36 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Reduced this recipe down to two 8 oz ramekins - used sour cream and fresh mozzarella, topping with a bit of cheddar. Excellent as written otherwise with a nice crust on top.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marcoandrita November 09, 2009

Just served these for a dinner party and they were a hit. Used Yukon Gold potatoes, non-fat sour cream, and lined the jumbo muffin tins with a strip of Quick Release aluminum foil which made it a breeze to remove the potatoes. Prepared them the day before and wrapped and refrigerated until it was time to pop them in the oven. Removed them and placed them on a serving tray and kept them in a warming oven until it was time to serve. They are delicious, elegant and different. Thank you for a winner!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annabelle P August 26, 2009

First let me say, it is very hard to find "emmenthaler cheese" in small town Oklahoma, but strangely enough there was Danish Fontina. And, Creme Fraiche was not available either surprisingly. So, with my Danish Fontina and Sour Cream as substitutes, I made what is now one of my favorite potato gratins ever! Hubby loved it and he is really not much of a potato person. This will be a regular feature at our dinners from now on. Thx!!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fronie January 13, 2010

This was not only easy, but so good, I had to write a review. I used sour cream and turned the oven down after 30 min to 250 because the cheese was getting too dark. I also made them in a muffin top pan so they were quite a bit thinner but nice and crunchy. Amazing and a great side dish.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Skoonr Chef December 09, 2009

Ooooh. Nice. Had people racing to get more and snatching up the leftovers next day. Will make again for certain. Served at a dinner party and made just as directed, no changes. Made some with Yukon Gold and some with Russets and I definitely prefer the Yukons. Mine came out without sticking - I used disposable jumbo muffin tins and sprayed the heck out of them AND used parchment (which I also sprayed). TRY THIS. It is no fuss and superb. Thanks, French Tart, for a true winner.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Messy44 December 22, 2008

This was amazing! I love how it looks like I spent ages in the kitchen making something fancy, which is nowhere near the truth! I plan to make these as written next time to try it, but I had to make do with what was in my pantry since I made this last minute--I came across the recipe and couldn't wait! I made it with sour cream and grated fresh parmesan, which was amazing. I already had my main course already in the oven, so I opted to slice raw potato into almost se-through slices on my mandoline. Excellent! If I could give this more than 4 stars, I would!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yellow_apple30 February 22, 2010

These are fantastic, I plan on making them again with Prime Rib for Christmas dinner. For those who have problems cutting cooked potatoes just put them in the fridge until cold and then they slice easily.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NillaWafer December 23, 2010

So, I saw this recipe several years ago and added it to my cookbook but never made it because I felt intimidated. I decided that since I had potatoes and sour cream on hand, I'd bite the bullet! My DH sliced uncooked potatoes on the mandolin slicer (simply because I couldn't figure out how to slice cooked potatoes without having them crumble on me) for me. I also took some of the other reviewers' comments about it being too bland. I minced garlic and put aside in a bowl. In another small bowl, I mixed together salt, pepper, nutmeg, and paprika. I followed the directions for assembly and put a dollop of sour cream on top. Since the directions did not say to spread out the cream, I left it in the middle and then sprinkled Parmesan cheese (since I was using only what we had on hand) all over the top. This dish looks and smells divine!! Thanks for sharing it FT! I served it with a home baked honey baked ham, and with homemade bread (another recipe by FT #340621 ). A wonderful, comforting dinner!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flirtyfunchick December 20, 2010

Delicious! I used yukon gold potatoes and subbed cheeses that I had on hand (fresh parmesan, swiss & mozzarella) and I added cream cheese to the sour cream. The nutmeg adds an amazing quality along with the garlic - can't wait to make these again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tquinkert September 28, 2010

Just finished baking these for Christmas brunch tomorrow. They look ADORABLE! I know everyone will be impressed! I used Yukon Gold potatoes and sliced them thinly by hand. We bought VERY large potatoes and they made FAR too much for individual muffin cups. I would suggest buying potatoes no larger than 4 inches long and slicing them with a mandolin (cooked) or with a food processor (raw). Delightful presentation and one that will WOW your guests!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ms.susan December 24, 2009
Twice Baked Mini Potato Dauphinoise - Potato Gratin Muffins