28 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Followed the recipe note for note and liked the result. I might have over seasoned with pepper a bit because they Soup did have a bit of heat to it. Like others I will try mild sausage next time and will see how that strikes me. Either way this is a good soup and worth tinkering with.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kevin.e.myers May 27, 2010

This soup was okay but missing something. One reviewer suggested maybe it was because she used mild sausage but I used fresh homemade hot italian sausage and it was still missing something.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Red in US March 11, 2009

It was ok, but like one reviewer said, it seemed to need something else. I followed the recipe exactly, except for substituting cream for the milk. I also only had mild sausages, because we don't like the hot stuff. Perhaps the spicy sausage is the "oomph" that I missed? Still, it is an easy and relatively quick soup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annlouise March 31, 2008

Outstanding indeed. I love this. I changed a few things in that I added a little basil and oregano as well as some garlic salt and ground red pepper for a little extra flavor. I sliced the potatoes thin instead of cubed. I also used kale instead of the spinach and half-and-half for the evaporated milk. Turned out just like what I was looking for. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ November 21, 2007

Awesome soup! Husband loves it and so do I. Reheats and freezes nicely. I recently had my mother in law over for dinner for the first time and this is what I made. Now if that doesn't convince you that it's a)easy to make, and b)impressive on the taste buds...I don't know what will!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
knitterstitcher August 04, 2007

This was really good. I added 2 cloves of garlis and about 4-5 leaves of fresh basil. I also used fresh spinach straight from the garden. I also used mild sausage as I couldn't find the spicey stuff:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheesehead July 01, 2007

This soup is absolutely wonderful. It's not often that there is a discussion around the dinner table about who is going to get the last bit of soup but this inspired a discussion. This recipe goes straight into "make often" category. I did make some slight changes. I added 2 minced garlic cloves, about a teaspoon of dried basil leaves and substituted 2% milk for the evaporated. In the future I will make one more change...double the recipe! Thank you, KelBel!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin-jo June 29, 2007

I made this tonight for a meal I could freeze because I will be having a baby this week! Anyway it was very good! I also added red pepper flakes and will add garlic next time as well! I do hope that freezing it will turn out okay! It is a great soup

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Princesspharm February 24, 2007

A delicious soup! I used half and half instead of the evaporated milk. Thanks, KelBel.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Harley39 February 22, 2007

Wow, what a "souper" soup, add some fresh bread and you've got a meal. It truly does taste like the Olive Garden's soup. I had to make a few changes....instead of sausage links, I used Bob Evan's Italian sausage in a tube and doubled the broth to use the whole tube up. Because the meat wasn't spicy, I added red pepper flakes to taste while I browned it with the onions. I didn't have cans of broth, so I used 13 bouillon cubes with 12 cups of water. Used 10 oz. fresh spinach and 3/4 cup evaporated milk. Didn't need any extra salt or pepper. So easy to make. My husband loved it and so did I.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flaminghot22 February 22, 2007
Tuscan Soup