9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Congrats! Your Lunchbox Muffins are featured as Recipe of the Day on the Food.com homepage today (5/20/11)! :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Food.com May 20, 2011

WONDERFUL extremely low sugar muffins. I made mine kind of small, so I got 16 instead of 12. Instead of the raisins, I threw in some fresh cranberries and wish I would have used the raisins. . .they would have given them the perfect touch of sweetness. Dried sweetened cranberries would be wonderful as well. I chose to use grated carrots which are nearly undetectable :) THANKS! Made for Veg*n Tag Dec 2008. UPDATE: I just made these again. I used all white whole wheat flour (supposed to be packed with goodness LOL), the honey option, the carrot option, omitted nuts and used OJ in place of the apple juice. They were awesome! And my preschooler is eating them which deserves about 10 stars in my book!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride April 20, 2010

Wow, these really surprised me! I was concerned they wouldn't be flavorful enough for my fam, but I was way wrong. AND it wasn't until I was baking that I realized these are vegan...cool! I did some subbing--1/2 c oat flour and 1/2 c AP instead of all AP, 1/4 c maple syrup instead of molasses, and 1/2 c unsweetened applesauce for one of the bananas (DS ate my banana LOL!). I chose the zucchini option, and used 1/4 c chopped walnuts and 1/4 c dried cranberries, which were definitely a good call (thanks JB!). Oh, and I got 15 regular sized muffins, so if you make 12 they will be large-ish. Thanks for posting, I will surely make these again! Made for Healthy Choices ABC.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smellyvegetarian October 10, 2009

They were okay. A little dense and heavy. My family isn't loving them, which means I'll end up eating the rest of the batch myself. Like that they are made of fruits and veggies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lamb2112 September 03, 2014

This came out great! My kids downed several of them for "dessert" tonight. I decided to use oat flour instead of the wheat and all purpose flour and since I didn't have walnuts I put a whole cup of raisins in. I'm so glad I found this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SandyBear July 29, 2011

I just took them out of the oven...had to eat one straight on! I was very pleased. I used the honey and I added a 1/2 tsp of ground ginger (no special reason, it was just sitting by the cinnamon when I reached for it) I used a bit more vegetables...I used both squash and carrots. Instead of raisins I used chopped dates (again, no special reason. I just had dates but not raisins) They will be a nice accompaniment to my lunch next week :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fuzzcro May 21, 2011

These muffins are awesome! They are sooooooo tasty and also have a lovely texture. They are very moist and soft on the inside with a great crunchy crust. Mmmm!
I used some things from my pantry that needed to be used up, but other than that I stuck to your recipe and we all loved it. Who knew that healthy muffins could be this easy and tasty?!

Here is what I used in place of the raisins and nuts: 1/2 cup studentenfutter (raisins, peanuts, cashew nuts, almonds) and 1/2 cup mixed coconut, oats, apricot, date, banana chips, raisins, apple, hazelnut, sunflower seeds

From the full recipe I got 11 nicely sized muffins.

THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing a real keeper with us, peachy_pie! Made and reviewed for Healthy Choices Tag Game January 2011.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula January 22, 2011

I want to like these, but I'm just not sure I'm going to, even once they cool off. I did have to sub all-purpose for the whole recipe. I went with molasses and carrots in the dough. I had to use craisins, as I don't have raisins in the house right now. I did find that even filling the liners up to the top, the dough rose just a bit and rounded, but didn't overflow the muffin pan. These have a bit of an "off" taste to me. I can't describe it. It might be because I had to use another type of juice, so I'm not going to give it a bad review for that. I used a blueberry/grape/veggie organic juice blend since I had no apple juice. My 19 mo loves it, so that's good enough for me. I normally like vegan quick bread recipes, so I'm not sure if it's me or the recipe this time. I may try it again with the honey rather than molasses and see if that helps make it more to my taste. Thanks anyway, and the kiddos are munching on veggie muffins right now, so as I said... still a good recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Roachie October 16, 2009
Ultimate Lunchbox Muffins