18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A nice and different tuna salad. I put a mixture of lettuce, shredded carrot and shredded red cabbage on the bottom and then the mixture of tomatoes, beans, tuna and onions (mixed with the dressing) on top. Very pretty presentation. I did end up adding a bit more vinegar and some Greek seasoning to boost the flavor. I think I would like it better with a balsamic dressing. THANKS for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride August 31, 2009

I made this for a cooking class at the diet center I work at and everyone really enjoyed it! The only thing I changed was green onions for the red ones. Also used albacore tuna. Thanks Luv for a great salad!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PrimQuilter June 22, 2009

This was a very nice salad but unfortunately I didnt care for the beans on it as much as I thought I would. Used a bag of romaine salad mix, a pouch of lemon pepper tuna. Instead of the water in the dressing I did use the extra olive oil and a tad bit more of the dijon mustard. Next time I will use green onions instead of the red for a milder onion flavor. Made and reviewed for the Diabetic Forums "Come to a Garden Party" Recipe Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 July 02, 2012

Very good salad. I didn't have tomato so added cucumber. Let it chill for an hour and enjoyed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound July 23, 2011

I used a spring mix and green onions to make this delicious, high fiber salad. This makes a summer dinner super quick.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG August 24, 2010

I have made this recipe as stated several times and we really enjoy it. I took JanuaryBride's suggestion and used balsamic vinegar instead of red wine vinegar. I also added Italian seasoning. DH and I enjoyed it even more with the changes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
homerlekites February 20, 2010

I've been serving this salad for years and it's ALWAYS a big hit. I add cherry tomatoes and use bagged Italian blend salad mix. When in a real hurry, you can substitute Newman's Own Balsamic - it tastes great. I also sprinkle fresh parmesan over the top. A great side is french bread spread with veggie cream cheese, sprinkled with fresh parmesan, and broiled until bubbly. IT'S DELICIOUS!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ckbiscoe June 04, 2009

I have been making this recipe for over a year and should have reviewed it long ago. Although I usually tinker with recipes, this one is excellent exactly as written. It is quick to make and the blend of flavors is superb. This is great for a quick supper in the summer but also is wonderful the rest of the year. The only thing I do differently is to put the lettuce on the plate and then spoon the rest of the salad mixture over the lettuce, then pour the dressing over top of it all, just personal preference and to me a nicer presentation.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katie from PA April 15, 2009

I made this to take to the office for lunch, minus the lettuce. I just mixed everything up exactly as instructed in a large container, and thoroughly enjoyed it (almost all week!) for my lunch. I love fresh dill, and the Dijon added just the right contrast. I will definitely make this again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieOhNo! September 18, 2008

Very good. I scaled back to half and used fresh basil and oregano instead of dill. I used olive oil in the dressing. The dijon gave it a nice edge. Very tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens July 09, 2008
Tuscan Tuna Salad