Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tuscan Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tuscan Soup

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on May 27, 2010

      Followed the recipe note for note and liked the result. I might have over seasoned with pepper a bit because they Soup did have a bit of heat to it. Like others I will try mild sausage next time and will see how that strikes me. Either way this is a good soup and worth tinkering with.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2009

      This soup was okay but missing something. One reviewer suggested maybe it was because she used mild sausage but I used fresh homemade hot italian sausage and it was still missing something.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2008

      It was ok, but like one reviewer said, it seemed to need something else. I followed the recipe exactly, except for substituting cream for the milk. I also only had mild sausages, because we don't like the hot stuff. Perhaps the spicy sausage is the "oomph" that I missed? Still, it is an easy and relatively quick soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2007

      Outstanding indeed. I love this. I changed a few things in that I added a little basil and oregano as well as some garlic salt and ground red pepper for a little extra flavor. I sliced the potatoes thin instead of cubed. I also used kale instead of the spinach and half-and-half for the evaporated milk. Turned out just like what I was looking for. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2007

      Awesome soup! Husband loves it and so do I. Reheats and freezes nicely. I recently had my mother in law over for dinner for the first time and this is what I made. Now if that doesn't convince you that it's a)easy to make, and b)impressive on the taste buds...I don't know what will!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2007

      This was really good. I added 2 cloves of garlis and about 4-5 leaves of fresh basil. I also used fresh spinach straight from the garden. I also used mild sausage as I couldn't find the spicey stuff:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2007

      This soup is absolutely wonderful. It's not often that there is a discussion around the dinner table about who is going to get the last bit of soup but this inspired a discussion. This recipe goes straight into "make often" category. I did make some slight changes. I added 2 minced garlic cloves, about a teaspoon of dried basil leaves and substituted 2% milk for the evaporated. In the future I will make one more change...double the recipe! Thank you, KelBel!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2007

      I made this tonight for a meal I could freeze because I will be having a baby this week! Anyway it was very good! I also added red pepper flakes and will add garlic next time as well! I do hope that freezing it will turn out okay! It is a great soup

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2007

      A delicious soup! I used half and half instead of the evaporated milk. Thanks, KelBel.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2007

      Wow, what a "souper" soup, add some fresh bread and you've got a meal. It truly does taste like the Olive Garden's soup. I had to make a few changes....instead of sausage links, I used Bob Evan's Italian sausage in a tube and doubled the broth to use the whole tube up. Because the meat wasn't spicy, I added red pepper flakes to taste while I browned it with the onions. I didn't have cans of broth, so I used 13 bouillon cubes with 12 cups of water. Used 10 oz. fresh spinach and 3/4 cup evaporated milk. Didn't need any extra salt or pepper. So easy to make. My husband loved it and so did I.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2007

      Very very good soup. Instead of evaporated milk, I used some half and half I had on hand. We didn't have any leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2007

      I've never had the soup at Olive Garden, but this was fabulous!!! I used a 49.5 oz can of chicken broth, 4 mild sausages (because I couldn't just leave a lonely one in the package), 1 1/2 cups of frozen southern style hashbrown potatoes (little cubes), and a 12 oz can of evaporated milk. Threw everything into the crockpot after the sausage and onions were cooked and let it go for 4 hours on low. Perfect for a winter Sunday afternoon. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2007

      Delicious. I added pepper flakes and 1 can of white canellini beans. There was no leftovers. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2007

      Mmmmmmm....this is a delicious soup. I have never had this soup at Olive Garden, but I will have to have it next time I get there. I used cream in place of the evaporated milk and it turned out great. I did add some garlic, basil and oregano to add some more flavor but this is a definite keeper. Congrats on winning the football pool.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2006

      My DH agrees with your DH, this is definately a keeper. Really easy to prepare and so much flavor! We used hot Italian sausage and I substituted some frozen swiss chard I had from the garden for the spinach. Kel, I never go wrong with you, must be a Maine thing! Go Pats!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2006

      This is one fantastic soup. There are several other recipes for Olive Garden's Zuppa Toscana but THIS RECIPE is MUCH better than ANYTHING OG serves. I did sub kale for the spinach but I know that it would be superb with either. I just had to use up the kale before it got bitter or old. Thank you Kel for a terrific recipe that is fast and easy enough for a weeknight meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2006

      Used 1 lb of spicy Italian sausage, drained off the grease, also added some dried basil and oregano, and some garlic powder. Used up the 1/2c. of heavy cream I had on hand instead of evap. milk. Wow! Delicious! My DH couldn't stop raving about it. Thanks, KelBel.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2005

      With the recommendations of others I added 1 tsp. each of basil and oregano, still found it on the bland side. With the addition of red pepper flakes it achieved the flavor that I originally expected while making this. I did use sweet italian sausage and if I chose hot italian sausage I don't believe we would have found it as bland. Perhaps a blend of the 2 sausages, after all once you add the hot/spice, can't take it out. Thank you again KelBel!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2005

    • on May 09, 2005

      I’ve made this soup twice. The first time, I cooked the soup for longer than the specified time so that the liquid reduced and the soup was thicker. This meant that it had a thick and creamy consistency more characteristic of blended soups. That’s how I like my soups. I also added several cloves of garlic. The next time I made it, I doubled the quantity and used a couple more potatoes to the specified quantity of stock, so that the soup was even thicker. And I added a cup of white wine. I also followed other reviewers' suggestions and added basil and oregano - and more spinach. I used two packets of frozen spinach as well as some baby spinach leaves that were just beginning to wilt so that they were no longer really suitable in sandwiches. Like a lot of soups, this soup is a lot more flavoursome over the next day or two than on the day it is made. Because I’m still on the search for a sausage I really like, instead of sausages, I added a generous quantity of meatballs, using my recipe for Mushroom and Soy Sauce Meatballs #120300. Sausage or meatballs are absolutely the perfect complement to this soup, making it a hearty and really satisfying meal. On the second occasion I served it to friends, who all loved it. Thank you KelBel, I'll certainly be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tuscan Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (807 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 574.0
     
    Calories from Fat 245
    42%
    Total Fat 27.2 g
    41%
    Saturated Fat 9.8 g
    49%
    Cholesterol 61.5 mg
    20%
    Sodium 1739.6 mg
    72%
    Total Carbohydrate 56.0 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 7.5 g
    30%
    Sugars 4.5 g
    18%
    Protein 26.3 g
    52%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites