Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tvp Vegan Sloppy Joes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tvp Vegan Sloppy Joes

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on April 29, 2007

      I really enjoyed this. Can't quite convince my DH to try much of anything with TVP, but I liked it! :) The flavor & consistency were good. I halved the recipe & followed mostly as written, although I just eyeballed all of the seasonings. It was also really easy to make. I'm looking forward to leftovers later this week. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2014

      I switched this up a bit, but i think it was GREAT!!! First of all, I cut the recipe in half which made 5 nice size sandwiches. I added 1 grated carrot (extra veggie oomph). Also took the suggestion of others and subbed out about 1/3 of the tomato sauce with ketchup. I also added a couple shakes of cinnamon (GREAT addition), subbed Stevia for the sugar, subbed Braggs for the soy (and doubled the amt), added a little vinegar for tang, added 1 T of BBQ sauce for smoke flavor and added some garlic powder. Awesome stuff and the leftovers on day two were almost better than on day one. Thanks for posting. UPDATE: I made this again today and again made a half a batch. I used ketchup like I did last time and instead of 1.25 cups, I used 1 cup of ketchup and 1/4 cup of BBQ. It tastes really good but made it a bit too sweet. I also had too much sauce. So next time I will go with 3/4 cups ketchup and 1T BBQ and see what happens for a half a batch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2013

      I halved the recipe and added 2-3 Tbsp of homemade barbecue sauce. I didn't have prepared mustard so I added 1 tsp of ground mustard. It was super easy to make - great for a weeknight. My husband, a reluctant vegan, said, "This is delicious!" I served it on rolls, but I think it would make a good topping for rice too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2013

      I made this tonight with a few of the recommendations of others, i.e., added ketchup for 1/2 of the tomato sauce (and I used crushed tomatoes instead of tomato sauce, since that's all I had handy), added splashes of: balsamic vinegar, liquid smoke, Sweet Baby Rays bbq sauce. I also used a combo of red and yellow peppers, and added a TBS of Vegetarian Instant "Chicken" Base to the boiling water. This is the first time I cooked with TVP and I cannot tell you how much I loved this recipe. My meat-eating husband enjoyed it as well and he said he would like to have his over brown rice. This will be in my rotation for sure. Thank you for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2013

      Made this just as written for a good, easy game-day meal. Hit with the kids and grown ups alike. Our non-vegan guests even liked it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2011

      These were really good! I used have tomato sauce and half ketchup like the others and it turned out very tasty. I would make these again because it was pretty cheap and easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2010

    • on December 03, 2010

      I really like this recipe, however I find that it makes more of a TVP chili than a sloppy joe. Still yummy, though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2010

      I made this tonight. I used half ketchup and half tomato sauce like the others. The only thing I did not like was the mustard. I only had dijon and with just a dab it overshadowed the tomato taste. I will definitely add this to my book of recipes but next time no mustard for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2010

      Awesome recipe!! I tweaked it a little bit, I used 1/2 a red pepper instead of a green pepper, mostly because that is what I had left in the fridge. I didn't really measure my olive oil and think I got a little more than I needed but it isn't too bad. Due to some of the other reviewers' comments I used a 15 oz can of tomato sauce and then used ketchup (Hunt's No Corn Syrup brand) to come to 2 1/2 cups. I used tamari instead of soy sauce, just because I had it on hand. Also, instead of a tablespoon of sugar I used a "handgrab" of organic light brown sugar. And I used 1 Tbs. of chili powder. Can't wait to try more of happy_vegan's recipes. Thanks so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2010

      Longtime favorite, was going to post it myself till I saw you did. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2010

    • on January 10, 2010

      I altered your recipe a bit and did half ketchup, half tomato sauce as someone else had suggested. It was wonderful, we had it on whole wheat light buns ... yum

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

      This is a great recipe. This is my first time using TVP and I couldn't have pick a better recipe to try it with.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      These were ok. I've never had a Manwich, so I can't say how similar the taste is. This recipe is cheap, easy, and makes tons! All good things in my book :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2008

      I tasted this as it was in the final process of simmering, and it didn't taste right to me. I was looking for the familiar 'manwich' tasting sloppy joe, and something seemed missing. I added about .5 teaspoon garlic powder and 3 generous squirts of ketchup and that helped out a lot. Good basic recipe using tvp, but I would substitute ketchup for half of the tomato sauce. I guess what it real y needed was more sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2008

      AMAZING!!! Beats the hell outa Manwich!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2008

      Very flavorful, simple, and healthy ... my favorite combinations for foods! Only non-fan was an adolescent boy whose main urges are for hamburgers and pizza, so anything other than a big ol' ground-up steak wouldn't do. The rest of us "normal folks" were BIG fans. Freezes, and reheats, beautifully. Wonderful over the "Texas Toast Garlic Cheese Bread" from the freezer, also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2007

      This was indeed really easy; just chop and simmer! I was looking for a way to use up my package of TVP, and this was a great way to do it. Even my omnivorous parents seemed to like this. Crazy! I always used the same veggie sloppy joe recipe before, but now I'll add this one to the mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tvp Vegan Sloppy Joes

    Serving Size: 1 (171 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 71.3
     
    Calories from Fat 34
    47%
    Total Fat 3.7 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 858.0 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.1 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    9%
    Sugars 6.2 g
    24%
    Protein 1.8 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    textured vegetable protein

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites