Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Twinkie Del Mar Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Twinkie Del Mar

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on January 16, 2001

      I'm pretty sure this recipe is a joke, but I don't want to make it in order to find out ;-). I have with my own eyes seen a version posted on the Hostess pages, but can't find it now. (Which makes me think they decided to take the joke down.) Anyone can post a recipe on Recipezaar, so even the bizarre will show up some times. Wonder when someone will post the "Recipe for Disaster"? ;-) I hope everyone can see the humor in this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2002

      You just need to add a little liquid smoke to this recipe for a finishing touch.......

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2001

      Hi, everybody. I've decided to come clean to the about this recipe. I wrote the original recipe about 2 1/2 years ago as a joke, under my pseudonym "John Mansfield, father of four" and submitted it to Hostess, not expecting them to take it seriously. Well, guess what...Somebody must have been fooled, because it stayed on Twinkie.com for almost a year. When I looked for it today, and couldn't find it, I did a Google search and came to this site. Maybe someday my letters to Proctor Gamble regarding the Legend of Mr. Clean will similarly resurface.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2000

      Dear lord.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2000

      Vastly superior to its bastard cousin the Twinkie Pie, this is a true delight to the "Redneck-chic" cook in all of us. My wife and girlfriends (in Utah, that is) were astounded. How could you possibly combine canned tuna with refined sugar, and then (italics there) add brine! "Recipezaar, baby- who needs the ocean?" Eli Totz

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2001

      My husband wont eat anything good for him, especially not tuna. He is overweight, has high blood pressure, and high cholestrol. I made this for him but didnt tell him it had tuna in it. I also left out the green pepper (he hates those). I put everything in a food processer and PULVERIZED IT (so my husband couldnt possibly recognize the tuna) The next day after soaking in the brine, I baked them in a muffin tin and told my husband they were called 'Brine Muffins'(you know like Bran) HE LOVES THEM! THANK YOU MR. MANSFIELDS FOR MY HUSBANDS HEALTH. He now eats tuna twice a week and doesnt even know it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2001

      How Funny!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2001

      Thanks for the laugh! I emailed this to my boyfriend and told him I'd be making it for supper tonight. I can't wait to hear his response!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2001

      This recipe was listed on the home page as an April Fool recipe. I don't know how anyone could have been upset about it! I think it is a cute joke, because many April Fool's jokes are not cute or funny. Keep up the surprise aspect of baking and cooking.....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2002

      Who would want to contaminate a good twinkie with tuna fish????

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2001

      I used to crave weird things when I was pregnant... but..."I" couldn't even eat this! Oh my!!! So glad it turned out to be a joke!! haha

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2001

      This sounds like something I use to eat back when I'd get the "munchies"! Now, that is desperate!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2001

      This really made me laugh after having a bad day! I couldn't give it more than a 1 star though, due to the sheer grossness of it. But 5 stars for funniness. Would 1 hour in a 450 degree oven burn it?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2001

    • on December 19, 2000

      This recipe sounds interesting except what is the brine made of?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2003

      relax people

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2009

      i've FINALLY found a purrrrrfect recipe to incorporate "fish" into my diet AND the cholesterol count is not so shabby, considering the 12 twinkies in this..thanks much!!..can I freeze the leftovers to serve as dessert the following evening? (twirls her hair)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

      April 1st: I first found this recipe on the back of a can of Little Friskie's Tuna Surprise but lost it when we moved. I'm so glad that this is reposted! My DD's birthday is today and this is her favourite dish! I make enough for the family and our 23 cats when we sit at the dinner table; everybody is licking their lips, and fur, when we're done!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2008

      I was so happy someone decided to post this recipe. It brings back so many memories. My mom used to make this and I had lost the recipe. Thank you so much, Reid. I wish I could give this TEN STARS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2003

      Shew-wee!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Twinkie Del Mar

    Serving Size: 1 (147 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 246.4
     
    Calories from Fat 133
    53%
    Total Fat 14.7 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 7.4 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 68.8 mg
    22%
    Sodium 123.2 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.8 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 25.4 g
    50%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Hostess Twinkies

    brine

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes