11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

this was great - I thought that the cashews threw the texture off a bit, but I liked the TASTE so much that I added about two tablespoons of cashew butter instead, gave it a great consistancy (but not TOO creamy) YUM! my vegan bf loved it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carley king April 05, 2003

Yeah for a good TVP recipe! I have a similar recipe for making vegan "sloppy joes" but I love the BBQ sauce in this recipe and the cashews really add a nice toothsomeness to each bite. It's a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rsarahl March 22, 2003

This was great! It is a perfect recipe for someone who doesn't care too much for meat, is very active and tends to have lower iron levels. Unfortunately, I have to go gluten-free, and I refuse to pay $6 for a loaf of bread or package of rolls that taste horrible, so I had to try it sans bread. By itself...it was wonderful! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ba1974 April 08, 2012

This was wonderful. I had long been in search of some good TVP recipes, and this is both very tasty, and very easy. I didn't use quite so much barbeque sauce, as I found it was fine with less. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NoName12345 January 06, 2010

I never thought I would hear my quasi-vegetarian husband say "I love TVP" but this recipe did the trick. I've made it several times, each to rave reviews and minimal leftovers. The last few times, I've added a can of diced tomatoes and spiced it up a bit more with cumin, chili powder, and cayenne pepper. Thanks Karyl for a deliciously inexpensive meal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Veggie_Girl December 28, 2009

I am just transitioning from an omni to a vegan diet and I have never eaten nor cooked with TVP before. I made this for my boyfriend (skeptic) and myself exactly as the recipe called for but I did add a little liquid smoke. This was very good and the left overs were even better!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
missbobbielynn December 10, 2008

This was my first attempt at cooking TVP and I was pleased. I made a few modifications: I forgot to add the garlic, used dijon mustard instead of yellow and did not add salt. This did not take nearly as long as it said it would. From start to finish it took me 20 minutes max. The TVP swelled and cooked really quickly. Also, I would say this makes more like 4 servings instead of 6. Great recipe, I'll definitely be making it again. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zaar junkie May 10, 2008

I wanted to try cooking with TVP for the first time and found this recipe as a result. Great mix of flavors! Next time, I'll use less BBQ, but that's just personal preference.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Willing To Try Anything April 20, 2008

This turned out great, hubby was very impressed. Served whith home-made whole wheat buns and a side of fresh snap peas. This is a perfect week night meal. Thanks for posting, we'll make again for sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VegSocialWorker June 06, 2006
TVP and Cashew BBQ, Vegan Delight