Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Typical Dutch Breakfast / Vlokken, Kwinkslag En Hagel Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Typical Dutch Breakfast / Vlokken, Kwinkslag En Hagel

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on January 17, 2010

      I've made these b4 for my daughter's birthday party. I cut the bread with cookie cutters and used muli-color sprinkles on some, chocolate on others and colored sugar on others. I remember my mom loved them. I'll have to send her this. I've made them for afternoon snacks, tea parties, and midnight snacks but I've never thought about making them for breakfast, but why not? A very simple idea that is cheap, easy and will hit the spot with good home made bread. Thanks for posting, the family is getting these for breakfast 2morrow :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      Kiwidutch, what a fun breakfast, I loved it! On a side note, I was feeling a little decadent about how many sprinkles I used until I looked at everyone else's pictures...now I don't feel bad at all :lol: Edited to say that OF THE 350 RECIPES I REVIEWED IN 2008, THIS HAS GONE INTO MY TOP 20 FAVORITES COOKBOOK.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      I LOVE that you put this on here! I haven't had this in a long time but seeing it brings back many a fond memory. I'm half Dutch, so I like mine lightly toasted, and then you need to put on enough butter (yes, BUTTER lol) to soften it a little bit, and the hagleslaag stays in place when there's enough. You should do this quickly so the chocolate melts at least a little bit, and open-faced is the way to go. Thanks for bringing back memories!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2013

      I felt very Dutch as I ate breakfast this morning! LOL I used softened butter and Tijgervlokken (milk chocolate and vanilla shards), which had been sent to me from the Netherlands ;) Thanks KD :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      Wow! So simple, but super delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      Mmmm! Thank you, kiwidutch, for reminding me of this wonderful treat! Made this with nice, soft, white bread, lots of butter, and De Ruijter brand chocoladehagel melk (milk chocolate "hail"). Luckily, we have a Vietnamese grocery a few blocks from home, which stocks a lot of Dutch goods--like these lovely chocolate sprinkles. I used to enjoy this often, but somehow fell out of the habit; now, thanks to you, I've introduced my young son to it. He seems to love it as much as I do...but honestly, what is not to love? Thanks for posting, kiwi! Made for Holiday Tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2008

      For an interesting taste twist, layer some thinly sliced Gouda cheese over the top of the hagel on buttered wheat bread. Sounds strange, but the taste combination is outstanding.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2008

      It was always a good day when I had this! With relatives in the Netherlands, we'd never be short on hagelslaag. I'd have it both with untoasted and toasted bread. Untoasted was definitely my favourite. Nice soft bread with the chocolate bits in every bite.. MMM! Toasted on occasion was a nice treat as well since you end up with *melted* chocolate bits instead. Yummm! Darn, now I want more right now! Thanks! ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      I grew up eating this. Sometime I would take it to school for lunch. The kids teased me about it but after trying a bite they liked it also. My daughter just loves this. Every year I order Hagelslaag for her for a Christmas gift. Looking forward to giving it to my grandson to learn to like it also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2008

      We had some chocolate sprinkles left in the cabinet after making Brigadeiro for Girl Scout International Thinking so we gave this a spin. My dd was tickled by the recipe and acted as chef and taste tester. She buttered a piece of whole grain bread and sprinkled away. She declared it good and thought that a repeat performance for breakfast in the future will be in order. Thanks for posting this simple but fun recipe. Made for my Babes for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      Tasty and a bit naughty which is always a fun combination. I first had this a few years back when I was introduced to it by a Dutch friend and this as good as it was then. I don't think it is any worse than a sugary Danish or a donut for breakfast if done in moderation. Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2008

      How fun! I ate a slice of this with my 6yo this morning, and loved watching her eyes light up as she realized she was being given chocolate for breakfast! :) I had some qualms at first, but then I realized that this was much better (nutritionally speaking) than donuts and some of the other stuff kids eat for breakfast. And you can't beat the speed of this recipe! :) Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2008

      Wow, this is sure a kid pleaser! Very simple to make, my daughter enjoyed this treat so much. Made for ZWT 4! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2008

      I made this with my class for ZWT 4! We had just spent a week reading a story that takes place in Holland and this was a fun treat for them. They thought it sounded strange at first, but 22 out of 24 kids give it 2 thumbs up! (The other two were unsure what to make of it!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2008

      I must agree with Chef floWer, my Little Man is really ready to come for a visit now that he has tried this treat- and this is a typical breakfast? YUMMY!! I don't know if he could keep the smile off his face long enough to get the food into his mouth!!LOL...Great, easy tasty recipe - made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2008

      Yummy and so much fun! We watched a program about Netherlands last week and I was so amazed the traditional breakfast was chocolate sprinkles. Netherlands is now on our list of places to visit because of the show and this recipe. Little Miss (DD) would love to have chocolate sprinkles everyday. Thank you for posting the recipe kiwidutch - *Made for Zaar World Tour 4*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2008

      Oh my gosh a sprinkle sandwich?! It's like I died and went to heaven. This was so odd to me, but really great... I used two slices of bread. maybe someday I'll "graduate" to one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2008

      yum - but i love my sprinkles on beschuit (Holland Rusk for the U.S. market) - makes a good anytime snack - it's not just for breakfast anymore :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2008

      I grew up with "sprinkle" sandwiches. My children now love them too. They love their sandwich with peanut butter and milk chocolate hagekskaag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2008

      Ah yes! Great on bread and I use vlokken and hagelslag for baking too. Gestampte muizen is only for bread, at least, I have never found another use for it. Through the years here in The Netherlands I have become so brave that I nowadays eat it on an open sandwich. All these products should be available in every country! You don't know what you're missing! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Typical Dutch Breakfast / Vlokken, Kwinkslag En Hagel

    Serving Size: 1 (25 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 66.5
     
    Calories from Fat 7
    11%
    Total Fat 0.8 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 127.7 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.6 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 1.9 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chocolate sprinkles

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites