Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tyler Florence's Ultimate Fish and Chips Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tyler Florence's Ultimate Fish and Chips

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on December 30, 2010

      This is REALLY late since I made these with my boyfriend over a year ago- but the recipe is great! We absolutely loved the breading-- rice flour soda water comes out extra crispy, far better than the flour batters I'm more used to seeing. We didn't have a deep fryer, so just cooked the fish/chips in a pan filled with 1-2" of oil, and it still came out perfect after we got the temperature right. Besides that, the only changes we made were to add a bit more seasonings to the batter (cayenne pepper, dried parsley, lemon pepper?).

      And an FYI for anyone else considering this recipe-- the batter is PERFECT for onion rings! We made a whole batch of them along after the fish was done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      This recipe calls for 2 cups of flour and 1/2 cup of rice flour for dredging. Tyler Florence's recipe calls for 2 cups of RICE flour and 1/2 cup of rice flour for dredging. Don't use regular flour. It's too heavy. The rice flour gives it a light, airy taste and texture and is absolutely delicious. We've made this several times (with rice flour throughout) and it's been a hit every time. Almost as good as The Laughing Halibut in London!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2010

      I made this last night....so good! My husband is from England and said this recipe tasted authentic. Make sure to sweep the fish back and forth once (so it starts to cook the batter) before completely dropping it into the oil or it will sink to the bottom and stick to the basket

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2013

      My guys gobbled this up. I made this for my family and the boys couldn't get enough. We really liked the batter on the fish. I served with some coleslaw and hushpuppies. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2011

      How can you lose making a Tyler Florence recipe? The batter came out crunchy, and stuck to the fish well. I shook the malt vinegar over the fries too and oh what a meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2010

      Fantastic! Someone gave us a bunch of tilapia, so i used that instead of cod, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. The kiddos aren't sure they like fish, but they loved this recipe! My son declared the chips the best he'd ever had. : ) It was simple to put together & delicious! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2010

      Awesome 1st time results! I combined this recipe with Real English Fish and Chips With Yorkshire Beer Batter, using baking soda and beer instead of soda water. i also cheated with frozen (thawed & dried) fries. The fam was impressed and so was I. Can't wait to do it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      Originally rated on 9/14/09 - This recipe made it into my book#266453. Excellent and easy fish and chips recipe. The batter is nice and light. Absolutely delicious. If you're going to attempt authentic fish and chips, this is the recipe to try! Thank you. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2009

      Great recipe! We tweaked it a little to our needs, (substituted GF flour for the batter), but we were really impressed. I made the tartar sauce, which was very good, but we didn't end up using it, as the fish was so good on its own.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2009

      Best Fish and Chips recipe I have ever tried. The batter is so light and really lets the flavor of the fish come out. Also really liked the tartar sauce recipe, very fresh tasting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2008

      The Tartar Sauce recipe here is by far the best we have ever tried. Why buy jarred when you can make it fresh and it will take the Fish to a whole new level that store bought cannot ?! You can also use bread and butter chips since Cornichon's can be a little pricy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      I love this breading on the fish, it is very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2008

      I'm willing to admit that I might have done something wrong, because my batter was crap. After frying, it was light and fluffly like a pancake, not like and crunchy like I expected. Any ideas? Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2008

      This is an outstanding fish/chips/sauce recipe. We used frozen fries and flounder fillets; but, kept true to the recipe otherwise. The batter was light and airy on the inside with a superb crunch on the outside. The sauce was astounding and went perfectly with the fish. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      (My second time making this; I seasoned the fish this time before dredging it in rice flour. I highly recommend doing so since the only part it indicates more seasoning was in the ingredients not in the steps) I didn't have soda water or club soda but I had light colored ale, so I used that without problems (There are beer batter recipes that are similar anyway). And my kids really like fish sticks so I made smaller pieces for them, just less cooking time. The other change I made was for the Tartar sauce, I used 1/2 regular mayo and 1/2 plain yogurt (can't tell the difference!!!) make sure you use cornichons because it makes the tartar sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2007

      Wow!! Thank you Jeesica K! We have spent a lot of time trying to find recipes that are similiar to those that you find in the suburbs of London and this is great! We did add a tad bit more salt and garlic powder to this recipe but otherwise was perfect!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2007

      This was a great fish and chips recipe. The entire family LOVED it. I am not really a fish person and I thought it was wonderful!! Great recipe Jessica K!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2007

      OOHHH this is really yummy. i prepared this dish for my parents the other day and they loved it! the batter was perfect and wasnt oily at all. served it with lots of salad and chips. didnt manage to make the tartar sauce but it tasted equally yummy with mayo. i recommend not to go to any restaurant to have your fish & chips as you can whip up one which is much tastier yourself with this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2007

      Yummy, my husband loved it and he's a really tough critic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2007

      This recipe is just as good as any resturant. My DH is a tough critic and said that this was as good as Bennigan's. After cooking a test piece I realized the batter was a little too thick for us. I did add more club soda, about 3/4 cup to thin the batter. It then was right for us. The tartar sauce was awesome! Again, DH said that is wasn't going to be as good as the stuff in a jar but then realized that it was very tasty. I was amazed that he had nothing bad to say about this. I didn't make the chips part of this cause I like my steak fries with this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tyler Florence's Ultimate Fish and Chips

    Serving Size: 1 (741 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1240.8
     
    Calories from Fat 274
    22%
    Total Fat 30.4 g
    46%
    Saturated Fat 4.9 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 147.8 mg
    49%
    Sodium 1982.4 mg
    82%
    Total Carbohydrate 192.1 g
    64%
    Dietary Fiber 14.2 g
    57%
    Sugars 9.4 g
    37%
    Protein 50.3 g
    100%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites