Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Udipi Sambar Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Udipi Sambar

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on September 27, 2012

      This is tangy, sweet and spicy. In place of the small onions I used one large. I did use way more then 2 cups of veggies more like 6. My choice of veggies was potatoes, eggplant, acorn squash, green beans, and tomatoes, all home grown and one red bell pepper. Skipped the Hung just not my thing! But garlic is so I used it in place of it. My choice of oil was coconut oil. Which is not included in the list or nutritional facts. Instead of grinding the spice mixture I added it to the food processor along with the coked dal and processed till smooth. Served over rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2008

      Love me some Sambar--and this recipe is close to what I got at friends houses in Kerala State, South India. Tuvar dal is the little orange lentils(get the split ones, they cook superfast) Urad dal is the little white lentil that is also used in my favorite accompaniments to Sambar--Dosas and Idli. We use garlic in place of hing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2008

      Great! The only thing different that I did was to use 1/4 cup dried coconut instead of fresh.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2007

      I loved the recipe. It was so well described that i just didn't have any problems cooking it and it came out really well!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2007

    • on June 29, 2007

    • on July 21, 2005

      I made this for my family with masala dosa, and this was a really nice sambhar with lots of coconut flavor. Everyone loves it, and shall make again. Thanks for another great recipe Fay!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2004

      I made this for dinner last night and served it with Basmati rice. Simply sinfully delicious, Fay! I did add 2 tsps. of cumin seeds in step 8 alongwith the mustard seeds. Instead of the jaggery/brown sugar, I used 2 tsps. of white sugar. I've never heard of anyone using brown sugar instead of jaggery:) I did have it on hand, you know, but I've always used white sugar as a substitute, so I can vouch for that working well as a substitute. As far as that pinch of hing goes, I used 1 tbsp. instead of a small pinch. I had a problem with the coconut{breaking open a coconut can be as hard as climbing Mount Everest when you dont have the right tool in your hand. SIGH! Thanks to Mr. Subhash of Shamiana Indian Cusisine, he is an angel - he broke it open for me and cut it into smaller pcs. too which made it easier for me to grate and use}. I used a little less than 1/2 cup of grated coconut for this recipe. Now coming to the tamarind pulp - I used 1 medium-sized chopped tomato as a substitute instead of the tamarind pulp. I am trying to avoid using tamarind because I'm just watching my diet a little closely these days. Tamarind juice is delicious but it makes me get a bad throat sooner than ever, that's why I prefer tomato instead - the idea is the same anyways, to make the sambar "khatta" as they sa;). Now for the vegetables, I used just 3 medium-sized carrots and 2 medium-sized potatoes, chopped into big chunks. My sambar could have had more veggies, but I didn't have too much on hand. The carrots and potatoes that I used were equivalent to 3 cups. I used 1 tsp. of salt for this sambar curry instead of just 1/4 tsp. Now, about the way I cooked this. I followed step 17 right after step 11, i.e., I added the mashed toor dal and the ground coconut paste to the stir-fried onions and cooked that before adding the vegetables. I think this is important to do if you want your masala to cook well. All in all this was DELICIOUS and I ended up having 3 bowls of this! My dad had 3 too. I had the best sleep ever last night{9hours sleep!}. I will make this again for sure. If only my mom was here she would have loved it too. SIGH! Maybe one day she'll be with us here. Thanks for posting this Fay!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Vegetable Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Udipi Sambar

    Serving Size: 1 (250 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 242.0
     
    Calories from Fat 10
    20%
    Total Fat 1.1 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 172.1 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.8 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 10.1 g
    40%
    Sugars 10.3 g
    41%
    Protein 11.8 g
    23%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    curry leaves

    coconut

    seeds

    hing

    vegetables

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes