21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've made these b4 for my daughter's birthday party. I cut the bread with cookie cutters and used muli-color sprinkles on some, chocolate on others and colored sugar on others. I remember my mom loved them. I'll have to send her this. I've made them for afternoon snacks, tea parties, and midnight snacks but I've never thought about making them for breakfast, but why not? A very simple idea that is cheap, easy and will hit the spot with good home made bread. Thanks for posting, the family is getting these for breakfast 2morrow :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilysse January 17, 2010

Kiwidutch, what a fun breakfast, I loved it! On a side note, I was feeling a little decadent about how many sprinkles I used until I looked at everyone else's pictures...now I don't feel bad at all :lol: Edited to say that OF THE 350 RECIPES I REVIEWED IN 2008, THIS HAS GONE INTO MY TOP 20 FAVORITES COOKBOOK.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup January 06, 2009

I LOVE that you put this on here! I haven't had this in a long time but seeing it brings back many a fond memory. I'm half Dutch, so I like mine lightly toasted, and then you need to put on enough butter (yes, BUTTER lol) to soften it a little bit, and the hagleslaag stays in place when there's enough. You should do this quickly so the chocolate melts at least a little bit, and open-faced is the way to go. Thanks for bringing back memories!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lil Missus December 07, 2008

I felt very Dutch as I ate breakfast this morning! LOL I used softened butter and Tijgervlokken (milk chocolate and vanilla shards), which had been sent to me from the Netherlands ;) Thanks KD :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flower7 September 28, 2013

Wow! So simple, but super delicious!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Autsayder August 31, 2009

Mmmm! Thank you, kiwidutch, for reminding me of this wonderful treat! Made this with nice, soft, white bread, lots of butter, and De Ruijter brand chocoladehagel melk (milk chocolate "hail"). Luckily, we have a Vietnamese grocery a few blocks from home, which stocks a lot of Dutch goods--like these lovely chocolate sprinkles. I used to enjoy this often, but somehow fell out of the habit; now, thanks to you, I've introduced my young son to it. He seems to love it as much as I do...but honestly, what is not to love? Thanks for posting, kiwi! Made for Holiday Tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Halcyon Eve December 26, 2008

For an interesting taste twist, layer some thinly sliced Gouda cheese over the top of the hagel on buttered wheat bread. Sounds strange, but the taste combination is outstanding.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
petrvan October 08, 2008

It was always a good day when I had this! With relatives in the Netherlands, we'd never be short on hagelslaag. I'd have it both with untoasted and toasted bread. Untoasted was definitely my favourite. Nice soft bread with the chocolate bits in every bite.. MMM! Toasted on occasion was a nice treat as well since you end up with *melted* chocolate bits instead. Yummm! Darn, now I want more right now! Thanks! ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yamakarasu June 21, 2008

I grew up eating this. Sometime I would take it to school for lunch. The kids teased me about it but after trying a bite they liked it also. My daughter just loves this. Every year I order Hagelslaag for her for a Christmas gift. Looking forward to giving it to my grandson to learn to like it also.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wilhelmina #2 June 18, 2008

We had some chocolate sprinkles left in the cabinet after making Brigadeiro for Girl Scout International Thinking so we gave this a spin. My dd was tickled by the recipe and acted as chef and taste tester. She buttered a piece of whole grain bread and sprinkled away. She declared it good and thought that a repeat performance for breakfast in the future will be in order. Thanks for posting this simple but fun recipe. Made for my Babes for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitchen Witch Steph June 05, 2008
Typical Dutch Breakfast / Vlokken, Kwinkslag En Hagel