Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ultimate Black Bean and Rice Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ultimate Black Bean and Rice Soup

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on December 14, 2009

      This soup was wonderful. I wasn't sure if I would like it because I'm a definite meat eater but I loved it and so did my DH. It is very filling. I also shared it with my brother and his family and they loved it too. They got the recipe from me and are making it for themselves tonight. I did make a few changes. We can't handle things to spicy so I didn't put in the jalapeno pepper and I only put in a 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper. I used a regular can of corn and didn't drain it and regular brown rice instead of instant. I put it in after I let the soup start boiling and ended up simmering it for about an hour and 15 min until the rice was the tenderness we like. Thank you so much for the recipe. This is definitely going in to our regular rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2012

      I had to butcher this recipe to fit what I had on hand, so I'm not going to star rate it...I just want it to mark it to make again properly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2011

      So delicious! I had to make some changes, due to the ingredients I had on hand, though I don't feel it altered the idea of the soup. I only had one can of black beans, so I used a can of pinto and a can of great northern as well. I also only had one can of regular diced tomatoes, so I added a can of spicy enchilada sauce in the place of the spiciness and the tomatoes of the second can the recipe called for. I also used regular white rice, sauteed with the vegetables, frozen corn, and homemade chicken broth. We topped it with cilantro and sour cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      I love black bean soups and this is BY FAR the best I have ever made or had. I only made a few changes. I didn't have a red pepper so I used a green bell pepper and threw in a yellow one too. I used 4 cloves of garlic. I don't know what kind of pepper I used... I'm not sure if it was jalapeno or serrano. Also, I didn't have the rotel type tomatoes so I used regular canned tomatoes and added a 4 oz can of green chilies. I also use regular canned corn and regular oregano. I followed another reviewer's suggestion and used brown rice-- added it in the first step and sauteed it with the veggies. It took about an hour for the rice to get done. The soup was pretty spicy (but I like spicy) and my husband "I don't even to add tabasco!". Very very yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2008

      Excellent soup. I made it exactly as written, using 2 medium-sized jalapeno peppers. I did not have Mexican oregano, so I used regular oregano. The soup was very hearty, filling, spicy, and flavorful. I will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2007

      Very good soup! I decreased the amount of cayenne pepper a little because I didn't want it to be too hot. I added some chicken because my husband likes meat so it worked well with that also. Definitely something to make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      Loved this recipe!!! Not too thick and really enjoyed it. Friends came in the house after smelling this soup and had to lift thelid on the pot. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2007

      Awesome! I changed it a bit because I don't like sweet peppers in my soup. I used a combination of black, white and red beans. Used 3/4 cup of brown rice that I cooked along with the carrots, celery, onion and jalapeño. The rice cooked as the soup simmered. A touch of smoked paprika and a couple of smoked turkey necks added some great flavor. This soup was very easy to prepare and is very nutritious. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2007

      Yummy :)I didn't have celery or bell pepper, still was delish! I took it to work & everyone loved it. Made a large crockpot, less than 1 cup left. Recipe was requested by all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2006

      This was outstanding! Simple to prepare, the instructions were clear. I followed the instructions for all the ingredients. The heat was perfect and would even bump it up a notch next time if DH wasn't so wimpy ;D. I did add some sour cream during my second helping, but liked it better without. Loved it with tortilla chips. We will make this again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2006

      I'm going to give this 5 stars. I love Black Bean soups and this is a very good Black Bean soup. First time I made it pretty much as written except that I used "milder" Rotel tomatoes and it was just TOO HOT for hubby's and my palate. But this is a tasty soup with its' many veggies in it and rice that complements it all. I wanted to try it again. This time, I used one can Milder Rotel tomatoes and one can of diced tomatoes and one chopped jalapeno, seeded and 1/4 tsp of cayenne. This turned the heat down quite a bit--more like a pleasant sting--and still left it pretty interesting with all of those lovely veggies in it. The only other disadvantage is that this just makes a TON of soup. Served it with cornbread muffins and it was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ultimate Black Bean and Rice Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (407 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 317.3
     
    Calories from Fat 49
    15%
    Total Fat 5.4 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.1 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1135.8 mg
    47%
    Total Carbohydrate 54.8 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 11.7 g
    47%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    11%
    Protein 15.9 g
    31%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes