16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Have been on a key lime pie fix lately and have added this wonderful recipe to my "winner" group. Used a premade graham cracker crust (time/lack of ingredients). The 2 layers were indeed yummy and made this pie more complex than a regular key lime pie. I used Nellie's bottled key lime juice and that always works just as good as fresh squeezed, I think. And I'm a South Florida gal! This pie has a good slight tartness, but it certainly is not over-the-top tart at all. (1/2 cup of key lime juice is the norm, though some do call for 2/3 cup) I added a final layer of slightly sweetened whipped cream. Served for company and they enjoyed it, too. BTW I baked the first layer at 350 degrees for approx. 15 minutes which is plenty of baking time for a key lime pie. Used a deep dish typed of graham cracker crust. The size is slightly larger than the regular ones. I think it's called "2 extra servings" size. Works well with this pie because of the added 2nd layer and whipped cream topping. Super fast and easy to make, especially if using bottled key lime juice. Note: do not use regular bottled lime juice- not the same at all. Great recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
golfergirlj April 30, 2008

I made this pie yesterday and it turned out beautifully! I made it with a pre-bought graham cracker pie crust, but it was still SO WONDERFUL!!! My husband is raving about it! I tend to mess up when baking, but this seemed mess up proof. I already have requests from him to make it again. Thanks so much for this recipe, deffinatly a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CrunchyCarol November 02, 2007

Yummy pie-we chose it to use up some leftover granola cereal. We used a spring form pan as mentioned in another review and it turned out wonderful. Just the right balance of sweet and tart. The kids loved the layers. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cooksci March 30, 2009

I have made this pie several times and it is always a big hit, especially at a summer picnic or BBQ and sipping on a traditional margarita. Simply delicious! If you're serving it to your guests outside on a hot summer day, do make sure it is completely chilled (the 4 hours AT LEAST) because it will start separating in the heat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Mad Slovak February 26, 2009

I had keylime pie once as a kid, and wanted to try again. It was much more tart than the 6 we cooked for liked, so we made this a second time. Since time was a factor I suggested Buddha, (my fiance'), combine the ingredients of both lime layers into one, then baked as directed, and it was much better than the original recipe. (As a new home cook in training), He looked up and smiled at me after I spooned some in his mouth and said "I made that?" I said "Yep, see what a little improvising can do?" Needless to say he was quite impressed with himself.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu January 31, 2008

ETA: I made this with the 2nd layer and well...my hips hate me, my double chin hates me, but this is the best key lime pie ANYWHERE! This time I can only discuss the bottom layer which was amazing, worth every squeeze of the tiny limes. When I went to make the topping discovered my cream cheese never got into my cart :( So tomorrow I will get the cream cheese if there is any of the bottom layer left! The best filling for a keylime pie ever!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarraMamba August 24, 2007

Absolutely wonderful! Great contrast of tang, cream and crunch, definately a keeper, all the family loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lou van June 20, 2007

Just perfect. The creamy top layer sets this apart from others. The only hard part was juicing just over a pound of tiny key limes. My very first attempt at a key lime pie and it turned out like I'd been making it all my life, thanks for such a fabulous recipe! I used a nilla wafer/graham cracker/pecan crust from another recipe but when I've got some granola on hand I'll definitely try this one since the pie was so incredibly good (tasted great with the other crust too).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RZ1234 May 28, 2007

this is a delicious pie, the creamy topping perfectly balances the tangy smooth base filling. Do not search any longer- this is a key lime pie to please!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
montemarg April 10, 2007

This is by far the best Key Lime Pie I have ever had. Every time I go to FL (which is oftern) I scope out the key lime pies. This version that I make at home hasn't been topped yet! I use Kelloggs Low Fat Granola without Raisins for the crust.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little Suzy Homemaker January 04, 2007
Two-Layer Key Lime Pie