19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Awesome!! Mine was also done after 30 minutes and it was very moist. I first had this dessert in Ireland and fell in love with it. I always thought it was hard to make but this couldn't have been easier and I had most everything on hand.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cruzzo August 30, 2009

This is THE STP recipe I use alot. Makes a great dessert, is easy to make and is good enough to serve to company. The only change I made was microwaving the dates and water until they reach a 'jam' consistency then allowing them to cool a little before adding them to the batter mixture. It can be made ahead of time, along with the sauce and will quite happily wait while dinner is being enjoyed. The ONLY reason it would be of a dry consistency is over cooking the 'cake'. Try checking after 30 minutes.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
robyn win May 03, 2008

Made this for a friend who used to live in Aberdeen and regularly went to Udny Arms for sticky toffee pudding. She said I nailed it. This recipe is it. My family loves it. In fact this is what my daughter wants for her birthday instead of cake.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
selmarten April 23, 2009

Wow! This cake has just replaced creme brulee as my favorite dessert ever! Very sweet, moist, and rich but yet easy to make. And I'd never guess that this cake contained dates. I did only use half the butter (1 stick) for the sauce and it was still perfect!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tlaidacker January 21, 2008

If you want a amazing cake to impress this is the one. Simple but decadent but not a low cal so watch as the scale read one or two pounds more with each bite.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
manuela242005 December 26, 2007

Incredibly decadent, incredibly good! The recipe makes A LOT of caramel. We ate the extra with apples :) The dates are unrecognizable in the cake, but lend a most amazing aroma and depth of flavor. Will DEFINITELY make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Codychop October 06, 2007

I am working without a frame of reference here, so I can't say for certain whether or not this recipe was a success compared to other sticky toffee puddings, but we found this to be delicious.<br/><br/>However, there are a few caveats. <br/><br/>1. The recipe was not well constructed. If you're not a somewhat experienced baker, I could see this going wrong for a lot of people. Boil the sauce ingredients? But for how long? Just bring them to a boil? If so, it makes for a pretty thin sauce. My dates never absorbed all the liquid. I added it anyway and I guess it came together. But even that process was vaguely described. <br/><br/>2. The lack of baking powder seemed a little troublesome. Other recipes I researched included this ingredient, but this one did not. Though it did rise, it was a little uneven as it did, and It turned out quite dense due to the lack of air bubbles. I'm not sure if this was the intention or not. I removed mine from the oven right around the 30 minute mark as others suggested.<br/><br/>3. This recipe lacks salt. All sweets should have it. I would say a 1/2 teaspoon in the cake another 1/2 teaspoon in the sauce. Without it, the cake has kind of a bland flavor that the sauce more or less covers up.<br/><br/>Overall, we loved the flavor and richness of this recipe and I would like to make it again, though I'm not sure if this will be the go-to or not.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Allison D. January 02, 2014

This is a fairly good recipe, easy enough to make. I read the other reviews, and yes, I tried baking it for 30 minutes, still runny in the middle, back in for another 10, and still slightly gooey in the middle. The date water was too much, so I think I'll try it next time making a date 'jam' by cooking it on the stove, although without the date water it would have too dry. Loved the toffee sauce!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deeprose3_6854654 October 13, 2013

Delicious. I've made this twice and both times it was very good. The second time around I added a bit of salt to the sauce, as my grandma always insisted that sweet things need a bit of salt to round out their flavor. I baked the cake for 30 minutes after reading the other reviews and it was perfectly done and very moist. My children really loved this as well. Thanks so much for sharing it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Saremca February 13, 2013

I could have cried when I found this recipe! My husband still talks about the Udny Arms Sticky Toffee Pudding he had almost two years ago and I decided to make a sticky toffee pudding for Valentine's Day, though I never dreamed I would have found THE recipe! THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU! I'm sure he will be thrilled!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thebeatonpath February 12, 2013
Udny Arms Sticky Toffee Pudding