Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Udny Arms Sticky Toffee Pudding Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Udny Arms Sticky Toffee Pudding

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on August 30, 2009

      Awesome!! Mine was also done after 30 minutes and it was very moist. I first had this dessert in Ireland and fell in love with it. I always thought it was hard to make but this couldn't have been easier and I had most everything on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2008

      This is THE STP recipe I use alot. Makes a great dessert, is easy to make and is good enough to serve to company. The only change I made was microwaving the dates and water until they reach a 'jam' consistency then allowing them to cool a little before adding them to the batter mixture. It can be made ahead of time, along with the sauce and will quite happily wait while dinner is being enjoyed. The ONLY reason it would be of a dry consistency is over cooking the 'cake'. Try checking after 30 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2009

      Made this for a friend who used to live in Aberdeen and regularly went to Udny Arms for sticky toffee pudding. She said I nailed it. This recipe is it. My family loves it. In fact this is what my daughter wants for her birthday instead of cake.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      Wow! This cake has just replaced creme brulee as my favorite dessert ever! Very sweet, moist, and rich but yet easy to make. And I'd never guess that this cake contained dates. I did only use half the butter (1 stick) for the sauce and it was still perfect!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      If you want a amazing cake to impress this is the one. Simple but decadent but not a low cal so watch as the scale read one or two pounds more with each bite.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2007

      Incredibly decadent, incredibly good! The recipe makes A LOT of caramel. We ate the extra with apples :) The dates are unrecognizable in the cake, but lend a most amazing aroma and depth of flavor. Will DEFINITELY make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2014

      I am working without a frame of reference here, so I can't say for certain whether or not this recipe was a success compared to other sticky toffee puddings, but we found this to be delicious.<br/><br/>However, there are a few caveats. <br/><br/>1. The recipe was not well constructed. If you're not a somewhat experienced baker, I could see this going wrong for a lot of people. Boil the sauce ingredients? But for how long? Just bring them to a boil? If so, it makes for a pretty thin sauce. My dates never absorbed all the liquid. I added it anyway and I guess it came together. But even that process was vaguely described. <br/><br/>2. The lack of baking powder seemed a little troublesome. Other recipes I researched included this ingredient, but this one did not. Though it did rise, it was a little uneven as it did, and It turned out quite dense due to the lack of air bubbles. I'm not sure if this was the intention or not. I removed mine from the oven right around the 30 minute mark as others suggested.<br/><br/>3. This recipe lacks salt. All sweets should have it. I would say a 1/2 teaspoon in the cake another 1/2 teaspoon in the sauce. Without it, the cake has kind of a bland flavor that the sauce more or less covers up.<br/><br/>Overall, we loved the flavor and richness of this recipe and I would like to make it again, though I'm not sure if this will be the go-to or not.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2013

      This is a fairly good recipe, easy enough to make. I read the other reviews, and yes, I tried baking it for 30 minutes, still runny in the middle, back in for another 10, and still slightly gooey in the middle. The date water was too much, so I think I'll try it next time making a date 'jam' by cooking it on the stove, although without the date water it would have too dry. Loved the toffee sauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2013

      Delicious. I've made this twice and both times it was very good. The second time around I added a bit of salt to the sauce, as my grandma always insisted that sweet things need a bit of salt to round out their flavor. I baked the cake for 30 minutes after reading the other reviews and it was perfectly done and very moist. My children really loved this as well. Thanks so much for sharing it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2013

      I could have cried when I found this recipe! My husband still talks about the Udny Arms Sticky Toffee Pudding he had almost two years ago and I decided to make a sticky toffee pudding for Valentine's Day, though I never dreamed I would have found THE recipe! THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU! I'm sure he will be thrilled!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2011

      Too dry and cake like; not moist and gooey. It could be the use of confectioners sugar, which is unique to this recipe. Combining the butter and sugar to fluffy stage was a bit challenging. It was too dry already at that point. Second problem to present itself - water absorbing into dates. There was a lot of water unabsorbed. I assumed that all of the date mixture, including the unabsorbed water, was to be added to the other ingredients because after folding in the flour it was an extremely dry mixture...it definitely needed something. The sauce was fabulous; but it is toffee...how it could not be yummy?. Directions need more details.
      Overall, edible but not a keeper for me. I'll continue on the quest for perfect Sticky Toffee Pudding.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      Fabulous! I am from Scotland and now live in the US and this is a taste of home!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2009

      What an ab fab pudding! Its great if you're feeding the 5000 like we uusually are! ( well 12 actually! ) my gals love it, definately one to keep, thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2009

      I was given this recipe from my husband's Aunt in Aberdeen and it has become a family favourite for 15 years. It's Excellent! Everyone who has had it loves it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2008

      Lovely stick toffee pudding recipe. Like others here, I pulled the pudding out after 30 minutes as it passed the "touch test" for doneness. My family loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2008

      I'm a Brit residing in the US. Having been born and brought up in London for 26 years, I have come across many Sticky Toffee Puddings. I have to say, I was a little disappointed with this recipe as I had found it somewhat too dry and almost a little too 'cake' like. STP's are meant to be extremely moist and almost stodgy. I followed the instructions to a 'T', and I'm known to be quite a good cook so I know it's not due to my leaving something out from the recipe. I seem to be the odd one out though! Whether that's because the majority of the reviewers may not have tried a STP before, I do not know. Anyhow, if it weren't for the dryness, I would give this a 5 star. Thanks AHales!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2008

      Rich, but light tasting. Incredible!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      Made this just as it is written. Just onderful and so delicious. Thanks very much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2007

      We have made this for the past 2 years and it is amazing, we get raves from our family on Boxing Day!! Thank-you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Udny Arms Sticky Toffee Pudding

    Serving Size: 1 (236 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 788.6
     
    Calories from Fat 349
    44%
    Total Fat 38.8 g
    59%
    Saturated Fat 24.0 g
    120%
    Cholesterol 146.3 mg
    48%
    Sodium 351.0 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 108.6 g
    36%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 80.6 g
    322%
    Protein 5.8 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes