Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / U. S. Senate Bean Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    U. S. Senate Bean Soup

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on October 21, 2002

      Once again Inez, you have submitted a delicious recipe! This is perhaps one of the best bean soups I have ever eaten. My only negative comment is that I thought 3 onions would be a bit much, so I used only one. It turned out well. I think 3 onions would just overwhelm the flavor of this great soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2010

      This is so delicious!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      YUM!! I added chopped carrots. Great soup!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2009

      Absolutely delicious. Instead of using all water, I use 2 large cans of chicken stock and the remainder water. It seems to give it a much richer flavor. Also, we have a Honey Baked Ham store in our town. They sell their left-over ham bones, which usually have plenty of ham left on them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      Easy and really cheap. You need an entire afternoon or evening to do it so plan accordingly. I used some cubed ham, less than a pound and all the onions, the rest as written. I got 14 cups and figure I spent less than 4.00$ on the whole thing, really economical. Good, simple soup anyone would like.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2007

      This really did not appeal to me or my family. It tasted more like a potato soup than beans and I felt it needed more flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2002

      This soup was okay the first night I made it but tasted great after refrigerating it and heating it up the next day. By then it had thickened up and the flavors had blended. I used a meaty soup bone, but next time I'm going to try some big chunks of lean ham. There was meat on the bone, but not much and my husband likes a lot of meat.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2002

      This is an excellent recipe, but I would add about a tbl. of Beau Monde.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2009

      Wow! I just realized I have been using this recipe since 2005 and never rated it! So Sorry MizzNezz. This is a wonderful version of this famous soup. This has simple ingredients, easy preparation, and makes the best tasting soup. I always serve this with cornbread, and my two children and husband eat this til the feel like they will explode, and we always have leftovers for lunch the next day too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      This soup was well received at the church potluck.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2009

      Great soup. Simple. Sure makes a lot! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2008

      This was excellent soup! I didn't have a ham one or ham hocks so the last hour of cooking added alot of cubed ham. I soaked the beans for an hour but I didnt drain or rinse, I cleaned and rinsed the beans prior to boiling, I then added one large can of chicken stock, a small palm full of red pepper flakes, we love spicy food and forgot the parsley. Tis soup was thick and very tasty, I can't wait to try it today after the flavors had a chance to blend overnight. Served with french bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2008

      This was delicious great comfort food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2007

      This soup is has excellent flavor. I prepared it exactly as written and served it with "Healthy Cornbread" by Sizzlera. It was very easy to prepare which is always a plus in my book. I used leftover mashed potatoes which was an interesting method of thickening the soup and added great flavor as well. Thanks Judy81350 for contributing this awesome recipe to Zaar. I will be adding this to my cookbook and it will be made again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2006

      We liked this pretty well, just thought it was missing something...not sure what though. I loved the addition of the instant potato flakes which gave it a nice flavor and texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2005

      Sooooo Good!!! This was so delicious. Does make a lot, but we have a lot to feed. Thank you for posting this recipe, we will enjoy it often as Bean Soup is a favorite here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2005

      We love this soup with it's rich old fashioned flavor. The potato flakes make for a great thickener. Served with crusty home made rolls this made for some great weekend lunches. Thanks for a really good soup recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2005

      My Christmas ham was born again with this soup! This is excellent and so true to the original, which I've eaten many times. I don't usually have instant potato flakes in my house so I acquired a 4 oz. package of potato flakes with butter and herbs, which seemed to work out well here because everyone loved the result. This makes a big pot of soup, I've already shared some of it as my little family will not be able to consume it all. Share the wealth! Thanks MizzNezz for this excellent bean soup recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2004

      This is a really good soup. I didn't have a ham bone so I added chopped ham. The potato flakes are a good choice for thickening. A great choice for a cold night.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2004

      Excellent...this soup was gone in a blink. I did add an additional half-cup of potato flakes because I wanted it to be a bit thicker, but the blend of flavors was just right. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for U. S. Senate Bean Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (97 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 90.2
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    89%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 19.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.0 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 4.3 g
    17%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ham bone

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes