10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Stunning! Did you know that dark chocolate is also loaded with fiber. A fantastic surprise, no?

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng December 25, 2011

I bake a lot for friends and family, and this is among the top three most requested of my menu of cakes. It is not too rich, not too sweet, presents beautifully and is absolutely delicious!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peachy Chef November 18, 2011

This cake is amazing. I am a baker in a restaurant and this cake sells like crazy as well as being a personal favorite. Delicious chocolate flavor, just enough sweetness and not too heavy. A winner all around.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blessedbyabunch_2791466 November 20, 2010

i made this cake in culinary class, in high school, and it was probably the best cake i've ever made a tasted. it was really moist and the frosting and glaze went perfectly with it. not too sweet which is good because i can't eat real sweet icing. i will definatly make this cake again and again. it takes a while for the finished product but well worth it

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
XtormentedX April 01, 2007

Do not let all the ingredients and steps in this cake turn you away. It is so good and such a beautiful cake. Just like the other reviewer said, not too sweet perfect. I made it for my niece's christening and it was a huge hit. Everyone that it was from a bakery, I even had a person tell me it was the best chocolate cake they ever had. My only suggestions is to make sure to use the bakers joy so that the cake does not stick when flipping it over. I also had to let it cool longer than the suggested time because it was not ready yet. Honestly, such a delicious and impressive looking cake, I cannot wait to make it again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MoMoTaps February 25, 2012

I baked this as a special treat for my son-in-law and everyone at the party said it was probably the best cake they had ever eaten!! The recipe was clear and uncomplicated, the ingredients readily available (even the Lyles Golden Syrup), and was surprisingly easy to make. I did it in 3 layers and recommend that. It looks more impressive and affords more even distribution of the icing. Thank you thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gramy24 February 13, 2011

I made this cake for Thanksgiving----Oh my gosh!!!!!!!! SO GOOD AND EASY! Alot easier than it sounds, turned out so pretty. Thanks Peggy for sharing this recipe--A TEXAS HILL COUNTRY GIRL

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elva H July 02, 2007

This is a beautiful cake. Do not let the long instructions turn you off. It all mixes together fast and is one of the easier cakes I've made. Its not sickenly sweet like some chocolate cakes. It was amazing! Beautiful presentation. And it makes you look like a professional. The only problem I had was that I only had 3 eight inch round pans and it was way too much batter. It needs the actual 9 inch pans or two ten inch pans like it says. (I thought my pans were 9 inch mistakenly, so if your not sure, make sure you measure!) So I had to scoop a lot of the batter out into cupcakes which were awesome by the way! Definitely need to try if you like chocolate cake. Awesome cake! Thanks so much for posting Peggy Lynn!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef of 5 May 19, 2012

This cake is so impressive and has amazing flavor! It goes down smoooooth! the cake is moist but not too sweet. The chocolote topping is where all the sweet is, so it's not overwhelming!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cafegirl April 27, 2007
Tuxedo Cake