Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tuscan Tuna Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tuscan Tuna Salad

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on August 31, 2009

      A nice and different tuna salad. I put a mixture of lettuce, shredded carrot and shredded red cabbage on the bottom and then the mixture of tomatoes, beans, tuna and onions (mixed with the dressing) on top. Very pretty presentation. I did end up adding a bit more vinegar and some Greek seasoning to boost the flavor. I think I would like it better with a balsamic dressing. THANKS for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2009

      I made this for a cooking class at the diet center I work at and everyone really enjoyed it! The only thing I changed was green onions for the red ones. Also used albacore tuna. Thanks Luv for a great salad!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2012

      This was a very nice salad but unfortunately I didnt care for the beans on it as much as I thought I would. Used a bag of romaine salad mix, a pouch of lemon pepper tuna. Instead of the water in the dressing I did use the extra olive oil and a tad bit more of the dijon mustard. Next time I will use green onions instead of the red for a milder onion flavor. Made and reviewed for the Diabetic Forums "Come to a Garden Party" Recipe Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2011

      Very good salad. I didn't have tomato so added cucumber. Let it chill for an hour and enjoyed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2010

      I used a spring mix and green onions to make this delicious, high fiber salad. This makes a summer dinner super quick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      I have made this recipe as stated several times and we really enjoy it. I took JanuaryBride's suggestion and used balsamic vinegar instead of red wine vinegar. I also added Italian seasoning. DH and I enjoyed it even more with the changes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2009

      I've been serving this salad for years and it's ALWAYS a big hit. I add cherry tomatoes and use bagged Italian blend salad mix. When in a real hurry, you can substitute Newman's Own Balsamic - it tastes great. I also sprinkle fresh parmesan over the top. A great side is french bread spread with veggie cream cheese, sprinkled with fresh parmesan, and broiled until bubbly. IT'S DELICIOUS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2009

      I have been making this recipe for over a year and should have reviewed it long ago. Although I usually tinker with recipes, this one is excellent exactly as written. It is quick to make and the blend of flavors is superb. This is great for a quick supper in the summer but also is wonderful the rest of the year. The only thing I do differently is to put the lettuce on the plate and then spoon the rest of the salad mixture over the lettuce, then pour the dressing over top of it all, just personal preference and to me a nicer presentation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2008

      I made this to take to the office for lunch, minus the lettuce. I just mixed everything up exactly as instructed in a large container, and thoroughly enjoyed it (almost all week!) for my lunch. I love fresh dill, and the Dijon added just the right contrast. I will definitely make this again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2008

      Very good. I scaled back to half and used fresh basil and oregano instead of dill. I used olive oil in the dressing. The dijon gave it a nice edge. Very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2008

      My husband doesn't like white beans. But he ate this with a smile and actually enjoyed it very much. I already knew I would like this, but it's even better than I thought. This is a keeper! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2008

      My family enjoyed this quite a bit, although I might try to punch up the flavor a touch. I only had romaine on hand but I'll try a mix of greens next time. I doubled the sauce based on other reviews and used about 6 cups of greens and thought there was enough sauce. We don't eat tomatoes so I used red pepper instead. It was simple, inexpensive and quite satisfying with some freshly baked bread on the side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2008

      I liked this, but it definitely needed more sauce. I doubled it and added salt, pepper, fresh dill and a bit of lemon. I also added chopped artichoke hearts and beans i cooked. I will make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2007

      Very good. I used spinach only and instead of the Dijon mustard I subbed a tbsp. of Whole Foods' Chipotle Ranch salad dressing. The switch was very good. I'll make the recipe again, but it wasn't a favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2006

      We had this salad for dinner on a day when the temp had reached 100. It's easy, thrifty, fast to prepare and the flavors work wonderfully together. I used Vidalia onion (and added a little more to compensate for the milder flavor) because that's what I had. The red onion would have been prettier. This is definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2006

      This salad is fantastic! Light and refreshing. The proportions of ingredients are perfect. The dressing is light and subtle and really accents the salad nicely. I'm going to make this often. Thanx for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2006

      This is very good! I used dried oregano because I was out of dill but it didn't seem to hurt the recipe. I made up the salad without the lettuce, then served it on the lettuce leaves so it would keep longer in the fridge without making the lettuce soggy. A great meal and is wonderful with whole grain crackers on the side. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2005

      Lovely lunch today! Very tasty salad, we especially enjoyed the dressing. Just made half a recipe for the two of us and we will make it again. Subed black beans for the great northern, cus that's what I had in. Loved the combination of black beans and tuna complimented by the lovely dressing!! Thanks for posting a repeater!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tuscan Tuna Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (230 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 273.1
     
    Calories from Fat 64
    23%
    Total Fat 7.1 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 24.9 mg
    8%
    Sodium 301.1 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.3 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 9.4 g
    37%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 24.8 g
    49%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites