Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Two-Layer Key Lime Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Two-Layer Key Lime Pie

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on April 30, 2008

      Have been on a key lime pie fix lately and have added this wonderful recipe to my "winner" group. Used a premade graham cracker crust (time/lack of ingredients). The 2 layers were indeed yummy and made this pie more complex than a regular key lime pie. I used Nellie's bottled key lime juice and that always works just as good as fresh squeezed, I think. And I'm a South Florida gal! This pie has a good slight tartness, but it certainly is not over-the-top tart at all. (1/2 cup of key lime juice is the norm, though some do call for 2/3 cup) I added a final layer of slightly sweetened whipped cream. Served for company and they enjoyed it, too. BTW I baked the first layer at 350 degrees for approx. 15 minutes which is plenty of baking time for a key lime pie. Used a deep dish typed of graham cracker crust. The size is slightly larger than the regular ones. I think it's called "2 extra servings" size. Works well with this pie because of the added 2nd layer and whipped cream topping. Super fast and easy to make, especially if using bottled key lime juice. Note: do not use regular bottled lime juice- not the same at all. Great recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2007

      I made this pie yesterday and it turned out beautifully! I made it with a pre-bought graham cracker pie crust, but it was still SO WONDERFUL!!! My husband is raving about it! I tend to mess up when baking, but this seemed mess up proof. I already have requests from him to make it again. Thanks so much for this recipe, deffinatly a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2009

      Yummy pie-we chose it to use up some leftover granola cereal. We used a spring form pan as mentioned in another review and it turned out wonderful. Just the right balance of sweet and tart. The kids loved the layers. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2009

      I have made this pie several times and it is always a big hit, especially at a summer picnic or BBQ and sipping on a traditional margarita. Simply delicious! If you're serving it to your guests outside on a hot summer day, do make sure it is completely chilled (the 4 hours AT LEAST) because it will start separating in the heat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2008

      I had keylime pie once as a kid, and wanted to try again. It was much more tart than the 6 we cooked for liked, so we made this a second time. Since time was a factor I suggested Buddha, (my fiance'), combine the ingredients of both lime layers into one, then baked as directed, and it was much better than the original recipe. (As a new home cook in training), He looked up and smiled at me after I spooned some in his mouth and said "I made that?" I said "Yep, see what a little improvising can do?" Needless to say he was quite impressed with himself.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2007

      ETA: I made this with the 2nd layer and well...my hips hate me, my double chin hates me, but this is the best key lime pie ANYWHERE! This time I can only discuss the bottom layer which was amazing, worth every squeeze of the tiny limes. When I went to make the topping discovered my cream cheese never got into my cart :( So tomorrow I will get the cream cheese if there is any of the bottom layer left! The best filling for a keylime pie ever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2007

      Absolutely wonderful! Great contrast of tang, cream and crunch, definately a keeper, all the family loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2007

      Just perfect. The creamy top layer sets this apart from others. The only hard part was juicing just over a pound of tiny key limes. My very first attempt at a key lime pie and it turned out like I'd been making it all my life, thanks for such a fabulous recipe! I used a nilla wafer/graham cracker/pecan crust from another recipe but when I've got some granola on hand I'll definitely try this one since the pie was so incredibly good (tasted great with the other crust too).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2007

      this is a delicious pie, the creamy topping perfectly balances the tangy smooth base filling. Do not search any longer- this is a key lime pie to please!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2007

      This is by far the best Key Lime Pie I have ever had. Every time I go to FL (which is oftern) I scope out the key lime pies. This version that I make at home hasn't been topped yet! I use Kelloggs Low Fat Granola without Raisins for the crust.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2005

      This was nothing short of fantastic! The crust was the best I've ever had--I loved the granola in it. We didn't have fresh key limes so I used bottled key lime juice. I think next time I'll either use less of it or just regular lime juice because it was very tart (although we just added extra whipped cream to compensate)! Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2004

      Definitely a keeper! Delicious and easy...quite a combination. This is my husband's favorite pie. I have a feeling I will be making this often! Thank you so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2004

      Great recipe! We had key limes on sale at the corner fruit stand for .10/lb. I purchased .22 worth and made 2 delicious pies. I entered one at my work's baking contest and won the best homemade dessert!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2004

      This pie was delicious and really easy to make; I didn't have the granola so just used straight graham cracker crust. It makes a wonderful presentation; topped with a few slices of lime and some whipped cream on the outer edge. DH, who said he didn't like key lime pie, loved it. I used regular limes because I had an abundance of them. This is a keeper for sure.Thanx.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2004

      I love key lime pie and OMG this turned out sooo great. I really must take a bow because I stink at making pies. I used fresh key lime juice and the filling had an awesome tangy-sweet flavor. I topped with slightly sweetened whipped cream. I love you for posting this recipe. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2004

      This is a wonderful Key Lime pie. Just the right combination of sweet and tart and very creamy. I didn't have a deep dish 9" pie plate so I used my 10" springform pan and it came out fine just not quite as high as it should have been. Shortly thereafter I went out and bought a deep dish 9" pie plate so I can make this again. Great recipe Yooper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Two-Layer Key Lime Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (161 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 516.0
     
    Calories from Fat 240
    46%
    Total Fat 26.7 g
    41%
    Saturated Fat 14.0 g
    70%
    Cholesterol 139.0 mg
    46%
    Sodium 223.3 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 60.7 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 51.3 g
    205%
    Protein 10.5 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes