Me Busy Bee June 24, 2008

I made these for a Cinco de Mayo party. They turned out GREAT!!! Everyone loved them. I followed the instructions to a "T" and baked for 40 minutes and served with salsa and sour cream. Thanks Wildfour!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mkurtz May 03, 2008

We have been testing recipes for our Superbowl party coming up Sunday. Wanted to try these and everyone gave them 2 thumbs up, so were going to add to our snacks for the game party. These were awesome!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tony Rules The Kitchen... Sally Watches! January 29, 2008
Ultimate Pepper Poppers