Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tzatziki Cucumber Dipping Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tzatziki Cucumber Dipping Sauce

    Average Rating:

    75 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 75

    Sort by:

    • on June 05, 2011

      I really liked this recipe. Never thought about putting mint into tzatziki and will admit I was skeptical but now I will ALWAYS use mint. I also didn't use Greek yogurt just a thick balkan and I also didn't bother draining it through the cheese cloth. With regard to the cucumber I just grated it and squeezed it dry as best i could with my hands. Maybe it was runnier than authentic tzatziki but nobody seemed to mind and definitely a lot less work. So yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2011

      Soo good, i could just eat it alone with a spoon! I down sized it because i knew we wouldn't need that whole amount. I used 1 cup nonfat greek yogurt and threw in a heaping large spoonful of lowfat sour cream in also. i prob only used about 1/2 of a large seedless cuke, diced really finely. i still kept to the garlic amount with about 2 tsp. a few squeezes of lemon, some salt and pepper. Awesomeness. I regretted the small amount later. We eat it originally with greek kabobs but the next night we were fighting over the leftovers with some grilled pork. I made a chimichurri to go with the pork and my husband mixed that and the tzatziki and was drooling thru the meal. thanks..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2013

      I scaled this recipe down to yield 2 cups because I only had one large cucumber. Came out fantastic! I was a bit hesitant about adding the mint (fresh from my garden), but after it sat about an hour in the fridge, it melded so nicely you would hardly know it was there, yet it imparted that certain delicious something. It was so good, I ate it as-is with a spoon. This will be my go-to recipe for tzatziki from now on. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2013

      Wunnerful... Had to make a second batch because I practically "taste-tested" the first into oblivion (tough job, but somebody had to do it)!!! This is simply delightful, thanks Rita, for another yummy recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2013

      I have made this so many times I've lost count, but have failed to review it. Well, it is a 5 star all the way. I have made it as a dip, I have drained the yogurt so far to use as a spread, and I have barley drained it and added tomatoes for a refreshing salad. I always cut my cucumbers to a small dice (don't care for the texture of the grated), then let set salted to drain. So, so good. Thank you Rita for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2012

      I really enjoyed this recipe. I made it according to the directions, but used dill in place of the mint because I did not have any mint. Next time, I'll remember to buy mint! Served it with grilled chicken kebobs and grilled pitas. So good! Will be making again. Thanks so much for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2011

      This was excellent...or rather will be. I'm making it to put on french fries for supper tomorrow. A 'recipe' a co-worker told me about. Hopefully I will still have some left! I also used greek yogurt. So much easier!! And omitted the mint. I may add a little pepper to the top of the completed dish but right now I'm eating this with a spoon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2011

      Yummy and easy. Served it with some thin sliced beef on naan bread with feta and tomatoes and made one of my favorites to go with it, " evelyn/athens Greek Potatoes (Oven-Roasted and Delicious!)" and it made a great meal. Close to gyro without freaking out my gyro hating partner, and she loved it. Thanks for a great recipe,

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2011

      Awesome. I wouldn't change anything! I made this for a large family gathering and everyone one from the kids on up loved it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2011

      Forgot to review this last year......FANTASTIC!! This is my "go to" tzatziki sauce. Used Greek yogurt and it was fabulous. Serve with my gyros every time. Thanks Rita!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2011

      Yummy! Thank you for another good recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2010

      I'm from Chicago and there are lots of gyro stands around. I never knew what was IN tsatsiki let alone how to make it. This sauce tastes and smells just like the ones I'm used to. It brings back lots of good memories. Definitely use Greek yogurt if you can. I found it at WalMart without much trouble. Now that I moved, I have to make my own gyros at home, and this recipe is tops.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2010

      Great recipe. I used greek yogurt also, so eliminated the straining step. We loved this recipe. I made gyros last night and wanted to make my own tzatziki sauce and this was great. Thank you Rita for another great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2010

      Another hit, Rita! I used Greek yogurt (no need to strain) and omitted the optionals. Perfection!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2010

      This is good. I didn't use the optionals. I would make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2004

      Wonderful. We served this with a spicy curry! Cooled our mouths perfectly!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2014

    • on November 23, 2013

      I made this the lazy way and it was still yummy. Love the idea of adding mint.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2013

      Simple and easy. I made a smaller batch though and I like to add a little garlic and dill. Yummy with roasted chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2012

      If you're looking for a great-tasting, easy tzatziki sauce, look no further! I have tried making tzatziki before using other recipes and I was always a bit disappointed. I wondered if it was possible to get an authentic tasting sauce at home. Then I tried this recipe and I knew I found the one! I used Greek yogurt instead of just regular plain yogurt, so I didn't feel the need to strain it. It was plenty thick. I also didn't add the mint--personal preference. We have used this on gyros, Greek burgers, Greek meatloaf, and other various things. We all love it. Thanks for the recipe, Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tzatziki Cucumber Dipping Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (1927 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 144.8
     
    Calories from Fat 69
    48%
    Total Fat 7.7 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 21.2 mg
    7%
    Sodium 78.4 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.7 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 10.2 g
    40%
    Protein 6.7 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites