Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Twice Baked Mini Potato Dauphinoise - Potato Gratin Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Twice Baked Mini Potato Dauphinoise - Potato Gratin Muffins

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on August 26, 2009

      Just served these for a dinner party and they were a hit. Used Yukon Gold potatoes, non-fat sour cream, and lined the jumbo muffin tins with a strip of Quick Release aluminum foil which made it a breeze to remove the potatoes. Prepared them the day before and wrapped and refrigerated until it was time to pop them in the oven. Removed them and placed them on a serving tray and kept them in a warming oven until it was time to serve. They are delicious, elegant and different. Thank you for a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      First let me say, it is very hard to find "emmenthaler cheese" in small town Oklahoma, but strangely enough there was Danish Fontina. And, Creme Fraiche was not available either surprisingly. So, with my Danish Fontina and Sour Cream as substitutes, I made what is now one of my favorite potato gratins ever! Hubby loved it and he is really not much of a potato person. This will be a regular feature at our dinners from now on. Thx!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

      Reduced this recipe down to two 8 oz ramekins - used sour cream and fresh mozzarella, topping with a bit of cheddar. Excellent as written otherwise with a nice crust on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2009

      This was not only easy, but so good, I had to write a review. I used sour cream and turned the oven down after 30 min to 250 because the cheese was getting too dark. I also made them in a muffin top pan so they were quite a bit thinner but nice and crunchy. Amazing and a great side dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      Ooooh. Nice. Had people racing to get more and snatching up the leftovers next day. Will make again for certain. Served at a dinner party and made just as directed, no changes. Made some with Yukon Gold and some with Russets and I definitely prefer the Yukons. Mine came out without sticking - I used disposable jumbo muffin tins and sprayed the heck out of them AND used parchment (which I also sprayed). TRY THIS. It is no fuss and superb. Thanks, French Tart, for a true winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2010

      This was amazing! I love how it looks like I spent ages in the kitchen making something fancy, which is nowhere near the truth! I plan to make these as written next time to try it, but I had to make do with what was in my pantry since I made this last minute--I came across the recipe and couldn't wait! I made it with sour cream and grated fresh parmesan, which was amazing. I already had my main course already in the oven, so I opted to slice raw potato into almost se-through slices on my mandoline. Excellent! If I could give this more than 4 stars, I would!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      Just finished baking these for Christmas brunch tomorrow. They look ADORABLE! I know everyone will be impressed! I used Yukon Gold potatoes and sliced them thinly by hand. We bought VERY large potatoes and they made FAR too much for individual muffin cups. I would suggest buying potatoes no larger than 4 inches long and slicing them with a mandolin (cooked) or with a food processor (raw). Delightful presentation and one that will WOW your guests!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2010

      These are fantastic, I plan on making them again with Prime Rib for Christmas dinner. For those who have problems cutting cooked potatoes just put them in the fridge until cold and then they slice easily.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2010

      So, I saw this recipe several years ago and added it to my cookbook but never made it because I felt intimidated. I decided that since I had potatoes and sour cream on hand, I'd bite the bullet! My DH sliced uncooked potatoes on the mandolin slicer (simply because I couldn't figure out how to slice cooked potatoes without having them crumble on me) for me. I also took some of the other reviewers' comments about it being too bland. I minced garlic and put aside in a bowl. In another small bowl, I mixed together salt, pepper, nutmeg, and paprika. I followed the directions for assembly and put a dollop of sour cream on top. Since the directions did not say to spread out the cream, I left it in the middle and then sprinkled Parmesan cheese (since I was using only what we had on hand) all over the top. This dish looks and smells divine!! Thanks for sharing it FT! I served it with a home baked honey baked ham, and with homemade bread (another recipe by FT #340621 ). A wonderful, comforting dinner!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2010

      I was sure I had submitted a review for these WONDERFUL potatoes previously -- but I must have done it in my dreams! And speaking of dreams -- these are totally "dreamy"! They are very easy to make and the finished product is so luscious. I have made them several times -- sticking to the recipe as written. What a nice variation from the plain ol' baked potato. Thanks, Karen -- these are heavenly!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2010

      These weren't for us. Didn't have the pop of flavor we were looking for. I also had trouble slicing the potatoes after they had already been cooked. They just sort of crumbled. Thank you for giving us something new to try.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2010

      Delicious! I used yukon gold potatoes and subbed cheeses that I had on hand (fresh parmesan, swiss & mozzarella) and I added cream cheese to the sour cream. The nutmeg adds an amazing quality along with the garlic - can't wait to make these again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2009

      This was very good. The hubby and I loved them. Made them in a regular muffin pan. The only thing I will do different next time is to put in the liner as you suggested. Thanks for the recipe FT I love making your recipes they never fail.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2007

      These were delicious. I made a huge batch and froze them to take on a family weekend. All 16 people gave rave reviews. My only query would be how to make 1 clove of galic stretch? I ended up using 5 cloves for 12 muffins.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2007

      Very, very handy to have on hand; good, good flavor! Better as leftovers! 5 stars here!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2014

      This recipe was fun and easy to make. I also used Yukon potatoes (no peels to remove) and made my own creme fraiche. I substituted Irish Dubliner cheese because there was some leftover from St. Patrick's Day. Muffin tins were buttered and piece of parchment paper on the bottom. It's best to let the potatoes sit for at least 10 minutes after removing from over or they will fall apart. Will make again soon! Prepared for Make My Recipe Downunder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2012

      I also had some issues with this recipe; mine also turned out on the dry/tasteless side, but I am thinking the trick is in how you cook the potatoes to begin with. I cooked mine in an oven for about 45 minutes (they were on the smallish side), and when I tried slicing them on my mandoline they turned into a crumbly mess. So! I think the mandoline only works when the potatoes start out raw. I think the recipe has potential, so I will try it again, but next time I will try parboiling the potatoes first. Also I prefer my potato gratin to be a little juicier? so I will make some cheesy type sauce to put in between the layers of potatoes. I think I want to add a few more spices as well... not sure yet which ones; have to do some research on potato dishes. Otherwise, it was very visually pretty; when I make them next time I think I will flip them upside down on the plate, and pour a little cheesy sauce and chives on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2011

      Made these tonight with lite sour cream and fiesta cheese blend. Steamed the potatoes in a steamer bag for four -five minutes. Used a serated blade to slice them. Baked them in silicone cupcake cups. They turned out tasty and looked beautiful. My husband ate three and he is not a potato lover. Will defininately make this again. Plan to make several batches ahead, freeze, and then bake for potluck supper. This is something differant and eloquent to bring.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2010

      Yikes, I don't know why mine came out so awfully, they were dry and tasteless. I had used baked potatoes and put them together exactly as the recipe stated, with sour cream and emmenthaler cheese...I won't be tring these again :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2010

    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Twice Baked Mini Potato Dauphinoise - Potato Gratin Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (404 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 658.5
     
    Calories from Fat 232
    35%
    Total Fat 25.7 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 16.0 g
    80%
    Cholesterol 81.5 mg
    27%
    Sodium 148.8 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 98.2 g
    32%
    Dietary Fiber 12.2 g
    48%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 12.1 g
    24%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    emmenthaler cheese

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites