23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Once again Inez, you have submitted a delicious recipe! This is perhaps one of the best bean soups I have ever eaten. My only negative comment is that I thought 3 onions would be a bit much, so I used only one. It turned out well. I think 3 onions would just overwhelm the flavor of this great soup.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
choco chip October 21, 2002

This is so delicious!!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Z,G,L's mom April 29, 2010

YUM!! I added chopped carrots. Great soup!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Not-2-Sweet December 13, 2009

Absolutely delicious. Instead of using all water, I use 2 large cans of chicken stock and the remainder water. It seems to give it a much richer flavor. Also, we have a Honey Baked Ham store in our town. They sell their left-over ham bones, which usually have plenty of ham left on them.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms. Lillian September 26, 2009

Easy and really cheap. You need an entire afternoon or evening to do it so plan accordingly. I used some cubed ham, less than a pound and all the onions, the rest as written. I got 14 cups and figure I spent less than 4.00$ on the whole thing, really economical. Good, simple soup anyone would like.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasha January 10, 2009

This really did not appeal to me or my family. It tasted more like a potato soup than beans and I felt it needed more flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TrisaKay April 29, 2007

This soup was okay the first night I made it but tasted great after refrigerating it and heating it up the next day. By then it had thickened up and the flavors had blended. I used a meaty soup bone, but next time I'm going to try some big chunks of lean ham. There was meat on the bone, but not much and my husband likes a lot of meat.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura K February 26, 2002

This is an excellent recipe, but I would add about a tbl. of Beau Monde.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie 13 February 04, 2002

Wow! I just realized I have been using this recipe since 2005 and never rated it! So Sorry MizzNezz. This is a wonderful version of this famous soup. This has simple ingredients, easy preparation, and makes the best tasting soup. I always serve this with cornbread, and my two children and husband eat this til the feel like they will explode, and we always have leftovers for lunch the next day too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Montagnaia December 12, 2009

This soup was well received at the church potluck.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Triple BQ November 15, 2009
U. S. Senate Bean Soup