Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tzatziki (yoghurt and cucumber dip) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tzatziki (yoghurt and cucumber dip)

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on April 02, 2002

      I THOUGHT this was a recipe given to me by my 80 yr. old Lebanese friend years ago. After making it, it is right on the money. Fantastic on sliced lamb in pita bread. A couple tips: dry mint will work fine putting the yoghurt in a sieve, lined with a coffee filter, overnite will get H20 out and make it less runny

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2002

      All I can say is this is most EXCELLENT! It reminds me of some Armenian flavors....Thanks a lot for this recipe! Mark Marcarian

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2002

      This is my favorite recipe, except I use dill weed instead of mint and drain the yoghurt in a coffee filter for an hour before I make it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2002

      This was wonderful! I didn't have mint so I substituted with coriander, which probably made it taste pretty different. I crave salt in everything so next time I'll probably add some salt as well. This tasted great with homemade "tortilla" chips made with chappatis... how's that for a fusion of cultures! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2013

      Great recipe, simple yet delicious!<br/>I made this to serve with some lamb kofta's, and it was just perfect.<br/>I made this exactly as written and would not change a thing.<br/>Thanks Jan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2013

      Yum! This mixture is great! I can't wait to use it tonight with my homemade Gyro meat, Gyros - an Authentic Recipe for Making Them at Home!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2010

      This is the best Tzatziki I have ever tasted and all my guests agreed, even the kids. I served this with Jan's Meatballs With Eggplant and Feta which I can highly recommend as well and so can all my guests I had none left, boo hoo was hoping to keep some back for tomorrow. Whether you make this to go with her meat balls or just to serve as a dip or to pair with something else you have to try this one. You will never buy store bought again!! Thanks Jan for a real winner and a definite keeper..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      This is a really good tzatziki recipe,reminds me of the ones they serve in restaurants. I used Naneh - Mint Paste ( Persian),no fresh mint this time of the year and this has a better flavor than the dried one.Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      Yes, there are xxx number of Tzatziki recipes on Zaar, but I picked up this one when Jan posted it in a thread. It's great!! I love the mint addition, and next time will use more mint: it was my own garden mint. I've always loved tzatziki -- tonight we grilled meats (braai meat!) and I made this, with a bit of hot pepper condiment also, and the two tastes were so complementary to the meats. I didn't change anything except that I did not weigh the cucumber and just eyeballed the amount. Do not use lowfat yoghurt, pulleasse!! I am always amazed at the fear of fullfat-anything on Zaar. Tzatziki needs fullfat yoghurt, and I used the Greek type. Oh -- one tiny change: I was lucky enough to have limes, so I used lime juice. Thanks, JustJan!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2009

      Loved it. First off it made the perfect amount for 2 with some leftover. I did not use the mint as I wanted it for Gyros. Other than that I stayed true to your recipe and will be making it again and again-very clean, crisp flavor. Yummy, yummy, yummy! thanks for posting! Di ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2008

      I have always loved Tzatziki and order it often at our favorite middle eastern restaurant! This was AWESOME and JUST like it! It was extremely easy to whip up in minutes! I will make it often to munch on with veges and pita bread! I did up the lemon juice to 1 teaspoon and added 1/2 teaspoon dill! YUMMY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2007

      Very very yummy, with mint out of my garden! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2006

      Delicious!! This went really well with CountryLady's Chicken Souvlaki #56768. I used zucchini instead of cucumber because I just can't stand them. DH didn't miss the cukes so I think the switch was good. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2004

      Fast, simple, and delicious. This made a nice small batch. I especially enjoyed the addition of mint in this. Served this as a condiment with Gyro Meat #81048.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2003

      Fine recipe. I make it with non fat yoghurt, use coriander, dry Knor chicken bouillon, greek spices, pepper and more lemon for taste. Make sure you do drain the cucumber totally, otherwise too much water in the mixture will spoil it. As a food purist, I serve it with Pitta and/or roasted or grilled lamb. Arlette (Johana Smith).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tzatziki (yoghurt and cucumber dip)

    Serving Size: 1 (416 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 75.7
     
    Calories from Fat 21
    28%
    Total Fat 2.4 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 8.6 mg
    2%
    Sodium 36.1 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.4 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 6.5 g
    26%
    Protein 3.8 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites