Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Twinkie Sushi Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Twinkie Sushi

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on April 08, 2009

      my lil sisters class thought they were great and the family did as well!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

      This was so fun! We made them for my daughter to take to school for her 9th birthday. Her favorite book right now is Yoko by Rosemary Wells. It's all about a girl that loves Sushi! Our family LOVES Sushi but not practical to take to school so this is great!! I put them in my Japanese bento box and sent chopsticks to school. We did freeze the Twinkies and that made it so easy to cut them. Thanks for a great idea!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2008

      Great idea. Put twinkies in the freezer as suggested and they cut easily. Loved how creative you can get with these, I made mine like a plate of assorted sushi. The best tasting ones were made with red velvet twinkies - I flattened and cut a rice krispy treat and wrapped it around the slice of twinkie so creme side faced up on plate. I also found that Entenmanns makes a mean twinkie.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2008

      My husband made these for a picnic that we were going to. They were having a dessert contest for the men and hubby won most creative! These were so easy and such a hit! I, personally, found them a little bit too sweet to have more than one but that was perfect because he didn't make a TON - just one box of twinkies worth. I was unable to find green fruit roll ups or fruit by the foot ANYWHERE so I ended up with green yogos rolls and they worked just fine. Thanks for the wonderful recipe! I know we'll be making this for another party sooner or later!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2008

      This was a great hit at my niece's 13th birthday party (pool party with a Japanese under-theme). I also used Sara Lee Pound Cake, cut in rectangles, with large Swedish fish, wrapped around the center like a piece of sushi. The kids devoured them and thought they were a lot of fun.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      I am having a graduation party soon with about 30 teenagres. I plan on making these and just know they will be loved!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2008

      I was watching my cousins last weekend and we made these, they loved them and loved making them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2008

      I think I need to give this more stars. It was so easy and yummy! I read all the comments. So thanks to many for this great recipe. I froze the "twinkies" and cutting them was a breeze. I did use Aldi brand because, holy cow! Twinkies were $3.99 at my grocery store! (I'd forgotten that by the day I went to Aldi, and I was like, "Holy cow! $1.99??!!!" I'm a cheapskate.) I didn't have a problem with them. I got (raspberry, I think) Fruit By the Foot and cut the Aldi "twinkies" into quarters because that fit the FBTF. I also used Swedish Fish. I thought they were cute, but not really very appealing--until I tried one. They are really good! I made them for my son to take to school for Ayyam-i-Ha treats tomorrow. He already said, "we are making these for next year." Thank you for a great treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2007

      These are so cute! I thought they would be fun to make with the kids I baby sit for and they loved them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2007

      I made these for my daughters "special day" at school. They were a real hit. After reading the other comments about the twinkies being hard to cut I put them in the freezer the night before. They made slicing a breeze!! Thanks for such a fun recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2007

      These were so yummy! I made them for a going away/birthday party and they were a big hit. Some people didn't try them because they didn't like twinkies, but neither do I and I loved these! Make sure you don't use the Aldi-brand twinkies though (Golden Cremes), because half of them had no cream at all! I couldn't find a box of green fruit rollups, but I did find green fruit-by-the-foot--you can make 3-4 of these (or more) with one roll, which was pretty nice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2007

      These are cute - I made them as a gag for a friend's party along with some regular sushi and they were a big hit. The low rating for "tasting like twinkies" is just silly - they're twinkies! LOL. For the person that couldn't cut the twinkies - I just used a very sharp knife (non-serrated) and it went through the twinkie like butter. I did have to sharpen my knife though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2007

      Good snacks for your kids sleepovers! Fun and yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2007

      I don't know if its something I did but we couldn't cut these. I tried 4 different knives and they all smashed the twinkie flat. I'm sorry for the low review but ours didn't turn out as they were flat and unattractive. I ended up throwing them out b/c I didn't want to serve them at DD's slumber party. I do feel they would be a cute and fun party food if I could just figure out what I did wrong...lol. I will try again sometime and adjust my review accordingly. Stephanie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2007

      My mom made these as a joke for my Oscar Party. They were a huge hit! Pretty ingenious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2007

      These were a huge hit at my daughter's 12th birthday party. I was able to find fish shaped candies to use that worked out perfectly. I skipped the dried mangoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2007

      This is such a cute idea! DD and her friend did this for a 4-H Working Exhibit at the fair. They got grand champion with it, and went on to get "outstanding" at the state fair. Their booth was always busy and people of all ages were enjoying the treat. Thanks for sharing this wonderful idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2005

      I did not like this recipe. It tasted like twinkies with skin. But one of the people at the party loved it. I'm sure kids would love it too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2005

      I forgot to put on star rating on this the first time. Sorry about that. Bullwinkle

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2005

      I mailed a copy of this to my daughter to make for my grandson's birthday. Well great reviews from children. Parents asked for the recipe over and over. Great treat Great recipe. Hugs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Twinkie Sushi

    Serving Size: 1 (14 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 77.9
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    27%
    Total Fat 0.6 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 66.5 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.0 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 10.3 g
    41%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Hostess Twinkies

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes