11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I used to live in New Orleans, and The Ugly Dog was a venue i would service...anyway i have seen the recipe written on the back wall in person , and i can swear there was a dash of tobasco in the recipe. I have been making this slaw or over a decade and i have always added the tobasco. Just my two cents.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pippi lo July 29, 2012

This is killer coleslaw. I spent a lot of time in New Orleans after Katrina and ate at the Ugly Dog often, it's very close to what they serve. This is not "ya Mama's" coleslaw, so be ready for something very different. It is very good and my family loves it with BBQ. If you don't have Molasses you I have used Steen's cane syurp and had just as good results.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tread August 27, 2011

Brilliant! Deserves every one of its five stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BahaCanadian May 27, 2010

One of my favorite places of all time! My waitress was tight lipped with the recipe unlike yours! Thanks so much, I LOVE this stuff! What kind of molasses do you use?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CeacyM April 02, 2009

WOW!!! Next time we are making ribs with it! My boyfriend looked up this recipe and made it without me knowing. He brought it to my nose and it smelled like hamburgers.... needless to say using a fork or utensil was out of the question!!! The only changes he made was using McCormick's Garlic Season All as he couldn't find the garlic pepper seasoning. Thanks a TON!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef GreanEyes February 19, 2009

What a great coleslaw. I made this for something different to go with ribs & everyone loved it. Thanks for sharing this keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heydarl November 21, 2008

Neither of us cared for this but I used Peppered Rib Eye Steak Seasoning #87916 as the garlic pepper seasoning. The dressing was incredibly intense but since I didn't use the Lawry's I'm not rating it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea March 31, 2006

This is an intriguing recipe and I had to try it. I did change it quite a bit though, so I'm not giving a rating. I'm not fond of soy sauce so I only added 1 tablespoon and found that added plenty of flavor. I didn't have garlic pepper so used Montreal Steak Seasoning instead. After tasting, I found the flavor of the molasses and soy sauce too prominent so added another tablespoon of mayonnaise. It certainly is different than the usual cole slaw!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iris5555 April 30, 2005

This was so very different from the usual dressing, but I ate the whole thing by myself! I started out slow, not sure what to think, but it just got better and better! Very peppery! Thanks so much for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 April 28, 2005
Ugly Dog Saloon's Coleslaw Dressing