Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ultimate Irish Apple Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ultimate Irish Apple Cake

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on July 22, 2012

      My daughter made this cake for us and it was so good! Perfect consistency and flavor. Will definitely make again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      Sensational! If you want an apple cake that lets the apples shine, this is the one: not too oily or rich (read: caloric), easy, just the right amt of spice, crunchy crust. I used tangy stored McIntosh apples from our own tree. Warm from the oven w/vanilla ice cream = heaven! The batter is too thick to "pour" but don't be tempted to add liquid: use a spatula to transfer it to the pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2011

      This cake is very good, but I don't know if I ended up with correct results. It was not like a normal cake, it had a crust and didn't rise too much. But overall very tasty and very good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2014

      The instructions on this recipe are a disaster. When I got to the add creamed sugar and apples part and then saw that 2 steps later I was supposed to pour the batter into a pan I had to laugh. <br/><br/>Follow the same steps you would any other cake and add your apples and nuts LAST. I had to pick all my apples out and attempt to salvage the recipe by mixing everything together at that point. It tasted pretty good, but didn't cook all the way through. Had I followed the steps the way I am describing in the first place, it would have probably been pretty good.<br/><br/>No crunchy crust.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2014

      I teach International Foods to grade 10 students, and I chose this recipe for my class to prepare in celebration of St. Patrick's Day. It was low budget and easy and quick to prepare (plus, as a vegetarian, it saved me from choosing a meatier Irish dish...:) The students all experienced great results and loved this dessert (and I loved the necessary sampling). We topped it with a dollop of vegan whipped cream. Each kitchen crew also halved the recipe (still one whole egg), and used McIntosh apples because they are a local favourite ...with great results. We also used parchment instead of greasing the pans- perfect and easy. Thanks so much for this recipe- it was a hit! Tasty and moist, with a lovely walnut crunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2011

      We thought this was great! Amazing apple flavor and not too sweet or oily like some other apple cake recipes I've tried. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2011

      Delicious and pretty forgiving. I used whole wheat, about half the sugar, and double the walnuts. My 4 apples made more than two cups. I left some larger pieces of apple. Once it came out of the oven I drizzled a bit of maple syrup. Very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2010

      Wowzers. This is good stuff. I made this for dessert for St. Patty's day. I wanted something authentic to Irish cooking, and I think this fits the bill nicely. Thanks for posting. And oh yeah, SOOOOO easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2010

      This cake was super simple and yummy! Just perfect for something a bit different.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2008

      DELICIOUS! I made as stated and it was perfect and moist- will double the recipe and make in a larger pan next time as it disappeared so fast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2008

      We really enjoyed this cake. I had some apples that were starting to go so I needed something that I could make by cutting up the apples and this worked well. The spices are right on. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2008

      Simply the best! Packed with apples, just the right amount of cinnamon, and a bit of crunch on the crust. I like the size of this cake too...I will never have to throw anything away (9 X 13 is too big for a family of four). The only change I made was to reduce the nutmeg to 1/4 tsp. I served it first with a sprinkling of icing sugar but everyone loves it plain too. Thank you for a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2007

      Made this for dessert after a rather heavy Christmas dinner and it worked out beautifully. The snack cake is chock full of bites of fresh apples well seasoned from the cinnamon and nutmeg. I eyeballed the spices and guess I used about a teaspoon of cinnamon. To reduce the calories a bit I replaced 2 tablespoons of butter with 3 tablespoons of applesauce, used 1/4 cup of egg substitute for the egg, and 1/3 of the sugar was replaced by Splenda. Topped it all off with a little Cool Whip Free and a sprinkle of cinnamon. Yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ultimate Irish Apple Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (100 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 229.9
     
    Calories from Fat 65
    28%
    Total Fat 7.2 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 3.3 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 30.8 mg
    10%
    Sodium 246.3 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.3 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 27.7 g
    110%
    Protein 2.6 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites