Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on September 09, 2002

      I have to say I was quite skeptical of this recipe, because I am much more of a butter-gal than a shortening fan. But this recipe has converted me! It's been SO long since I've made choc chip cookies - the batter taste and baking smell brought back wonderful childhood memories. This recipe is very easy and the cookies turn out very moist and flavorful. I made not adjustments to the directions. Thanks Cindy Lynn! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2002

      This is a very easy to follow recipe.It is a nice chewy cookie but I found it tasted too much of sugar.I used dark muscovado sugar so that could be the problem.On the plus side my hubby had the whole batch nearly eaten as soon as they came out of the oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2002

      I agree with another reviewer--a bit on the yoo sweet side, but heck, they are cookies! Mine were done in under 7 minutes, so watch the time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2003

      Hi Cindy Lynn ~~ made these this morning they are scrumptious! I used 1/4 c. butter and 1/2 c. crisco .. and substituted CAPPUCINO chips for chocolate chips, and used pecans for the nut requirement. Easy to do.. and got the exact same quantity 36 cookies. Thanks for sharing! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2003

      Mmmmmm...these were very good! I had to make cookies for a church reception, and these went over very well. I added white chocolate chips and chopped walnuts to my cookies- a great combination! Anyways, thanks for posting this wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2002

      I've been making these for years...ever since Butter Flavored Crisco came out with the recipe on the back of their can. They are simply the best! I always use 1 1/2 C of chocolate chips and eat about half the dough before it's cooked! (The family helps with this problem as well!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2003

      Excellent recipe! Using shortening vs. butter and brown sugar without any white sugar must have made the difference. They stayed fluffy and thick without falling after baking. My husband loves them. I will use this recipe from now on for all my chocolate chip cookies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      These are really good. This is the recipe that comes on a can of butter flavor Crisco. I don't normally add nuts to this though.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      I have been making these for about 20 years, and they have always got rave reviews from all who have tasted!!! They are the only ones my kids liked and even now, the only ones I really like!!! They are chewy, moist, and very tasty!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2009

      I'm in the middle of making these for the millionth time (per my mother-in-law's request) and realized I've never reviewed them. This has been the only chocolate chip cookie recipe I use ever since the first time I made them, about 4 years ago. They are THE best cookies, soft & chewy with great brown sugar flavor. I make them for Christmas trays, parties, in-law visits ;) and I'm always surprised by how these traditional cookies stand out as everyone's favorite. Thanks for the great recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2009

      These were great cookies. Did not use the nuts, added a few more chocolate chips. Leads to a much softer cookie than I am used to with butter based recipes. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2009

      I followed the recipe and ended up with a great chocolate chip cookie. Great flavor. I didn't add the nuts. I made these to serve tomorrow on Easter. I am sure everyone will enjoy these - I did. Thanks for posting the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2007

      These were good cookies. I would use a little less sugar when making them. However, my favorite recipe is still Nestle's (on the bag) and I use real butter. Thanks for a good alternative!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2007

      Thanks for posting a great recipe. I have used it many times over the years.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2006

      These were good cookies, just not great. They were not as flavorful as I'm used to. Maybe because of the shortening? Definitely not a bad cookie but I think I'll keep looking for something else. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2006

      I've been making chocolate chip cookies for my family for years. Just saw this recipe (it's also on the label of crisco stick shortening). THESE ARE THE BEST. I usually mix 1/2 mini chocolate chips and 1/2 regular chips.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2006

      I made this tonight and followed the recipe exactly with the exception of the nuts. They turned out delicious- perfectly moist and chewy. Thanks for sharing, I'll be making these again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2006

      These are incredible!! So perfectly shaped and flavored, by far the best cookies we've ever made. Simply amazing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2006

      Loved this cookie! My 4yr old daughter and I made them together! It was so easy and the end result was wonderful...love warm,chewy chocolate chip cookies. This will definitly be a keeper. Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2006

      My, what tasty cookies you have, Cindy Lynn. I found this recipe after I told a friend I'd bake cookies for her and realized at the last minute that I was out of margarine. I don't usually like shortening cookies, but these ones are really good! I used non-hydrogenated shortening, vegan replacements for the egg and milk, and ommitted the nuts per my friend's request. I only got 24 cookies, and for some reason they didn't spread at all so I ended up baking them for the full 13 minutes but they were still chewy and they tasted great. I'll definitely make this again, even if I do have margarine in the house! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (1035 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 114.8
     
    Calories from Fat 53
    46%
    Total Fat 5.8 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 5.2 mg
    1%
    Sodium 96.0 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.2 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 10.0 g
    40%
    Protein 1.0 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes