21 Reviews

This I had to make, anything with artichokes I can not resist. It turns a chicken or ham sandwich into an epicurean pleasure. And on a hot cheese pizza mmmmmmmmmmgood

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
L DJ October 03, 2002

Nice change from the olive tapenades out there. Served on toasted baguette bread. Wonderful flavor! Thanks

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shabby Sign Shoppe December 28, 2002

Mmmmm. Super Yuummy! Didn't change much, just a bit less garlic and added in about 8 kalamatas (b/c I have a giant bottle from Costco (: ). This will be great on many things, just now I am having it with Kavli crackers, I think I may grill some Tilapia later, and then pasta!! Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Pollo June 04, 2013

I loved this tapenade. We had it with english water crackers and I plan to serve it tonight with crusty bread. Next time I make it I will use only half of the garlic--it's good with 4 but I love artichokes and roasted red peppers so much I'd like more of that flavor to come through. I also think some grated lemon zest would be good since you have to buy a lemon for the recipe anyway--may as well use it all. Thanks for the great recipe. Update: I warmed some leftover tapenade and served it over baked fish---DELISH!!! I now think it would be a great warmed over pasta. This is going to be fun trying new uses for a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy!! November 26, 2007

This is some GOOD stuff! I wish I could give it TEN STARS! Yum, yum, yum! I made this to take to bunco tonight and it was incredibly delicious. I served it with thin slices of Italian bread that I toasted lightly in the oven. Oh so tasty! Everyone loved it and commented on how wonderful it was. Very very good! Lots of requests for the recipe. Oh, did I mention this is G-O-O-D good? :) I followed the directions exactly and it was a snap to make. I can so see it as a sandwich spread, on chicken, or with veggies. I will definitely be making this recipe again! Thanks so much for sharing it with us all!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Impera_Magna June 06, 2007

I was really disappointed in the taste of this tapenade, especially since I love all the ingredients individually. My first reaction to tasting it on some bruchetta was that it was bitter/sour despite some extra parmesan cheese to try an tone it down. I made it to take to my daughter's house as the appetizer and everyone had the same poor opinion of this recipe as I did. Too bad...maybe I'll try it again without the lemon juice and add some feta as another reviewer suggested.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Geema December 31, 2005

I thought (and the friends who tasted it at the pot luck that I brought it to agreed) that the taste was delicious but it was a little soupy. I think I'll cut back the olive oil next time to at least under 1/4 cup -- maybe less.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
l'ecole June 01, 2014

When my daughter and her husband tasted this tapenade, they raved about it and asked for more. It is beyond delicious, and I prepared it exactly according to the recipe. The balance of flavors is perfect. After having lost the recipe (!!), I've just found it and am going to make a few jars for my dear girl (and one for me)!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Joycehm May 24, 2014

Oh yes! I could eat this all day. It's a favorite light lunch on the patio. I have it with crackers, assorted cheeses, grapes and a chilled wine. Delicious. I feel the recipe does not need any additional salt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mimis food July 05, 2013

Quite enjoyed this variation of tapenade. I had red, yellow and orange peppers in my fridge so I roasted them on the barbecue. Like other reviewers, I added some black olives. I would estimate I had about 4 cups of tapenade made up. I served this on toasted baguette, but this tasted wonderful with water crackers that were on hand. I haven't done pizza on the bbq for a while, so leftovers will be devoted to that! I was so pleased with this recipe, that I would do this one again! Kudos on the posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl August 26, 2012
Two-Step Artichoke Tapenade