12 Reviews

There are so many excellent tzatziki recipes on F.com, but I chose this one because it has such good reviews -- but no photo yet, so I took a pic for you. I did tweak a few things: I did not peel my English cucumber, grated it roughly, salted it, and left it in a sieve to drain for an hour. I definitely used more grated cucumber than the recipe asks for, and yes, I used Greek yoghurt -- so important! Do NOT use low-fat! I cut down on the garlic, as 6 Tblsp sound a bit over the top! LOL! With the fine cumin I also used some coarse black pepper, then left the mixture to develop its flavours. I love tzatziki! This was eaten as a cooling "side" to traditional roasted peri-peri chicken. Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zurie August 14, 2013

This was really good! I did cut back on the garlic a bit and added salt. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Not-2-Sweet October 27, 2010

Oh,this was good! I really enjoyed the cumin in it. I used a full fat homemade yogurt,which I drained a little.Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemafia June 03, 2010

Almost 4 1/2 stars. Really good flavour, better than the store bought taste but not near as thick. I used a bit less garlic than called for, Balkan (thick) yogurt and an English cucumber grated. I did not squeeze the juices out which I definitely should have done. I served this alongside Garlic Fries. I may make this again squeezing the liquid out of the cucumber for a thicker outcome.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat January 25, 2010

This is a great recipe. The only thing I changed was to use quark instead of yoghurt because they didn't have any Greek yoghurt at the supermarket and I think quark has a more similar flavour to Greek yoghurt than normal yoghurt does. It is really easy to make and gets better and better as you let it sit the fridge, so be patient let it sit in the fridge for a couple of hours at least.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tea Girl April 15, 2009

This is a tasty, very garlicky spread that I served with whole wheat pita bread! Did use Greek yogurt to make this, & find that to be quite tasty on its own! Definitely must add this as a dip to my appetizer counter! Thanks for posting a great recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed as an extra recipe for a teammate in our vegetarian group in the Vegetarian/Vegan Recipe Swap]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike August 12, 2008

I've always loved tzatziki, but this version is absolutely the best I've ever eaten. I always use Greek yoghurt in recipes requiring yoghurt, because it is so wonderfully creamy - and I often use it instead of cream. So, please, don't use some other yoghurt here. Love all the ingredients in this recipe, but it was, I believe, the cumin that lifted this tzatziki recipe to a class on its own. A great blend of flavours. Made for Potluck Tag. Thank you so much for sharing this fantastic recipe, Ravenseyes!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder July 30, 2008

Noe this is what I call a really good tzatziki. I like the addition of cumin and thought it went well with the garlic powder in this one. I used a whole cucumber. And I did use Greek yougurt and thought it more suitable than regular one. The type of yogurt does make a difference in such recipes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Studentchef July 20, 2008

Made & reviewed for ZWT 4 ~ Kumquat's Kookin' Kaboodles! This is a great recipe for a classic dip! Simple & fast to put together, it doesn' get much easier than this! Thanks Verna for another great recipe! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Um Safia June 17, 2008

I was lucky to find Greek yogurt and this was very good and was quick to make. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
little_wing June 16, 2008
Tzatziki