10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I used the long Japanese eggplants. We enjoyed this. I made quite a mess though. Worth it because it was not greasy at all.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riffraff March 09, 2004

Delicious. I made this exactly as described except I used seasoned breadcrumbs. Easy and totally yummy. Thanks highcotton -

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
petlover July 25, 2011

I have try them all, but this is the best so far, The only thing one should use is olive oil,First press it helps the favor, And i'm not saying the favor is bad, With the corn starch the oil stays cleaner longer, and the bread crumbs stay on the egg plant, and not in the bottm of the pot,If I had more stars I would give it a six to Seven stars,Excellent

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ingrassia.james October 08, 2010

Simple, easy recipe for eggplant. Goes together easily and is very tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
morgainegeiser August 12, 2010

made this once and it is sooo good! it wasn't soggy or anything

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sushi monster October 12, 2008

I now have a new recipe for fried eggplant. This beats what I have been doing by far. The slices came out so crispy and light. The cornstarch coating made a world of difference. I have made this twice to deal with an abundance of eggplant. The second time I added grated parmesan & Italian seasoning. Still excellent. Thank you highcotton for a recipe that will be my standard in the future.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D September 27, 2006

These are the best!!! Using my electric skillet, I fried these almost two minutes. The breading was crispy and the eggplant very tender. Perfect!!! Thanks for sharing this simple and delicious eggplant recipe, highcotton.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Merlot February 25, 2005

This is the best recipe for fried eggplant I have ever tried. The slices are crispy and browned, yet tender inside. I made them exactly as directed, and they turned out perfect. We will have this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GranJan November 18, 2004

So, so easy and how versatile can you get? Crisp on the outside, tender inside and good just as they are, but would be terrific with a tomato and onion sauce, an onion gravy, or any number of toppings. Next time I will use Japanese eggplants though since they will be easier to serve. My electric skillet hasn't been used in years, but it got a little exercise on this since I don't trust my temperature sense yet. Thanks for posting this quick and easy way to prepare one of my favorites!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OhMyStars! October 31, 2004

This is a great way to cook eggplant. I really did enjoy this recipe. The only thing I was a little confused on, was how long to cook in the oven. I just kept a close watch on them and they turned out really good. I think I am going to try this same recipe for fried green tomatoes next time!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jellyqueen August 25, 2004
Ultimate Fried Eggplant (Aubergine)