Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Two Old Queens Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Two Old Queens Soup

    Average Rating:

    37 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 37

    Sort by:

    • on March 27, 2010

      This was fabulous! I made it as directed, but for my 6yo, I picked out the potato and meat, pureed with an immersion blender then added the meat and potatoes back in (I knew he would not eat it if he saw the other "stuff" in it). We all ate our soup, thoroughly enjoying it. When I was putting the leftovers away, there was a bit of the pureed soup left so I tasted it. OMG - it was out of this world! I thought it was excellent to begin with, but blended it was so much better. Very pleasing texture and flavor. So much so that I picked the meat and potatoes out of the rest of the leftovers and pureed it before adding back in. That is how I will be making it from now on. I will have to figure out a way to have the meat and potatoes in there but easier to remove. Cheesecloth maybe? Hmmmmm Oh, and I might add more kielbasa too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2013

      Star light, Star bright...First star i see tonite. Wish I may, wish I might...have Two Old Queens Soup tonite! It was delicious. I must admit that after reading the ingredients list, I didn't have much hope of trying it, much less liking it. How could I resist, though, when I had just about everything on hand--especially knowing what you, Pot Scrubber, had to go through just to bring this recipe to the masses? That's right, I couldn't resist. So, here i am now, singing your praises. Thank you!<br/><br/>Here are the modifications I made: I sauteed the onions & summer squash (chopped) in a small bit of bacon grease. Didn't have the new potatoes, so I diced up some russets. I used light kidney beans (cos i don't know the difference between light & dark &/or if it mattered) & used Kitchen Basics beef stock (cos I love it so). I think i put in a little less cabbage than a small head (just because) and diced/browned the turkey kielbasa in my cast iron skillet before de-glazing and dumping it all in my soup pot. I had to simmer for the full 45 minutes, but, wow, it was so worth the wait!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2012

      OH SO GOOD!!!! I was looking for a recipe with cabbage and kielbasa. Wasn't too sure when I found this recipe but was so pleased with the result. My husband (who likes NOTHING that I make b/c we have such different taste preferences) had 2 bowls without doctoring it up with his cabinet full of spices. That is what I call a hit!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2012

      Loved the story, LOVED the soup!!! I used the whole ring of keilbasa and the big splash of red wine! Fabulous AND satisfying!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2011

      I enjoyed this soup very much even if the rest of my family refused to even try it! I knew going in that this one would be a hard sell but it sounded so good I had to give it a try. My daughter has a thing against kielbasa, my son is not a soup fan and will only eat it if paid or starving with no other options, and my husband has issues with cabbage in soup and squash in general. I plan on making it again later this spring when my father visits as he is much less finicky and I think he will enjoy it. (28)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2011

      About twenty or so Cajun drunks ate some of the best food ever...this included and was one of the first to go. I'm gratefuler than my normal grateful for a great recipe :-). Made for Soups and Breads Recipe Tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      Four stars for the soup and an extra star for Pot Scrubber who went the extra mile to bring this recipe to the world. Thank you, Mr. Pot Scrubber. I made it as described. Added 1 t. smoked paprika to achieve the recommended smoky effect. Next time, I plan to cut back on the cabbage and increase the potatoes, kielbasa and kidney beans. This will be my take-for-lunch dish all week. Yay for full-meal soups.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2009

      When I saw this recipe I thought what a perfect soup for one of our cold snowy nights! Boy, was I right! This is one delicious soup! I made as directed, adding a healthy dose of red wine for myself as I was putting it together. Your description rates another 5 stars...very charming!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2006

      After reading that introduction, I just HAD to make this soup!!! :D I am soooo glad that I did!! This soup is out of this world!! DH and DSS do not eat cabbage, so I told them to order pizza. Well, to make a long story short, the pizza was never ordered!! They BOTH ate 2 bowls!! Even my MIL came over to steal some after the rave reviews it received!! Thank you my little PAC baby, this is a definate keeper!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2014

    • on August 14, 2013

      Fantastic!! I made just a few adjustments with herbs and spices, but not many. This was awesome! Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2011

      Just what a friend needs after surgery!! I used half a vegetable marrow as my yellow squash and had a mixture of beef broth, water, and some homemade roasted tomato soup instead of the ketchup. Smells wonderful and tasted great

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2011

      Wonderful! I knew it would be even tho I had to use low sodium beef broth due to my husband's sodium restrictions. This recipe makes a bunch so there's a couple of container's in the freezer for lunch as the weather is turning cooler. I loved the story that goes with this recipe and only wish I had been there.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2011

      This soup is soooo good! The flavor is amazing, and I could sip a whole bowl of nothing but the broth. Wonderful comfort food as the weather turns rainy and cold here. It is also the perfect soup for early Fall when you have a garden- the cabbage, yellow squash, onion, and potato are all readily on hand. Thank you for the wonderful story behind this recipe as well. Very entertaining and I loved reading about it. Thank you Pot Scrubber! [Made for Zaar Cookbook Tag]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2011

      Great recipe, I left out the squash, subbed crowder peas for kidney beans since we didnt have any, and added a few splashes of worcestershire. It was fantastic, we made again just two days later! We kept the substitution of crowder peas because they added such a nice flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2010

      Loved the mix of vegetables and flavor from the smoked sausage! I used Conecuh Smoked Sausage. Made for Best of 2009 Tag!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      Wonderful soup! I made as written. Next time I will take the tip & grill the kielbasa first, could only make this awesome soup better! I plan on trying different sliceable sausages (chorizo, linguica) next time as well. Everyone loved it & kept asking how to make it. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2009

      very good, smells great and taste met my expectations. followed recipe almost cheated and used prepacked coleslaw in a bag and added 2 carrots and a dash of brandy(from a french onion soup recipe which makes the beef taste pop)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      What fun it was to read your story and what a pleasure it was to make this soup. It really hit the spot on this blustery fall day. Dh mentioned how much he liked it several times while eating it. Followed the recipe as written, adding the spalsh of wine. I used low sodium beef broth and never added any additional salt. Thanks so much for posting this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2009

      Delicious and easy to make. Made as directed except that I used a full pound of smoked sausage. As a result it did not need any salt at all. Next time I will probably add a can of corn and perhaps a can of diced tomatoes. I can totally understand why you would prostrate yourself to get this recipe. Thanks for taking the hit, so to speak, to obtain this keeper of a recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Two Old Queens Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (510 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 257.1
     
    Calories from Fat 81
    31%
    Total Fat 9.0 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 15.6 mg
    5%
    Sodium 1264.9 mg
    52%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.8 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 6.9 g
    27%
    Sugars 8.0 g
    32%
    Protein 11.1 g
    22%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes