37 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was fabulous! I made it as directed, but for my 6yo, I picked out the potato and meat, pureed with an immersion blender then added the meat and potatoes back in (I knew he would not eat it if he saw the other "stuff" in it). We all ate our soup, thoroughly enjoying it. When I was putting the leftovers away, there was a bit of the pureed soup left so I tasted it. OMG - it was out of this world! I thought it was excellent to begin with, but blended it was so much better. Very pleasing texture and flavor. So much so that I picked the meat and potatoes out of the rest of the leftovers and pureed it before adding back in. That is how I will be making it from now on. I will have to figure out a way to have the meat and potatoes in there but easier to remove. Cheesecloth maybe? Hmmmmm Oh, and I might add more kielbasa too!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenniferK2 March 27, 2010

Star light, Star bright...First star i see tonite. Wish I may, wish I might...have Two Old Queens Soup tonite! It was delicious. I must admit that after reading the ingredients list, I didn't have much hope of trying it, much less liking it. How could I resist, though, when I had just about everything on hand--especially knowing what you, Pot Scrubber, had to go through just to bring this recipe to the masses? That's right, I couldn't resist. So, here i am now, singing your praises. Thank you!<br/><br/>Here are the modifications I made: I sauteed the onions & summer squash (chopped) in a small bit of bacon grease. Didn't have the new potatoes, so I diced up some russets. I used light kidney beans (cos i don't know the difference between light & dark &/or if it mattered) & used Kitchen Basics beef stock (cos I love it so). I think i put in a little less cabbage than a small head (just because) and diced/browned the turkey kielbasa in my cast iron skillet before de-glazing and dumping it all in my soup pot. I had to simmer for the full 45 minutes, but, wow, it was so worth the wait!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jug O'Mud April 24, 2013

OH SO GOOD!!!! I was looking for a recipe with cabbage and kielbasa. Wasn't too sure when I found this recipe but was so pleased with the result. My husband (who likes NOTHING that I make b/c we have such different taste preferences) had 2 bowls without doctoring it up with his cabinet full of spices. That is what I call a hit!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mindynicole7 November 20, 2012

Loved the story, LOVED the soup!!! I used the whole ring of keilbasa and the big splash of red wine! Fabulous AND satisfying!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
taratee February 19, 2012

I enjoyed this soup very much even if the rest of my family refused to even try it! I knew going in that this one would be a hard sell but it sounded so good I had to give it a try. My daughter has a thing against kielbasa, my son is not a soup fan and will only eat it if paid or starving with no other options, and my husband has issues with cabbage in soup and squash in general. I plan on making it again later this spring when my father visits as he is much less finicky and I think he will enjoy it. (28)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JPsBarbie March 13, 2011

About twenty or so Cajun drunks ate some of the best food ever...this included and was one of the first to go. I'm gratefuler than my normal grateful for a great recipe :-). Made for Soups and Breads Recipe Tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng January 14, 2011

Four stars for the soup and an extra star for Pot Scrubber who went the extra mile to bring this recipe to the world. Thank you, Mr. Pot Scrubber. I made it as described. Added 1 t. smoked paprika to achieve the recommended smoky effect. Next time, I plan to cut back on the cabbage and increase the potatoes, kielbasa and kidney beans. This will be my take-for-lunch dish all week. Yay for full-meal soups.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heirloom Tomato December 07, 2009

When I saw this recipe I thought what a perfect soup for one of our cold snowy nights! Boy, was I right! This is one delicious soup! I made as directed, adding a healthy dose of red wine for myself as I was putting it together. Your description rates another 5 stars...very charming!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Snow Pea April 17, 2009

After reading that introduction, I just HAD to make this soup!!! :D I am soooo glad that I did!! This soup is out of this world!! DH and DSS do not eat cabbage, so I told them to order pizza. Well, to make a long story short, the pizza was never ordered!! They BOTH ate 2 bowls!! Even my MIL came over to steal some after the rave reviews it received!! Thank you my little PAC baby, this is a definate keeper!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SkinnyMinnie October 02, 2006

I used a 14 oz package of kielbasa (more than listed) and diced 3 small Idaho potatoes (sub for new potatoes). I'll add a splash of wine next time. Great flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SonnyHavens February 22, 2015
Two Old Queens Soup