Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / TVP and Cashew BBQ, Vegan Delight Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    TVP and Cashew BBQ, Vegan Delight

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on April 05, 2003

      this was great - I thought that the cashews threw the texture off a bit, but I liked the TASTE so much that I added about two tablespoons of cashew butter instead, gave it a great consistancy (but not TOO creamy) YUM! my vegan bf loved it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2003

      Yeah for a good TVP recipe! I have a similar recipe for making vegan "sloppy joes" but I love the BBQ sauce in this recipe and the cashews really add a nice toothsomeness to each bite. It's a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2012

      This was great! It is a perfect recipe for someone who doesn't care too much for meat, is very active and tends to have lower iron levels. Unfortunately, I have to go gluten-free, and I refuse to pay $6 for a loaf of bread or package of rolls that taste horrible, so I had to try it sans bread. By itself...it was wonderful! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2010

    • on January 06, 2010

      This was wonderful. I had long been in search of some good TVP recipes, and this is both very tasty, and very easy. I didn't use quite so much barbeque sauce, as I found it was fine with less. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      I never thought I would hear my quasi-vegetarian husband say "I love TVP" but this recipe did the trick. I've made it several times, each to rave reviews and minimal leftovers. The last few times, I've added a can of diced tomatoes and spiced it up a bit more with cumin, chili powder, and cayenne pepper. Thanks Karyl for a deliciously inexpensive meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2008

      I am just transitioning from an omni to a vegan diet and I have never eaten nor cooked with TVP before. I made this for my boyfriend (skeptic) and myself exactly as the recipe called for but I did add a little liquid smoke. This was very good and the left overs were even better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2008

      This was my first attempt at cooking TVP and I was pleased. I made a few modifications: I forgot to add the garlic, used dijon mustard instead of yellow and did not add salt. This did not take nearly as long as it said it would. From start to finish it took me 20 minutes max. The TVP swelled and cooked really quickly. Also, I would say this makes more like 4 servings instead of 6. Great recipe, I'll definitely be making it again. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2008

      I wanted to try cooking with TVP for the first time and found this recipe as a result. Great mix of flavors! Next time, I'll use less BBQ, but that's just personal preference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2006

      This turned out great, hubby was very impressed. Served whith home-made whole wheat buns and a side of fresh snap peas. This is a perfect week night meal. Thanks for posting, we'll make again for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2006

      I was VERY impressed. I subbed in green chilies as everyone here hates green peppers. I doubled the recipe and added one cup of water ( total ) and a mix of sweet and mesquite BBQ sauces. This will be a staple for my veggie stepdaughter. Thanks for a really winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for TVP and Cashew BBQ, Vegan Delight

    Serving Size: 1 (115 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 273.1
     
    Calories from Fat 90
    33%
    Total Fat 10.0 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 561.0 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.5 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 14.5 g
    58%
    Protein 5.5 g
    11%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    textured vegetable protein

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites