Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Twix Bar Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Twix Bar Cookies

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on December 06, 2011

      Boy did I mess up this recipe gailanng was great getting back to me and it seems my chocolate must have been bad as it kept seizing. So for the remainder of the recipe, EXCELLENT! I used the microwave method to do the caramel, the shortbread tasted wonderful, the chocolate was my enemy this time. I cannot believe I am saying this. With all that said, I did end up borrowing some chocolate from a neighbor who happened to call to check on me. I was so upset she brought some over from up the hill so I could finish this up. I then used the double boiler method for the chocolate and then it seemed to come together better. Taste wise it is not the candy bar but it is good! DH will be thrilled. Pictures to follow

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2010

      These are really wonderful bars! Simple to make, too. I was a little worried about the microwaving of sweetened condensed milk, because of prior reviews, but found that following the tips given (use a large bowl, cook an extra two minutes, don't worry if it doesn't look perfect when it's done, whisk it and it will be perfect), worked perfectly! Also - score/mark the bars by sliding a knife through the chocolate layer once it sets, then chill - then the chocolate doesn't streak through the other layers when you cut through. Fantastic recipe, Gailanng - thanks for sharing it! Made for 1-2-3 Hits Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2012

      Very wonderful cookie! What a tasty combination of buttery shortbread, creamy caramel, and rich chocolate. I did a layer of white chocolate and then milk chocolate and it is heavenly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2011

      This was a bit time consuming with all the layers and waiting for each to set or cool down but it was definitely worth it.. My son is going on the road with his basketball team so I wanted to make these for him to take for them all.. We did keep back a few for us to enjoy as well.. :) I well upped the recipe by just over 2 times the amounts listed and it worked a treat, I had to as there are 16 on the team and then the coach and 3 assistant coaches.. I wanted them to have at least 2 each for there long trip, 19 hours on a bus never fun.. The shortbread recipe is wonderful and works so well, my son was very impressed that I had made that from scratch.. I failed to tell him how easy it was.. :) I used 3 cans of condensed milk and used the microwave method, had to up the time obviously because of the extra but it worked a treat.. I then used a mixture of semi sweet and milk chocolate for the top.. I put the final product in the fridge to half firm up and then like a previous reviewer had suggested I scored through the chocolate part, placed it all back in the fridge to set completely and cut once set.. The scoring works great as the chocolate cuts evenly and everything is set so well that the knife glides through the rest with ease.. Will have to let you know what the team thought tomorrow as that is when they hit the road. As far as our family goes they have been very much enjoyed and we all agree on a super recipe that is worth every bit of the 5 stars and coming from my son who is usually the toughest marker on the stars that really says something.. Thanks for sharing.......... Update: Son was supposed to call from the road but alas NO! only heard from him when he got back in town today, the scamp... All the team loved these and I mean loved these. So now this recipe has really been reviewed by about 25 people who all said Yum! Yum! and Yum! So I think now we can say from us and a whole basketball team your recipe scored!!!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      Yum! Turned out easier than I expected in the microwave. I did need to cook the filling an extra 2 minutes, I thought perhaps I'd ruined it by the way it looked, but when I whipped it all the lumps disappeared and it became a wonderful smooth caramel. Sticky though! It needs to be sticky to hold on to the slightly crumbly biscuit base. But they are more similar to a Twix than I expected! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2011

      This was a really good little candy bar dessert. While I wouldn't say it tasted exactly like a Twix, it was still VERY tasty! The shortbread cookie part was good; not as crisp as a Twix, but still really good. I used the microwave method for the caramel making and it was easy and worked very well! The next time I make it I think I will use milk chocolate on top instead of semi-sweet; personal preference! All in all a great and easy to make dessert!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      We loved these! They have a great caramel chocolatey flavor with a nice cookie crunch. Twix is one of our favorite candy bars so this was sure to be a big hit around here. I was pleasantly surprised by how quick and easy they were to make. I used the microwave method for making the caramel and would tell everyone to use a BIG bowl- one much larger than you think you need because the caramel really bubbles up alot. Thanks, GailAnn!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2010

      Twix are my favorite candy bar of all time & I was so excited to get a chance to try this recipe! I do think the recipe is a good one, but the sweetened condensed milk just doesn't have the same caramel taste that using wrapped caramels would. I used the stove-top, double boiler method for cooking the caramel. It simmered (hard) for over 90 minutes and I still didn't have a dark, sticky caramel. I wish I had used the microwave, but at the time I had both ovens, the microwave & two burners going with other recipes, so letting the milk simmer on it's own for an hour & a half seemed like a fine idea. In the future, I will try it again using the microwave and making sure to cook it until the full caramel stage. I think, after spending more than two hours on this recipe, for just the first two layers, I was wanting to love them. However, without the dark, rich caramel, they don't taste enough like a Twix, the caramel doesn't support the chocolate layer & they're difficult to cut cleanly. To anyone that tries this recipe in the future, please don't worry about over-cooking the milk. Cook it until it is dark & thick!! That's the real secret here! :) I'll look forward to trying these again. Thanks for posting, Gailann! Made for Photo forum's National Dessert Month event.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      I love twix bars and these were delicious. I used the microwave method for making the caramel layer and I did microwave it for more than 4 minutes total. Stirring every 2 minutes as directed. The caramel turned out perfect but the taste was still somewhat condensed milk tasting, rather than toffee or caramel flavour. That's the only reason I gave 4 stars. Otherwise I enjoyed these a lot! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      These didn't turn out for me. I don't think I cooked the sweetened condensed milk long enough

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Twix Bar Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (38 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 190.3
     
    Calories from Fat 110
    58%
    Total Fat 12.3 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 7.6 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 24.1 mg
    8%
    Sodium 23.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.8 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 9.9 g
    39%
    Protein 1.8 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites