Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ultimate Cheesecake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ultimate Cheesecake

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on January 04, 2003

      If you love all cheesecakes (as i do) you will agree with the title that this is in fact the ULTIMATE. It took a lot of time and was somewhat tedious, but was well worth the work. It will rise somewhat during baking, but dont panic (as i did), it will settle and be possibly the best cheesecake that you have ever had!!!!!!!! I wish that I could give it more than five stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2003

      I made this cheesecake for a party. Everyone loved it! Though during cooling a large crack formed; I topped it off with apricot and seedless blackberry preserves so the crack was not noticeable. I will make it again since it was delicious and not difficult to make.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2003

      This cheesecake was absolutely delicious! However during cooling a large crack (more like a crevice) formed. I will still make this again, only next time I'll use a water bath during baking.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      I have made this cheesecake twice now and I will never make one any other way than this. The cheesecake comes out so creamy and rich. I do use a water bath, but otherwise exactly as written. I made without the toppings the first time and with the second. Either way is fabulous if you don't have the time to make the toppings as well. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      This is the best cheesecake recipe you will find. It can be a little expesive to make depending on what your toppings are and it is time consuming to make but you'll love it (and so will everyone else)! I have made it into wedding cakes before per request it is so good. I use a 10-inch springform pan instead of 9 as suggested and double the crust (and topping if you are using it) recipe. Line the bottom of the outside of the pan with aluminum foil (to keep water from creeping in) and place in a larger pan with water deep enough to cover the bottom half of your pan. This allows the heat to distribute more easily. Make this cheesecake ATLEAST a day in advance. It takes a good while to make but it is sooo worth it. And the longer it chills the better. I don't always make the sour cream topping-it tastes just as good without it. When mixing the batter, make sure you beat the cream cheese very well, but once you put the eggs in don't beat anymore than you absolutely have to. Eggs hold air (the more you beat them the more air they hold). This air has to escape somehow and thus the cracks in the top of the cheesecake. If you don't overbeat, overcook, or cool too quickly the cracking should be very minimal if at all. I have been impatient in the past and didn't start making it until the last minute and figured I would stick it in the freezer to cool more quickly- nope- you get cracks that way too. My favorite ways of preparing this cheesecake is (omitting the sour cream topping) to spread strawberry glaze and place strawberries and kiwis on top- very beautiful. The most requested among my friends/family is to prepare pears: slice the pealed pears and cook in a saucepan (like you would cooked apples) with a little bit of lemon juice, sugar, cinnamon, and a little bit of flour to thicken the juices to make a sauce. Cook till soft and easy to cut with a fork but not mushy. Cool a bit then place the slices along the outer edge of the cheesecake, fill then center with raspberries, then drizzle the whole thing with chocolate- the BEST!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2007

      Yummy, yummy, yummy! I adapted this for a diabetic and it was excellent. For the crust I used a cup of ground walnuts, 1/4 cup white whole wheat flour, 2 scoops vanilla protein powder, a little Splenda and the butter. For the filling I substituted Splenda (about 3/4 cup) for the sugar. I made the meringue part of the topping as written, but used lite cherry pie filling instead of preserves. One of the best cheesecakes ever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2006

      My husband says 5 stars (I'm not a big cheesecake fan). It was somewhat time consuming, but not hard to make. I used strawberry preserves and added some frozen rasberries to the topping. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2006

      For years, I've been looking for the perfect cheesecake. This is it. I made one for a potluck at my husband's work and several people asked if I catered. They said it was the best cheesecake they have ever tasted. I made it the next day for a dinner party, and everyone raved. Instead of the topping in the recipe, I used 1/2 cup raspberry jelly, melted and added about a cup or more of frozen raspberries that had been thawed, then just poured it over the top. The next cheesecake I placed whole strawberries on top and melted 1/2 cup raspberry jelly and brushed each of the berries with the jelly, making them shiny. Very beautiful. Thanks for this recipe. It will be the only one I use when I make a cheesecake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2005

      I made this for a get-together and everyone was raving about it. It was easy to make and baked up perfectly. I followed the recipe except I added a pan of water on the rack below, and added a tsp. of almond flavoring also. Ultimate is right!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2005

      Awesome! Acually I had made this before (I also got it from a recipe card--But I lost it!). I was thrilled to find it here. Thank you so much for posting it. It's the best cheesecake I've ever had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2005

      This is a superb recipe -- creamy, rich, decedant! I made two of these for a bridal shower and was mobbed by requests for the recipe. It is better than "ultimate!"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2005

      EXCELLENT!! Dense but UNBELIEVABLY CREAMY ~especially if you can somehow force yourself to let it chill 24 hours before cutting into it!! I am already thinking up ways to justify making another one! I did do a few things differently -I baked mine in a 10" spring form pan because that's all I had on hand. I ended up doubling the crust ingredients to allow for the bigger pan. I made the base exactly how the recipe stated, and despite the bigger pan, I used the same cooking time and it turned out perfect. Because of time constraints I didn't make the topping suggested, but will try that next time. Anyway, I want to say thanks for the great recipe. I searched high and low and ended up going with this one -boy am I and my family glad I did!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2004

      This cheesecake is fantasic! I made it plain, without the topping, using a water bath and it came out perfect. Rich, like a deli style cheesecake, but creamier. This one is definitely a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ultimate Cheesecake

    Serving Size: 1 (2389 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 7613.6
     
    Calories from Fat 4572
    60%
    Total Fat 508.1 g
    781%
    Saturated Fat 281.4 g
    1407%
    Cholesterol 2049.2 mg
    683%
    Sodium 5224.0 mg
    217%
    Total Carbohydrate 687.2 g
    229%
    Dietary Fiber 6.8 g
    27%
    Sugars 535.7 g
    2143%
    Protein 107.9 g
    215%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh fruit

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites