Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ultimate Crab and Spinach Manicotti With Parmesan Cheese Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ultimate Crab and Spinach Manicotti With Parmesan Cheese Sauce

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on April 11, 2013

    • on October 22, 2010

      Yummy!! This was excellent!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2010

    • on April 13, 2009

      I made this for Easter dinner since it was just the two of us. Great meal! I thought I had manicotti but ended up making crepes. Turned out wonderful. I cut the recipe back for five and it made four stuffed manicotti. It is very filling so have two left over. Served it with Antipasto as an appetizer and Chocolate Chip Cannoli Filling (W/Kahlua & Creme De Cacao) for dessert.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2009

      I almost regret making this for a social function a few months ago, because I got a request to make it AGAIN for a BIGGER function (you know crab isn't all that cheap either!). Everyone raved over this dish. It is wonderful. The good thing is that it seems to yield more than I need, so I can freeze the rest of the filling and serve for my family. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2009

      Wonderful dish--but definitely takes a bit more time to prepare. I'd make it again for sure but only on weekends or for company since it took so long to get on the table. Otherwise, great flavor! On a side note... be careful with the parmesan sauce as it tends to cool and thicken very quickly. I would recommend stuffing the shells first and then making the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      Thank you Kittencal for yet aNOTHER phenominal recipe! This was time consuming...HOWEVER..it was so super that I just have to keep it!!! I made it for a Sunday night dinner with fresh claw meat. It was spectacular. I would love to make this for company! Thank you for sharing another yummy dish! You're the best! xo LA :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2008

      Made for Christmas dinner and everyone loved it. Used ony 1/2 the spinach called for in the recipe and that was enough for us. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2008

      WOW.........finally made this Friday nite and it was SUCH a hit..........I used claw crab meat in the can per my local fish monger..........and I doubled it ......I added a splash of Chardonnay to the sauce......and garlic powder and I did use Frank's hot sauce.....but just a few splashes and then I used crushed red pepper flakes to add a bit more spice and well some cayenne pepper just because....:)......I also double the amount of cheese and added pecorino romano in with the parmesan....yummmmm.......I also added a little roasted garlic to the crab mixture from leftovers of the garlic I used in my roasted garlic italian bread.......this was a great recipe ....thanks so much Kittencal.....it is definitely a keeper and my honey and I loved it......(plus all his poker buddies the next nite.....)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2007

      Very good recipe, took awhile to make but well worth the effort and wait. I made this with the full amount of spinach, which was slightly overwhelming, going to try it at 3/4 the amount of spinach next time. But this recipe was a great change to the normal manicotti recipe i've always made. My only real complaint was the parmesan sauce,it was good... it just was kinda overwhelming in my opinion. Next time i make this i'm going to try it with red sauce, and like one of the other reviewers said, use the parm sauce as a drizzle. Red sauce might not go as well but it's worth a shot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2007

      This filling and sauce were great!! I made ravioli using wonton wrappers-DH thought I spent the whole day cooking! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2007

      OMG! I know it says no substitutes but someone drank all the milk so I was forced to use Fat-free milk and heavy cream. It worked. I added fresh spinach, roughly chopped. And since I couldn't find manicotti I used large shells and filled those. It was such a rich dish, we fed 10 that night! Thanks ever so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2006

      Excellent dish! Time consuming which goes for manicotti period, but I didn't mind at all. The ingredients and directions are easy. FYI- I could only eat 2 manicotti and my boyfriend could only eat 3, so that left 10 leftover. We were starving and I didn't make any appetizers or side dishes! Very good! Even though it was great, I might use less crab next time because it was a bit over powering.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2006

      Wow this was to die for or to die from, I'm not sure which. Rich and creamy. The crabs are in in Florida. This is my first for the season and it was wonderful. I have some of the mixture left (more crab than manicotti) so I guess I'll make more sauce and serve it over toast points. You did it again. Gloria

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2006

      Only had oven-ready canneloni, and they recommend baking in a tomato-based sauce. What I did, baked in canned tomatoes (mostly juice), then served with a ribbon of the parmesan sauce - beautiful! The tomatoes added a fresh taste that went wonderfully with the richness of the sauce. Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2006

      A fabulously flavoursome recipe, which I recommend unreservedly. And it is undoubtedly a very versatile recipe, which I look forward to making again. Next time, I'm thinking I’d like to try it with canned red salmon and some dill. I made this with the full quantity of spinach, fresh crab – yummy! – and I used low-fat milk which, when combined with the other ingredients, was still wonderfully creamy. I also couldn’t resist adding some minced garlic - in step 7, but I made no other changes. This recipe made a huge quantity – always very satisfying – so that, in addition to what we enjoyed, there were complete several meals to stash away in the freezer. Thank you, KITTENCAL, for yet another super 5 star plus recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2006

      I loved this, but I had to make a few changes to allow my husband to eat it. He ha an allergy to shellfish, so I made his with fresh ground turkey. He loved it. I also did not use regular whole milk, I used canned evaporated milk and it turned out very creamy. Would have given it more strs, but there is no higher choice :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2006

      Loved it! Only used half the spinach but otherwise didn't change a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2006

      This was a great dinner recipe that was much easier to make than I initially thought it would be. I made no changes in the recipe except for forgetting to add the mozzarella at the end, but didn't miss it at all. Had exactly enough filling for the 15 manicotti. We served it with a nice salad. DH and I both enjoyed dinner and the leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ultimate Crab and Spinach Manicotti With Parmesan Cheese Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (166 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 15

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 234.8
     
    Calories from Fat 136
    58%
    Total Fat 15.1 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 9.1 g
    45%
    Cholesterol 72.7 mg
    24%
    Sodium 602.4 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.8 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 18.3 g
    36%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    manicotti

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites