Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ukrainian Honey Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ukrainian Honey Cake

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on July 21, 2014

      You must understand honey cake is different to cake with honey in. Almost all web recipes are for cake with honey in - the honey is either diluted with the same or greater volume of sugar or/and there are so many spices and other flavourings (coffee, for god's sake!!) that you have to ask yourself what is the point of the honey at all? THIS RECIPE IS DIFFERENT! An authentic honey cake with roots in a place where they probably couldn't even get hold of sugar in the first place, and you have to adjust your expectations accordingly: it's never going to win votes like a black forest gateau. So. Mine came out well but as other reviewers say you need at least another 12 mins cooking, probably 15. I found it to be like a Yorkshire gingerbread in consistency but less sweet and delightfully redolent of honey. I used the propolis-tainted honey that had had to be melted from some old combs I cleaned out of the hive and it came through in the result - not too sweet, but floral with resinous and waxy overtones, great with a black coffee. Next time I may drizzle some extra honey over the surface as it cools for even more honeyedness. It's super-easy to make and a fun and unusual technique. Five stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2014

      I don't think the one-star reviewer beat the eggs or the honey well enough. I microwaved the honey and beat it with an electric beater, then sifted the flour and baking powder together with a tiny dash of cinnamon. Then, I beat the room temp eggs separately with a pinch of cream of tartar till they were almost at soft peaks. Then I beat it all together and put it in a bunch of little mini-bundt tins. I should have checked them a little earlier, because they came out slightly overcooked at 15 mins, due to the smaller tins. (my fault) They ended up looking like sweetrolls from Skyrim, too, so that was pretty cool. Drizzled them with some honey icing that I whipped up. They kind of tasted like honey flavored angel food cake, but with a slightly chewier texture. I will make this again for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2013

      I was excited to try this recipe but wanted to make it gluten free. I substituted the 1 1/2 cups of flour with 3/4 c. brown rice flour, 1/2 c. tapioca flour and 1/4 c. soy flour. <br/><br/>The batter was very thin going into the pan. After 15 mins, it was still VERY loose when I moved the pan...didn't even try a toothpick. Still loose after another 15, and getting brown on top, so I covered it w/ foil. 10 more minutes and a toothpick had loose batter on it, but there was some resistance at the bottom of the pan where it was obviously beginning to cook. 10 minutes later, it was suddenly cooked through and very firm!?? <br/><br/>Even though I?m letting it settle for a day, I had to try it and the flavor was nice and sweet - if it?s even better tomorrow, YUM! The outer edges and bottom were too well done and dry but I know that my flour substitutions affected the process. I will try it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2012

      This recipe worked very well for me. I beated in high sped the eggs and honey until they were pale yellow.. then added flour. I puit it in oven and when it took a goldn color i cobered it with aluminum paper until ready... It came out well cooked, nuice golden color and good flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2011

      Added orange zest to this sucker!
      BOOM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2009

      by far the most disgusting cake i have made in my entire life. i followed the directions word for work and even lowered the baking time by 10 minutes but this cake was nothing but a honey flavoured resemblance of cardboard NOT RECOMMENDED and it used up all of the honey in my house too definately not worth making

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      This cake had a great honey taste but the sweetness wasn't too overpowering. I had to cook it for the extra five minutes, but it was still quick to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      Simple cake to make, and if you like honey you'll like this cake! I baked it for 30 minutes, though, and it still wasn't done in the middle. Drizzled with a caramel lemon syrup and had to have a taste before the standing time. It wasn't super sweet, and I like that!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      This is a very easy to make cake. It is a heavy cake so I could see using a little fruity syrup on it. I had to cook mine the extra 5 minutes and I think I should have went 5 more as my center caved in. oops I made this for *Zaar World Tour 4 game* for the *Holiday Cuisine of Eastern Europe*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      I'd read somewhere about honey cakes and have always wanted to try one. This was easy to make and very tasty. It's not quite as sweet as I'd thought which makes it all the better. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2008

      Very unusual cake, this is ~ Tasty, too, & sweet, yes, but then I enjoy honey! Don't know what difference it made, but I did use a citrus honey ('cause that's what I had handy) & THINK it added a bit of something nice! Thanks for sharing such an OUTSTANDING recipe! [Made & reviewed while touring Eastern Europe during Zaar's World Tour 4]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      My first Honey Cake - and not my last! Warmed the honey in the micro wave, used well beaten eggs, baked in a 7x9 inch pan - came out of the oven perfectly even! Used an extra seven minutes for the baking, but ovens do vary. DO follow PanNan's instructions allowing for one day standing before serving. I sampled the cake when cool and it tasted nothing like the next day - the lovely flavor of the honey that comes through on the standing makes for a five! Had planned on using an icing sugar/lemon glaze and top with almonds - it disappeared before I got to it! Thank you PanNan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      *Reviewed during ZWT4* This cake was indeed so simple to make and used pantry/frdige items. Cooked for the extra 5 minutes. This cake definitely improves after a day. I used a large bowl and microwaved my honey...then just added everything to that bowl to minimize washing up. Too easy. photo also being posted

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2007

      This is a wonderful cake. You must love honey though because that is, of course, the prevalent flavor. Rich taste, we really enjoyed this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2005

      I had a few problems with this and didn't manage to get my cake to cook in the middle (the texture is so fine that a toothpick inserted in the middle appeared to come out clean). Because of this I wondered if this was in fact a 3 star, but decided it would be unfair to mark down a recipe because of my own errors. In fact as we finished the cake (slice by slice, day by day) this cake just got better and better and I wondered if i should give it a 5! In the end I'm sticking with 4 because I think this is a bit too plain on its own. It is lovely served with yogurt and sliced banana though and I'll make this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ukrainian Honey Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (91 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 333.5
     
    Calories from Fat 31
    38%
    Total Fat 3.4 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 124.0 mg
    41%
    Sodium 110.7 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 70.8 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 46.6 g
    186%
    Protein 7.5 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes