Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ultimate BBQ Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ultimate BBQ Chicken

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on March 06, 2003

      Dolores, the reason the skin was like leather was because you didn't follow the method I laid out, or use the rub that I specified. I'm sorry it didn't work out for you, but browning the skin before grilling it was guaranteed to give you leather skin, and the rub I posted is the right one for this method. I stand by this recipe, and the method as written.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2003

      Did this using the oven method and had exellent results. Yes, it did seem like not much was happening for a while, but in the end the chicken was cooked nicely. The guys here gave out compliments, so it had to be yummy! (Sorry, I don't eat meat so can't give a personal review for the taste but trust me... if the guys here give a compliment I KNOW it's gooood!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2003

      I must tell you this recipe went over very well here. We loved it. The smoking process is the best part of it.Love the apple jucie is great. We just loved the process of cooking and the tender tender chicken was the very best with the best tasting BBQ sauce. I have to tell you we love it and will use it over and over.Thank You

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2003

      Thanx for posting this recipe ... I thought that I would have to beat my husband over the head with a stick to prevent him from cranking up the heat, but we followed your instructions & the chicken was perfect! Since we were cooking for a large crowd, we had chicken on the 2 upper racks & it was difficult to brush with the apple juice. So my husband put the juice into a spray bottle & it solved the problem - what a clever man!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2010

      I used the rub from this recipe on chicken drumsticks and thighs, and also on turkey drumsticks and thighs, and put them in the smoker at 200-225 degrees. The turkey cooked for about 5 hours, the chicken for around 4. We used the same mop sauce on them that we had for the pork shoulder, brisket and ribs. The rub was great and the chicken came out fantastic.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2004

      Wow! THE best BBQ chicken I've ever made!! I used the oven and it worked just as promised. I was seriously concerned this would be too (spicy) hot for our taste but once baked, it wasn't. It was terrific! I'm delighted to have leftovers of both the rub and sauce. Next time will be even easier and I'm going to try it with skinless, bone-in thighs. I'm wondering how this method, rub and sauce would work on ribs? Thank you so much, PetitFour for sharing this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2003

      FINALLY, I get to review this recipe. I've tried this three times, twice on the grill and once in the oven. I have not had great luck doing this on the grill, but I'm certain this is operator error. Keeping the grill temperature between 230 and 250 degrees and using a grill thermometer and an oven thermometer, even after 5 hours on the grill, I could never get the internal temp (digital probe thermometer) up above 160 degrees. That having been said, the rub and sauce were great, so we just finished it in the hot oven and it was okay. Last night, I tried this exclusively in the oven and it worked like a charm. Granted I didn't get the smokiness from the BBQ, but the smell and the flavor were the ULTIMATE! Thanks for posting this, I'll have to keep working on the grilling skills, but the oven technique is great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2003

      This was excellent!! I made it for memorial day, and it is fool proof! My brother-in-law usually mans the grill, so I did the prep and gave him the instructions for the grilling part. We sprayed the apple juice on as well. There was NONE left. This is definately a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2010

      This chicken was the best chicken ever! The flavor and the moistness was out of this world. The only thing I did different was to put the chicken in my smoker and let it smoke for about 3 1/2 hours, then I put it on the grill and added the bbq sauce to finish it. I had so many compliments on this chicken. I knew it would be good when I saw that it was a Paul Kirk recipe-that man is a genious! Thanks so much for sharing this-it's definetly a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2010

      This was the best chicken I have ever BBQ'ed!! Even after 4 days when I reheated a bone in breast the meat was still so moist and didn't have that funny chicken aftertaste, this is truly ULTIMATE CHICKEN!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2009

      I agree with other reviewers. This is the best BBQ chicken. The only spice I omitted was the chili powder and that's because my husband doesn't like it that much. Followed the directions exactly and it was not too spicy at all. Can't imagine why this recipe would burn edges of anyone's mouth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2009

      WOW!! This is the best BBQ chicken I've EVER had! I used the oven method---fell right off the bone when I took it out of the pan! I did add a bit more brown sugar and added just a bit more cayenne. It was amazing! I'll be making this all the time, and will definitely be inviting friends and coworkers over to try it! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2009

      The temperature and time amount do make a moist chicken, which is the one star. IF you want to range the heat of the sauce and rub together like a salsa heat, this is a medium, (the edges of my mouth are still burning a little) no one mentioned it was spicy, the black pepper was to much, it was the seasoning I tasted the most of. And I like my BBQ very mild and sweet. ALSO it tastes like enchilada sauce BBQ. There's chili powder and cumin in it which should have been a hint to me. My brother who likes hot foods enjoyed it, but not the enchilada flavor. My parents and myself were scraping the sauce and the rub off. We pretty much pulled it apart and just ate the center section of the meat. We all agreed after this meal that we'd stick with bullseye from the bottle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2009

      LOVED IT.....although I just used the rub and BBQ sauce recipe and cooked on grill as we normally would I have NO complaints. The sauce and rub had just enough heat from the cayenne to give it some "umph". The sauce was GREAT and the rub just gave it a compliment. Thanks so much...this will be my new BBQ sauce of choice when I head to the fridge. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2009

      I thought it was okay.I used the oven method.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      I highly recommend this recipe! It is by far, the best BBQ chicken EVER! I tried the oven method this time - too cold to grill...well, it works just as nicely as the grill method - and the smell throughout the house drove my family CRAZY all afternoon! I usually try to make extra for lunches the next day, but there is just never any left!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2009

      I have tasted many prize winning BBQ chicken recipes as I am a judge in a few annual BBQ contests. The is absolutely the BEST I have ever tasted! My husband is the one who always cooks on the grill and the chicken is either burnt or not done. Not any more! I mix the rub and sauce, he does the grilling. This chicken turns out perfectly every time! Just follow the directions exactly. It has never failed us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2008

      I think I found the perfect bbq chicken recipe right here. This worked out really well for me following this method. I too put my apple juice in a squirt bottle. Don't let all the ingredients scare you. This goes together easily and the end result is WELL worth the work! The result was tender juicy chicken with a terrific tasting barbecue glaze that was moreish to the palate! Everyone here ate till their hearts content and the chicken was eaten with great pleasure around the picnic table!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2008

      Loved how the first bite of chicken had a sweet flavor from the sugar that caramelized on the chicken and then a wonderful smoky spicy taste appears. I used skinless drumsticks and followed the recipe cooked on the grill except having to omit the apple juice. (I thought I had some and realized too late that I didn't.) Was wonderful anyway! Very different from your average BBQ flavor!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2008

      Unbelievable! Made in the oven, I even forgot to baste, but the chicken was juicy, tender, and out of this world! Will be a lifesaver during Chicago winters when I want summer most. I can also see baking at home and tailgating this fall. A million thanks and compliments!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ultimate BBQ Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (386 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1005.2
     
    Calories from Fat 438
    43%
    Total Fat 48.6 g
    74%
    Saturated Fat 13.4 g
    67%
    Cholesterol 308.3 mg
    102%
    Sodium 1018.0 mg
    42%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.3 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 37.0 g
    148%
    Protein 97.5 g
    195%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    lemon pepper

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites