Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ultimate Grilled Cheese - Gotta Try This! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ultimate Grilled Cheese - Gotta Try This!

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on January 29, 2003

      We make this one during the winter a lot!! It's so creamy and tasty, I doubt you could go back to just plain 'ol grilled cheese. Bummer part is my kids don't care for it - so they get plain 'ol grilled cheese!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2003

      Great sandwich! My family loved it and so did I

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2003

      This was a delicious sandwich! It was very easy to make. I followed the directions as written. I think that I will cut back on the mayo a bit next time. I will be fixing these often. Thanks for sharing your recipe WJKing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2012

      AMAZING! I was going to add my recipe but they were too similar. Mine is almost the same except I never used mayo or season salt and I add sauted onions, but found yours to be a much better addition. The only thing I did different is instead of buttering the bread I buttered the pan, I feel it coats the bread much better than applying it directly to the bread and it gives it a perfect golden brown crust.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2011

      Loved it!!!! So did the kids.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2009

      This is an outrageous sandwich! We all loved it. Because it is so rich, we all only ate half sandwiches. We got four servings from 2 full size sandwiches and only used 1/4 of the mixture. This would also be great melted as a hot cheese dip with crackers.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2003

      What a wonderful versatile spread! I use it with left over ham for hot ham and cheese sandwiches, topping for cheese burgers, topping for baked potatoes, and for omlettes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2014

      I made just the one sandwich for the DM and toasted in the sandwich press so didn't worry about buttering the bread (I used wholemeal/wholegrain bread) otherwise made as per recipe and the DM has requested to have the sandwich tomorrow, thank you WJKing and GibbyLou for recommending, made for Best of 2013 tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2014

      I enjoyed this grilled cheese very much WJKing. So much flavor. The sandwich was rich, creamy, savory, cheesy and very filling. I made this for our lunch and used a Calabrese bread and loaded the ingredients on for a thick grilled cheese. Quick and easy to make, a wonderful version of everyone favorite snack, it was ooey and gooey, just the way I like it. Made for Best of 2013 Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2014

      Wow. This is decadent and very rich! It's very creamy. I liked the hint of seasoning a lot. Great flavor. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2013

      This was yummy! I reduced the mayonnaise to 1/2 cup and made the cheese mixture ahead of time. Served it for a quick lunch with friends along side some Maryland crab soup! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2010

      This was great! I used weight watchers bread to cut down on the calories, but it was overall a good meal. I would definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

      Super delish! Made as directed except I used plain ole Texas toast. I think I'll use a thinner bread next time. Served with homemade tomato soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2009

      This is to die for. I could eat these for breakfast, lunch and dinner. In fact I spread some of the leftover cheese mixture on a toasted english muffin for breakfast the next day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2009

      Whoa, that's a big expection to live up to--"Ultimate Grilled Cheese!" I made it on a multi-grain bread and the suspense just about killed me. Seconds requested completely around the table. Job well done!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2009

      I just made this for my husband and me. We enjoyed it thoroughly. I have to say that I did not add the garlic powder or Season-All salt because I didn't have any, so added some finally chopped onions and a chili-lime seasoning. I agree with LizP that it would make a great dip as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2008

      My daughter fixed this when I visited her in Arizona. It was just wonderful!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      This was yummy. Of course I altered the recipe a tad. Instead of Cheddar, I used Munster. I added a squirt of lemon and threw in parsley for color. I hate all seasoning slat, so I used Mrs. Dash italian. On the advice of others, I used mayo to coat the outside and this was WONDERFUL! THe recipe seemed to make more than I needed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2007

      I had to add my stars. This was quite yummy! It certainly isn't the healthiest, but sometimes you just need a grilled cheese sandwich. I served with tomato soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2006

      This is good. I rated 4 stars because I had to cut back on the amount of mayo. I also used about 2 oz of cream cheese. It is a must try, if you like grilled cheese. Other cheese could be used. My kids also liked it.:)My DH made a sandwhich with the mixture last night, with out grilling it. Said it was good that way too. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ultimate Grilled Cheese - Gotta Try This!

    Serving Size: 1 (119 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 490.4
     
    Calories from Fat 308
    62%
    Total Fat 34.2 g
    52%
    Saturated Fat 14.9 g
    74%
    Cholesterol 75.7 mg
    25%
    Sodium 865.4 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.0 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 16.1 g
    32%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Season-All salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites