37 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have to say I was quite skeptical of this recipe, because I am much more of a butter-gal than a shortening fan. But this recipe has converted me! It's been SO long since I've made choc chip cookies - the batter taste and baking smell brought back wonderful childhood memories. This recipe is very easy and the cookies turn out very moist and flavorful. I made not adjustments to the directions. Thanks Cindy Lynn! :)

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisa Pizza September 09, 2002

This is a very easy to follow recipe.It is a nice chewy cookie but I found it tasted too much of sugar.I used dark muscovado sugar so that could be the problem.On the plus side my hubby had the whole batch nearly eaten as soon as they came out of the oven.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Norma in Ireland September 10, 2002

I agree with another reviewer--a bit on the yoo sweet side, but heck, they are cookies! Mine were done in under 7 minutes, so watch the time.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharlene~W September 17, 2002

Hi Cindy Lynn ~~ made these this morning they are scrumptious! I used 1/4 c. butter and 1/2 c. crisco .. and substituted CAPPUCINO chips for chocolate chips, and used pecans for the nut requirement. Easy to do.. and got the exact same quantity 36 cookies. Thanks for sharing! :)

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rickie February 26, 2003

Mmmmmm...these were very good! I had to make cookies for a church reception, and these went over very well. I added white chocolate chips and chopped walnuts to my cookies- a great combination! Anyways, thanks for posting this wonderful recipe!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cooking to Perfection February 25, 2003

I've been making these for years...ever since Butter Flavored Crisco came out with the recipe on the back of their can. They are simply the best! I always use 1 1/2 C of chocolate chips and eat about half the dough before it's cooked! (The family helps with this problem as well!)

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendy W88 October 19, 2002

Excellent recipe! Using shortening vs. butter and brown sugar without any white sugar must have made the difference. They stayed fluffy and thick without falling after baking. My husband loves them. I will use this recipe from now on for all my chocolate chip cookies.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wannaB January 20, 2003

These are really good. This is the recipe that comes on a can of butter flavor Crisco. I don't normally add nuts to this though.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Daycare Lady January 05, 2010

I have been making these for about 20 years, and they have always got rave reviews from all who have tasted!!! They are the only ones my kids liked and even now, the only ones I really like!!! They are chewy, moist, and very tasty!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smb611 December 13, 2009

I'm in the middle of making these for the millionth time (per my mother-in-law's request) and realized I've never reviewed them. This has been the only chocolate chip cookie recipe I use ever since the first time I made them, about 4 years ago. They are THE best cookies, soft & chewy with great brown sugar flavor. I make them for Christmas trays, parties, in-law visits ;) and I'm always surprised by how these traditional cookies stand out as everyone's favorite. Thanks for the great recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
groovyrooby July 14, 2009
Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies