Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ultimate Great Northern Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ultimate Great Northern Beans

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on February 03, 2008

      I feel bad beacuase I have made these many times and have not taken the time to review them. This has become a staple recipe for me and is enjoyed by all of my family. I like to pair the beans with Mike Garcia's Sweet Cornbread, Sweet Cornbread. The sweetness of the cornbread with the spiciness of the beans compliment each other very well. I have never used hog jowl but have had great success with ham chunks and ham hocks. I would have loved to have had this recipe when I was a Scout leader, I think it would have been wonderful cooked over an open fire in a Dutch Oven alongside some peach dump cake (a sort of peach cobbler prepared in a Dutch Oven)!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2012

      Oh. My. Gawd. These are insanely good. Made exactly as directed, except threw in a ham bone with meat on it. Used the quick soak method (I forgot to soak them last night, but reeeaaaally wanted beans tonight!) and cooked it all together for 2 hours. Came out so freak delish!!! Just moved to the south and this was my first time making beans. OOH you made me look like a pro! Thanks so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2009

      Absolutely a 5-star recipe. Boneman, I never cared for cooked beans but these are delicious. DH and perennial dinner guest also gave them a high-five. The rotel was a perfect addition. I used a leftover ham bone and didn't brown it. Just put all ingredients in the pot and let 'er rip. I waited an hour to add the rotel tomatoes because I know sometimes tomatoes make the beans hard. These beans were perfect, neither hard nor mushy. There was a lot of liquid but I will mush up some of the beans and make soup for later on. All the photos are misleading; the beans are beautifully white and red, very appetizing. Thanks so much for posting this recipe......Janet

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2014

      Great beans. I used canned tomatoes and 2 tsp. chili powder (we are spice wimps) instead of rotel tomatoes. And added 1 sliced green pepper just before serving because DS hates cooked peppers. I liked the texture due to the green pepper and I am thinking we could handle a tad more chili powder next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2014

      This was easy and tasted awesome! Got 8 thumbs up from our household. : ) Very versatile by your own tastes but very good just the way it is. We made this with Country Cornbread #16917 and made some grill cheese sandwiches to boot. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2013

      Mighty tasty beans!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2012

      So glad I spent a few minutes searching for a new way to cook great northern beans. These are wonderful. I did cut back on the liquid a little bit as I don't like my beans too 'soupy' and I went ahead and used all of two 10-oz. cans of Rotelle. Both a smoked pork hock and chopped up ham. Delicious. Perfect, served with corn muffins (substitute sour cream for the milk, add a handful of shredded cheddar and a drained 4 oz. can of chopped chilies).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2011

      This was exactly what I was looking for... Made a few adjustments...no meat, used a Ham soup base, more onions, black pepper, more tomatoes... (you know how we all "doctor" stuff up!!! ) Excellent...thanks so much for posting this....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2010

      Extremely tasty beans. I definitely think the previous user who didn't soak overnight probably missed out on some of the texture, since they completely fill up with water overnight and become extremely tender and more mushy when you cook them then. I made a lot of replacements since I didn't have the rotel or the pork. Changes: added a tablespoon of garlic to the oil in the beginning, used chicken, sausage and turkey bacon (the meat I had available), instead of adding water, I added more juice from the tomatoes, also had 24 oz can of tomatoes I used instead, and chopped up two red peppers for the spiciness, also used powdered vegetable stock with water, and supplemented any extra water needed with more vegetable broth (stock water), which only ended up being one additional cup. even so it was super tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2010

      Really good beans! I used chunks of ham in mine and followed the rest of the directions. My Rotel was 10 oz can so I just used a can instead of opening and using another 1/2 can. Came out perfect in texture and flavor. Just a hint of a kick. We served with fried potatoes and cornbread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      I really liked these beans - I made as written except I had already started a quick soak method (when I decided to see what was on this site) and as I was pretty much snowed in, so had to substitute bacon for the pork jowl. I really liked the end flavor and texture but I had way too much liquid (ended up taking almost 4 cups of liquid out of pot and still had a good bit of liquid) I am not sure if this is due to using quick soak as opposed to overnight soaking method. I am only giving these the 4 stars this time, but next time will try the overnight method and see how the liquid amounts work out, I am looking forward to trying the pork jowls. I turned the leftover beans into some of the best chili I have ever eaten. Thank you Bone Man for your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      This is the best bean recipe that I have ever tried and everyone who has tasted it loves it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2009

      I have to agree with the other reviewers that these are some of the best beans I've ever eaten. I used a pork jowl and also added a little cooked bacon in this recipe. After it was done cooking, I wanted the broth a little thicker for dunking bread in, so I strained out all the liquid and then reduced it on the stove until about half had boiled down, which made the perfect consistency for us. I had planned on freezing half of this, but it was finished off before I even had a chance, so I'll be making another batch! Thanks for posting this terrific recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2009

      Totally delicious and almost too easy. Have moderated heat as base recipe is great for most folks-but too spicy for younger kids. I use half can of Rotel/half can diced tomatoes for my kids instead and they love it. Full can of Rotel and added hot sauce wakes it up if cooking for adults who like it hot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2009

      I made this with a leftover ham bone, leftover ham and a little cooked bacon. It was so easy and really delicious. My son added his Franks hot sauce for a little extra kick. We cooked it for about 2 1/2 hours and it was perfect. I'll definately take this one with me in the camper next time we go! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2008

      These were really very easy to make and had great flavor. I used smoked bacon when I made this. I could not put the last 16 ounce of water into my pan as it was to full. So I just left it out all together. I'll be making these again. YUM!! *New Zaar Cookbooks Tag 2008* game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      I really liked this recipe. I don't think the comment below me is accurate because they are not baked beans. The picture does make it look as if the beans are in a thick sauce. I used some garlic salt in my recipe, instead of more salt. I think one teaspoon of salt isn't enough salt for my taste. If you have to watch your salt intake, garlic powder or fresh garlic would be good. I think it added a bit more flavor to it, and meshed well. I served fried potatoes with it for my husband b/c he loves that. But I made a pot of white rice for me and the kids, and it was really good with rice. Also one other thing we changed up. We used two cups of diced ham steak, and cooked it the same way as it says to cook the pork jowl, but this way you can eat the ham you cook it in.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      We were quite disappointed with this recipe. The cooking time was quite a bit more than 2 or 3 hours ... Never thickened up very much and the beans did not turn out the way we thought baked beans should have looked liked (nothing like the uploaded pictures show). PERHAPS we will try again but cook them longer next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2007

      I serve a vegetarian family so I changed the recipe some, but it was very good. I used one cup of TVP, beef flavored and onion soup mix for the meat and broth. I used regular tomatoes because I forgot to buy the right ones. I added a green pepper for the chiles missing. I also added a little bit of chili powder, but not much. It was very good, not quite chili, as that isn't what it was supposed to be, but a good flavorful soup. I am making it again tommarro. I will try veggie bacon bits next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2007

      I have been looking for recipe ideas to use with my Dutch Oven while camping and I found this one. I made these on my Labor Day weekend camping trip and everybody loved them. Everyone was a little skeptical at first that I was making soup. They kept telling me to take the lid off. No need! The beans came out great just following your directions. This recipe does however make a LOT of beans…. I think the next time I will add some fresh tomatoes (seeds removed) to add a little more color and add to the flavor. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ultimate Great Northern Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (424 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 241.2
     
    Calories from Fat 157
    65%
    Total Fat 17.4 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 5.8 g
    29%
    Cholesterol 19.1 mg
    6%
    Sodium 793.2 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.6 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 7.9 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes