28 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made as written for RSC #15, we really enjoyed these twice-baked potatoes & I esp like their make-ahead option. While the potatoes were baking, I combined the remaining ingredients & made quick work of the rest of the prep when they were done. They were creamy-rich w/o being overly so, had a perfect balance of flavors & were surprisingly low-cal & low fat. DH is predictable & rarely given to 5* ratings, but it was quick & easy for him w/this recipe. Merely as a comment & not meant as a negative, he mentioned that crumbled bacon would be good as an opt add & it pleased me that he is beginnging to think as I often do. Thx for sharing your recipe w/us & good luck in the contest. It could be you! - Edited to Add that I re-made your recipe w/bacon added & used a pie-plate presentation for a family dinner party. Pic posted.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis August 11, 2014

Great potatoes! Liked the smoke flavor and went great with our steak and Creamy zucchini casserole.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound August 10, 2014

These potatoes were awesome. So much flavor and the textures were outstanding. My very picky dh loved these tasty spuds. They were so easy to make with excellent results. The potatoes were rich, light, creamy and full of flavor. Made exactly as written, but did omit the green onions. These delicious potatoes are certainly worth the extra effort. Give them a try, you won't be sorry. Made for Spring Pac 2014.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato May 07, 2014

You can never go wrong with twice baked potatoes! I did make some Changes: I added 4 slices of bacon, extra milk (for right consistency), substituted 1/4 tsp garlic powder for the roasted garlic cloves, almost doubled the cheese, and omitted the green onions. Next time I would reduce the amount of thyme and mash the potatoes a little better. I have a bunch in the freezer now and I can't wait to try them in the next few weeks! Made for Zee Zany Zesty Cookzzzzzzz ZWT6.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Virginia Cherry Blossom June 13, 2010

These potatoes were amazing!!! I didn't use paprika because I didn't have any so I'll be sure to add it next time as instructed. I also forgot the sour cream and milk LOL. They still turned out really good! I just had a hyper three year old to chase while I was in the middle of making them :) I also had some bacon that needed to be cooked up so I cut it into cubes and cooked that up and added it to the potatoes. It was GREAT! Will definitely make again and won't leave out any ingredients this time!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs Dockter April 27, 2010

easy peasy tastes great cakepops on parade

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dienia B. September 15, 2014

I made this dish for dinner... although I cheated a wee bit. I did not make this as twice baked potatoes (although I'm sure they would be just as good, and I plan to try that in the future). I made them (per instructions) into just regular ol' mashed potatoes! I did put them into a casserole dish and baked them for a short amount of time (adding a sprinkle more cheddar cheese to the top, of course). Hubby & I enjoyed these very much. I found this to be very similar to my family recipe for garlic mashed potatoes. I will definitely try it as "loaded baked potatoes", but for now I'm happy with the regular mashed. The green onions sprinkled thru-out the potatoes and then some as garnish on top (along with the pretty paprika), made it lovely. These will be on our Thanksgiving Day table this year. Thanks for the yummy recipe, Susie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosie316 October 22, 2013

Yummy potatoes! I love the creaminess and richness that the cream cheese adds. I don't care for raw onion so left them out and topped with a little parsley along with the paprika. The garlic and thyme are great additions as well. Easy and delicious - thanks for sharing the recipe! Made for Spring Pick-A-Chef 2013

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof April 05, 2013

Lovely potatoes with a great amount of flavor. I would say everything but the kitchen sink is added in here! The roasted garlic cloves and the smoked paprika gave the potatoes a wonderful, smoky flavor that was a real treat. Thanks for sharing this easy-to-make recipe! Made for Fall PAC 2012.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieOhNo! October 29, 2012

Yum! These are so flavorful and delicious. The combo of using a little of each of the cream cheese, butter, sour cream, and milk really added to the flavor and consistency. Thanks for sharing! Veggie Swap 42

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews January 31, 2012
Twice Baked Potatoes